We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in The nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tredethy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tredethy House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place in The nature”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

My partner and I indeed enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere, the treatment, the rooms, the location which allowed us to go around Cornwall coming back "home" every night. It was a great week and we'll come back for sure to enjoy a mixture of Anglo-Italian hospitality, which ended with a new and fantastic wireless setup.
Patrizio and Mariella

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrizio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    37
    10
    14
    1
See reviews for
30
102
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This B&B was a pleasant surprise during our first trip to Cornwall. I was not expecting anything like that from a B&B. The house is just astonishing, beautifully kept and furnished with taste. Our room was clean, big and comfortable. The bed was fantastic. We arrived late in the afternoon, stayed for dinner and spent a very nice evening chatting with the friendly owner and employes. The food for both dinner and breakfast was really good. They only serve fresh/organic/home made stuff. Excellent place! I have already recommended it to friends and I will definitively go back next time we go to Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1bert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basildon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a pleasant stay at Tredethy house,the hotel is hidden in the cornish countryside beautifully kept gardens makes you feel like you are in another world just what i needed.
breakfast was very good .over all service was first class
Thank you.

Room Tip: book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuragus17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My partner and I stayed two nights at Tredethy House. Although it's a bit in the middle of nowhere, it does provide good access to both North and South sides of Cornwall. We loved the manicured grounds with views of mist cloaked hills in the background. Fortunately, our spacious room (number 6) faced the front, and I found myself sitting on the sill enjoying the same view. The food is mostly organic, which was a very pleasant surprise - well prepared (dinner) and a decent selection for breakfast, including home made organic yogurt and muesli. Overall, it was well worth the effort getting to.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front. Try number 6, which is a spacious corner room with windows on two walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLONDONUK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I hav n't stayed in somewhere like this since Florence 1972. Sounds Good? No. The owner is Italian and seems to think that we should all be grateful for that experience now. Our room size was good but the furniture rather than being antique is definately rickety, 2 wobbly upright chairs and low coffee table so nowhere comfortable to sit with a laptop.He charged us £5 extra for WIFI !!.on top of a very overpriced room rate.
No cooked breakfast either unless you want to pay £6.
This is a very large and extremely remote house, a long drive round very dark and very narrow lanes to find a pub for an evening meal as Tredethy House only serves evening meals at weekends.
However it was busy so perhaps he does n't need customers to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank TheHonestTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a lovely one night stay at Tredethy House. The location is superb and the owner and staff were very welcoming and friendly. We booked a fairly basic room for our stay with a courtyard view, which was as described but next time we would upgrade to a better room. The breakfast was totally superb and our bed was comfortable, we had a good nights sleep. We would certainly stay at this hotel again and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM197285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stumbling upon Tredethy House was a perfect 'accident' through 'bookings.com' - A late booking we were in search of so our chances of finding something we thought, were slim. Hunting through caravan parks -'Full' Guest houses - 'Full'. Oh dear things were looking grim!
All of a sudden out of the clouds came Tredethy House like a shining light. We were stunned, excited and so pleased. We booked immediately and was pleased to find one room left for the week we wanted. In my heart North Cornwall is the best side for scenery, rugid, raw and unspoilt in many places. I was weak with anticipation. The drive down from Sussex to there was driven with excitement for Tredethy and what beauty lay ahead for us. WOW! we were right to get excited, a piece of heaven. Stunning house with interior to match. Greeted by Marco (owner) kind, warm and giving man. Our room was clean and beautiful, detail of Penhaligons soap, shower gel, shampoo. yum! White linen and towels. Gorgeous sumptuous bed in our room. What a treat so far for the weary travellers! Breakfast - Sliced pecorino, mortadella and breads. Organic homemade yogurt, fruit salad, Museli, Pain au Chocolat, etc. Coffee to die for! Full English to order and more. A restaurant 'TRATTORIA' on premises open on Friday and Saturday evenings too. We ate in on friday eve and it was superb. Italian food at its best cooked by Christina (Owner) All in all we could not of asked for anymore in our stay here, l cannot recommend Tredethy House anymore than here. We have been looked after in a family enviroment but with privacy. Our room was cared for for by a team of caring ladies each day and a pleasure to come 'Home' too. We are going back next year and we cannot wait to relax and enjoy this pleasure that we have found. Everyday was a fabulous one and Marco and family were divine.

Room Tip: All rooms here are quiet. The house is in a rural position with lawns and woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredethy
5.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
331 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
21.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
800 reviews
10.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tredethy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethy House

Property: Tredethy House
Address: Tredethy, Tredethy, Bodmin PL30 4QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Tredethy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tredethy House is a beautiful, peaceful and informally elegant English Country House set in an area of outstanding beauty. Built in Tudor times and later extended, it has been the unique home of many British families and of Prince Chula of Thailand until the late sixties. A delightful and unique holiday spot today, Tredethy offers privacy and the blissful peace of the countryside whatever the season and is yet at easy reach of the North and South Coast as well as the many places of interest such as the Eden Project and the divine National Trust Houses and Gardens of Cornwall. The seven acres of grounds at Tredethy are themselves a piece of history with original planting like the most beautiful Hydrangeas and pink Rhododendrons. March hosts hundreds of narcissus, April is time for the breathtaking display of bluebells, followed by wild garlic and blue and pink wildflowers. Autumn is a fantastic season, full of colour and peace, and lots of anticipation for the festive season we all look forward to every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tredethy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tredethy Hotel Bodmin
Tredethy House Cornwall - Bodmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing