We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a perfect retreat from the bustle of town.”
Review of Tredethy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tredethy House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I were treated to this beautiful manor house in the equally picturesque township of Helland. The Italian born host and owner provided an entertaining distraction from all the prettiness and plied us with lots of lovely wine and the freshest most organic Italian style food one could ask for. Would go back again and recommend highly!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aculshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Would most definitely recommend this guest house. The family and staff were friendly & made you feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely room that was well decorated & over looked a corner of the garden.
The views across the camel trail were fantastic. Ideally located with so much to see within easy reach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyjanesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was our first night away after getting married, so not quite honeymooning, but not far off - and we could not have been more pleased with this beguiling place. Surprisingly stylish Italian (for Cornwall), don't be fooled by the exterior, lovely though it is, this hotel is beautifully designed. The owner, Marco, isn't the typically insincere grinning host and is all the more charming for that: his welcome was heartfelt - maybe those complaining of frostiness are too easily impressed by the norm! Room lovely - we opted for a smaller courtyard view but no complaints at all. Food fantastic too. Suggest you look out for the huge Beautiful bright green Cypress tree (which we could not quite identify!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a fantastic stay here. Very dog friendly, and the host Marco made us feel very welcome. The room was light, airy and very comfortable. The pasta was to die for, as was the panna cotta and the cheesecake. Fabulous breakfast too. Beautiful gardens, and located very conveniently for the North Coast of Cornwall (Rock and Padstow less than 20 mins) All in all, one of the best stays we have had in a long time! Oh, and the grappa hit the spot too! This place is a must!
Ruth & Oz Taylor

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

For a romantic weekend, this is perfect, its a lovely old English country house, with a very Italian influence towards romance. Marco is very helpful offering advice on where to go, there is a restaurant here too, check for opening times. We did not take up the opportunity to eat here this time - maybe next time! Our room was room 1, which has stunning views across the Cornish countryside, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the linen was spotlessly clean and luxuriously soft, so much so, that my husband wanted to take it home! the room was very large and airy, and the large bathroom was lovely too. An ideal setting to go exploring from as its not far from the main towns such as Bodmin, Padstow, Wadebridge and Newquay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will offer fantastic views across the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Fantastic house to stay stunning views and we had room 6 very large and such a comfortable bed. The house had elements of Italian culture and feel. The owner Marcos is very friendly as are his team of 2 lady's. They serve the freakiest breakfast with homemade yogurt and granola the Palma ham is cooked by the owner and the pecorino cheese is so delicious. Fresh bread and patisseries. Would come back for the breakfast alone best by far of any hotel 5 star we gave stayed at. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had read positive reviews of Tredethy House and decided to book a family room for two midweek nights, as it is convenient for the Eden Project. We were not disappointed! The house is stunning - large elegant rooms, beautiful period features and set in lovely countryside.
Our host, Marco, was so welcoming, making sure we were comfortable in our room. The Trattoria is only open at weekends, so we were about to set off in search of an evening meal, but Marco kindly offered to rustle up some Italian food for us as we'd been driving all day. It is also one of the few times in my life when I've experienced a hotelier being positively thrilled when told we are a family of vegetarians! The food was delicious and I'd definitely recommend it as a restaurant, even if not staying in the hotel.
The family room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a connected separate room with bunk beds for the children. As it was a very cold Easter this year, the house was a little on the chilly side, so an extra layer was needed at night!
The breakfasts were delicious; homemade granola, muesli and yogurts, plus good bread, Italian cheese, fresh fruit and croissants.
All in all, a very friendly place where we were all very well looked after - I wouldn't hesitate to go back there again. Thank you Marco and family!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stannottheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredethy
1.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
355 reviews
5.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
319 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,344 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tredethy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethy House

Address: Tredethy, Tredethy, Bodmin PL30 4QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Tredethy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tredethy House is a beautiful, peaceful and informally elegant English Country House set in an area of outstanding beauty. Built in Tudor times and later extended, it has been the unique home of many British families and of Prince Chula of Thailand until the late sixties. A delightful and unique holiday spot today, Tredethy offers privacy and the blissful peace of the countryside whatever the season and is yet at easy reach of the North and South Coast as well as the many places of interest such as the Eden Project and the divine National Trust Houses and Gardens of Cornwall. The seven acres of grounds at Tredethy are themselves a piece of history with original planting like the most beautiful Hydrangeas and pink Rhododendrons. March hosts hundreds of narcissus, April is time for the breathtaking display of bluebells, followed by wild garlic and blue and pink wildflowers. Autumn is a fantastic season, full of colour and peace, and lots of anticipation for the festive season we all look forward to every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tredethy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tredethy Hotel Bodmin
Tredethy House Cornwall - Bodmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing