We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant weekend in the mountains - perfect...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
14 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 32
Sainte-Marie-de-Campan, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
eandrews1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant weekend in the mountains - perfect location and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a great weekend trail running in the Pyrenees! We (2 of us) found the gite we stayed in to be a lovely place to stay, very spacious and equipped with everything that we needed.

Rachel and Damian are very knowledgeable and suggested lots of trail running and walking options for us, and kindly gave lifts to/from trail routes and met us along the way so we didn't get lost! They also suggested some places to eat, where to shop and made sure we had everything we needed.

One of the highlights was a run up the Col D'Aspin, which ended our weekend with beautiful views across the valley.

We can't wait to book again for next year - highly recommended.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The location was idyllic - surrounded by beautiful hill tops, it was the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle.
The chalet we stayed in was also a very generous space.

However, the most wonderful thing about this accommodation is undoubtedly Rachel and Damian in their capacity as hosts. They made the experience easy and enjoyable from start to finish. Their good humour and willingness to help made the holiday.

We have made two good friends from the experience and are already starting to look at our next stay with them.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_R...
Bedford, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fabulous location!”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fabulous location for an outdoor holiday/ break.
The day we arrived (1st May) it snowed lightly in the morning, and there was still quite a lot of snow in the forest and on the mountains.
Then within three days we were putting on factor 50 and stripping off to our T shirts during lunch.
The accommodation is on three levels, with a combination of family sites and double rooms with en-suite.
Overall, I think they can sleep more than 30.
The main seasons are for skiing, and of course the Tour de France!
But out of season, there is great walking to be had in the forests, hills and onwards into the mountains for the more experienced.
They took us to a suitable start for our walk, equipped us with maps and advice, and met us again once we were down. What a service!
All the rooms have great mountain views.
There is such a range of different accommodation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Hi Richard, thanks for the great review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to do the shuttle runs to and from your walks for the group.

We hope to see you again soon!

Damian and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riang
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, fabulous welcome and well equipped accomodation”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week's stay at the Hammeau de Campan in gite number three. Damian collected us from the airport in the minibus and we had a comfortable journey to the site in spite of the rain and snow. Rachel and Damian made us very welcome and we were soon sitting in front of a roaring fire in the wood burning stove, with our food cooking in the kitchen. The bedrooms are large with plenty of storage space, and the linen high quality. The gite is very spacious with fabulous views up the valley and to the mountains. The weather soon changed and we were able to have lunch and even a bbq one evening outside the gite and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
Nothing was too much trouble for Rachel and Damian, they ferried us around in the bus up the mountains to find the best walks etc, to the nearby town for a meal out and to the local market which is well worth a visit, they even provided us with boxed games and cards to play in the evening.
If you are walkers or just want a peaceful stay in a beautiful area this is a great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great skiing break in a comfortable chalet”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In April 2017 we (two adults and two children) rented the 3 bedroom chalet for a short skiing holiday. The accommodation was comfortable and cosy especially when the wood fire was going. St. Marie de Campan is a short walk away and we dined at the Hotel Restaurant des Deux Cols which was good value French fare. The village also has a shop and a bar which we were told remains open as long as any customers are present. The skiing at La Mongie was very good. We were a little lucky with the conditions as there was heavy snow as we arrived and throughout the first day. The resort caters well for both beginners and intermediate level skiers with a good selection of blue and red runs. One of the party arranged some lessons from the ESF at La Mongie which were great and helped improve both technique and confidence. The owners Rachel and Damien were excellent hosts. They had lots of suggestions for activities and places to eat and drink and were always on hand to ensure we had everything we needed. Thank you guys for a lovely time enjoyed by all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thanks for the review Peter, we enjoyed having you and your family with us for your trip. We hope to see you another time!
Damian and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eric l
Juvignac, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Anto...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing