We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It doesn't get better then this!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
A farmhouse in the Tuscan countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A farmhouse in the Tuscan countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
A farmhouse in the Tuscan countryside
under the pergola enjoying a wonderful view
fitness corner under the porch
hot tub
view
Whirpool and sauna
the bedroom with two single beds is more suitable for two children or teenagers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lucolena, Greve in Chianti, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“It doesn't get better then this!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As seasoned travelers many of us have stayed in apartments and houses all over Europe. This is the best. Your hosts Cinzia and Mario could not be more gracious. You only see them for an initial tour or if you ring a bell, otherwise the place is all yours. This farmhouse is remarkable. Every amenity you may want is there. Having a few big cooks along, we were delighted with how great the kitchen was stocked. We had numerous meals under the covered patio at the large farmhouse table.
There is a great coffee bar with different types of machines depending on your preference. Glassware from grappa to red wine goblets are waiting to be filled. The views down over the valley down to the amazing swimming pool are breathtaking. You are in another world, all with many sites within a short and beautiful ride away. There is a cute little market in the square in Lucolena with any small items you may need including wine and spirits, although you do not have to look past the dining/living space at the house to find a great offering of prosecco, red, and white wine all for 8 Euro or less. Very convenient in deed :-)
The bedrooms are spacious and well appointed. Three of the four bedrooms has a full bath with shower and bidet. The beds are queen size with excellent bedding. Windows overlook the property.
Guest even have an opportunity to play with the dogs, pet the bunnies, and try not to trip over the chickens. This is the epitome of a Toscana farmhouse experience. It is quiet, welcoming, and your hosts are the best! Don’t let the on-line pictures fool you, it is so much better!
We are already planning our return. It was hard to leave as it feels like home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbyYoung
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aaaahhhh...Tuscany at it's Best!”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

From the breathtaking views to all of the personal touches from hosts Mario and Cinzia, this beautiful Tuscan farmhouse exceeded all of our expectations! After spending many hectic days in Rome and Venice, this was the perfect way to unwind and enjoy the beautiful Chianti region. The house is very comfortable and spacious and the outside living space is amazing! Wonderful attention to detail, with a completely stocked kitchen (including an American coffee maker and coffee!) Mario keeps a stock of wine (Chianti, Rose, and Prosecco) for your use at a very reasonable cost. The guest rooms were well appointed with plenty of storage, full size hairdryer (unlike the hotels we had stayed in), and terrific views from all rooms. Even in late May/early June, the evenings and mornings were cool outside and the house itself stayed very comfortable. We fully enjoyed the outdoor living space, unwinding in the evenings with wine and having all of our meals outside. We are animal lovers and were missing our own pets, so being able to spend time with sweet puppies Sura and Krono was an added bonus! We miss them already! Mario arranged for us to tour a nearby winery which we fully enjoyed...we loved the tasting and getting to see the wine cellar/museum with a collection dating back to 1950! Overall, we had an amazing stay and would highly recommend Montena to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in Tuscany! You will not want to leave!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikojerva
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a dreamy place! Exceeded out expectations.”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Montena for six nights with my partner and another couple. Since then we all have been dreaming of returning to enjoy this magical property more! Every moment of our experience was memorable! Every inch of the house and surroundings were enchanting! On our way home one night we saw two baby wild boar, a porcupine and a deer! If you are looking for a secluded getaway surrounded by breathtaking nature, this is the place! The pool is big and clean with incredible views of the Valdarno valley. You are surrounded by huge lavender and rosemary bushes and olive trees. The kitchen was stocked with every quality cooking tool you could imagine including a bottle of local wine, their own honey, coffee, milk, juice, fruit salad, eggs, teas, bread, cereal, yogurt...!! Hosts Cinzia and Mario who live in the back portion of the house with their own private entrance were so generous with their hosting! We felt safe having them near but they were so discreet that we only saw them when we needed something. There was also a sweet and well trained dog and a couple of sweet and playful kittens that appeared now and again and made us feel like we were home. One review I read complained about the driveway. Yes it's a dirt driveway...how wonderful! Our little Fiat 500 X handled it just fine! My only advice is to not over plan your trip. Allow plenty of time to take in the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael b
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had high expectations, and our experience went way beyond our hopes!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Seven of us spent one week at the most fantastic villa ever! We had email contact for months ahead of our stay. We were pleasantly surprised with Marios rapid and friendly responses to our numerous questions and confirmation of the nights we requested Cinzia to cook dinners. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Mario and Cinzia. By this time we felt we knew them! They are gracious, warm, friendly, and helpful. We immediiately felt like we were really at home. We toured the home inside and out, got directions about ringing a bell when we need anything. Then we sat down to our fabulous dinner prepared by Cinzia and delivered to a beautifully set table in the dining area. We knew immediately we had made the right decision to remain at the villa the next day vs leaving to tour surrounding areas. The veranda has couches where we sipped coffee and wine, a large table where we enjoyed Cinzias cooking class and where we later ate dinner, a smaller table where we had breakfast, various places (including down the hill by the pool) where we sat reading and relaxing, all while we overlooked breathtaking Tuscan views, including some of the most incredible sunrises that were well worth waking up early for! The location was great for our 5 days of daily travels. Our last night we arrived home in anticipation of our prearranged dinner. We were not prepared for the amazing table set up for autumn as if out of a magazine photo! We were also not prepared for the many courses of dinner all of which were delicious in their own way.
It was actually sad to say goodbye to Cinzia, Mario, and our home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Honestly, everything
Liked least: Cannot think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G
1 review
“Excellent stay at Montana”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed with our family at Montana to celebrate my mum’s birthday. The house and the outdoor area was wonderful and the view over the Tuscany landscape just amazing. Our hosts showed a hospitality out of the ordinary and made our stay very memorable! We can very much recommend a stay at Montana! You will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C
1 review
“Outstanding Villa and Location and the Owners were Terrific!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Villa was absolutely immaculate and had every possible amenity you could wish for. The location was great with easy access to the Tuscany tourist attractions yet it was so peaceful and quiet when we just wanted to relax at the villa. Cinzia was kind enough to bake several cakes for us that were to die for and Mario took us on a wine tour that shouldn't be missed. Cinzia and Mario were extremely gracious hosts who along with their pets made it feel like home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the villa and can't thank Cinzia and Mario enough for their wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
It is a pleasure to hear from guests appreciation for our hospitality. Our wish has always been to make guests feel welcome in our home.
We will do all we can to make sure your stay is truly special.
Thank you for as your kind review. It was appreciated.
We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiraz000...
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint and Charming Villa in Lucolena”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for almost two weeks at the Villa.
The Villa is situated in the hills and has fabulous, breath taking views of the hills and surrounding areas. It is located in the small village of Lucolena which is about a 15 minute drive from Greve in Chianti, the well-known Chianti wine hub. Greve is a lovely town with good restaurants and wineries.
On our arrival, our hosts, Cinzia and Mario, greeted us and introduced us to their family including their lovely dog and two adorable kittens. They live in an adjacent part of the property which was a real advantage as they were able to provide useful information. They showed us around the Villa which consists of an entrance hallway, a large family room/dining room (with a lovely large fireplace), a closet with an extensive selection of glasses and crockery, an extremely well equipped modern kitchen and external patios for dining and sofas for relaxing. The swimming pool is below the house and easily accessible. Upstairs consists of 3 large bedrooms with attached bathrooms, and one bedroom with 2 beds (ideal for kids). The views from the upstairs bedrooms are lovely. There were seven of us, 3 couples and one single person, and we found the accommodations very comfortable. The bedding and linens were of high quality.
The weather was not very cooperative (rainy and chilly) so we were unable to take advantage of the pool or spend a lot of time outdoors. Instead we visited charming nearby towns such as Radda, Castelina, San Gimiano, Montepuciano and Piezza, wineries such as Veranzano and Antinori (spectacular architecture), and the city of Sienna. We ate out a few times as well as cooked our dinners in the evening. But a highlight was that our hosts cooked 3 different delicious dinners for us. They were authentic Italian cuisine and we loved the variety of courses. Our first dinner consisted of an antipasto plate with a variety of cheeses and cured meats. Superb! This was followed by asparagus lasagna (wow!) and the main course of baked rabbit with herbs (Delightful). We were stuffed but then came desert….Tiramisu! It took the cake.
Mario and Cinzia did everything to make our stay comfortable. They were exceptional in their commitment to meet our needs.
We thoroughly enjoyed the Villa and our stay. We recommend this Villa without any reservations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Dear guests,
we really pleased to read your comments and we thank you for the many compliments that you wanted us to turn.
we try to offer a great stay for every guest and it's nice to know when this happens.
Thank you very much for your kind review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing