We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five nights - not long enough!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gite du Midi

House and gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and gite
The gite The Gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
House and gite
The gite
The Gite
Family bedroom with beautiful mountain views
The bunk beds in the family bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Living room with private terrace looking out on stunning mountain views
Living room leading to fully equipped kitchen and downstairs shower room and wc
Living Room
Shower room and toilet
The swimming pool
House, gite and above ground swimming pool
Autumn colours in the forest next to the house
Walking in the mountains
Walking to the famous Pic du Midi
Mountain views from our field
Looking down on the house from the forest walk
The Campan Valley with views of La Mongie
The valley
The river Adour which runs below the fields behind our house.  A good place for trout fishing
The Transhumance.  Cattle and sheep passing our gate on the way up to the mountain pastures in June
stunning photos taken by one of our gite guests
The Tour de France passes our drive most years en route up or down Tourmalet
Where's our dinner!
Fabulous photo taken by Bas, one of our gite guests
The deer often come into our garden
Tim following La Geant, the statue which goes up to Tourmalet in June.  Great day out for cyclists
The Tour de France passing through Sainte Marie de Campan as it climbs up to the Col du Tourmalet
Some neighbours
Snow shoe walking at Payolle
The beautiful Pic du midi
A lovely view from behind our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sainte-Marie-de-Campan, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
warners1
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Five nights - not long enough!”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here for 5nights and luckily had the most perfect weather.

This is a beautiful location, in a beautiful gite. So very peaceful. Great location for visiting all of the towns of the Midi Pyrenees.

Everything we needed and more for self catering. As we had been travelling for 7 weeks, it was nice to be able to cook for ourselves and not leave the gite each evening. In saying that, the owners, Jane and Tim can give recommendations for restaurants and cafes locally. Lovely extras much appreciated to make this a very homely stay.

Congratulations Jane and Tim in providing such wonderful accommodation.
From two Aussies, Chris and Rob

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We're so happy you had such a good holiday and loved the area as much as we do. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and thank you for leaving the gite so spotlessly clean. Hopefully we'll see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
1 review
“Very pleased with our find!”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Very pleased that we found the Gite du Midi for our May holiday this year. The gite itself is really clean and comfortable, and is the perfect size for a 2 person getaway. The kitchen had everything in it that we needed to cook for ourselves for much of the week, including large dishes for the oven, lots of saucepans, and most utensils found in my kitchen at home. The bed is comfortable and the space upstairs really is quite roomy. And, there is hot water aplenty (which is a rarity in some more remote places). The gite is in large grounds and connected to the owners’ own property - lovely to have chickens wandering around in the garden, and be able to sit and look at the meadow flowers with the mountains in the background.

Tim and Jane, the owners, are really friendly (as are their dogs!) and were on hand for advice on walks and restaurants etc as needed.

The gite is located in a beautiful valley, within walking distance of the local shop and restaurant (Les Deux Cols - worth a visit), and within driving distance of a number of other towns where there are more places to eat/shop. We particularly recommend the market on Saturdays in Bagnères-de-Bigorre - amazing food (cured meats, cheese, local fruit and veg, etc.) at very reasonable prices.

We took a number for maps for the region but ended up only using one of them, as there are so many places that you can walk to (and up) either direct from the gite or from very nearby.

All in all we are rather chuffed with our find, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet holiday where they can get outdoors and feel remote without actually being too far from civilisation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We’re so happy you enjoyed your holiday and the area. It was really nice to meet you and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stooph24
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Gite!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second stay at this lovely gite! You have use of a lovely hot tub and a swimming pool and there is a lovely peaceful garden to relax in, with neighbouring free range chickens wandering around.....idyllic!. The gite has everything you need for a good self-catering holiday with a fully equipped kitchen. The location is excellent for either cycling or hiking. Vast amounts of hiking trails to suit all levels. Good local shop only 2 minute drive away plus larger supermarkets only 15 minute drive. Jane & Tim are extremely friendly hosts and are on hand when needed. We highly recommend staying here. It's a great base for exploring the Pyreness!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you for this lovely review and we're so glad you had a nice holiday with us. Many thanks for coming back a second time, you're fabulous guests and we'd love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We really hope to see you again and best of luck to Wales for the rugby!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evercreech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roger W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gite du Midi”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

With out a doubt one of the most enjoyable holidays we have ever had. The location is superb and is perfect for exploring the many splendid walks and attractions that are to be found in the area. The accommodation is clean, well equipped and feels like a proper home from home. Jane and Tim (the owners) were very helpful and friendly and made us both feel very welcome. I would recommend that if you plan a holiday in this part of France, look no further than the Gite du Midi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Glad you enjoyed your holiday we enjoyed having you here, hope to see you again, many thanks Tim and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic mountain retreat”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in the first week of July 2015 and had a fantastic time. The owners Jane and Tim live in the adjoining house and are so welcoming, friendly and helpful you couldn't ask for more. On arrival there was a welcome pack from the owners which even included a bottle of wine.

The gite itself is well furnished and very comfortable and the added bonus of the Jacuzzi and the swimming pool was superb.

The gite is situated in a stunning mountain region with great views and lots to see and do locally if you want to venture out. Alternatively just enjoying the peace and quiet of the gite and the garden is really relaxing.

We would thoroughly recommend the gite to others

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing