We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat”
Review of Tredethy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tredethy House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We booked, with very short notice (2 days), a long weekend away at the end of June for our family of 4, boys aged 9 and 12. We arrived very late, having travelled from London, at 11pm and was greeted by Marco, he was very welcoming and showed us to our room straight away. The Family Room was excellent, we had our bedroom, then a seperate lounge area with a tv, then a bathroom and another room for the boys at the back with bunk beds (which they loved). It was very clean and comfortable, lovely toiletries and fresh towels every day.

We ate in the Trattoria twice, a lovely, clean and bright restaurant, staff were polite at all times, Marco cooked us up a treat, with fantastic pastas and great wine (all organic). Every dish was of an excellent standard and well presented, well worth the money.

My boys loved the gardens, they even learnt how to play chess (a large chess set that is on the lawn).

We found Marco to be very polite and helpful, even suggested to us, when we asked, where we could buy the lovely wines and cheeses and meats he uses in his Trattoria. My two boys thought Marco was "cool" and as we left he gave them some lovely cheese to take home with them.

I do not understand the negative reviews that this lovely place has had, if you do your homework a little bit more before booking you would know that you have to drive around a little, as this house is in the countryside, not too far from lovely beaches, around 12 miles.

If you want to stay in a peaceful location, in a beautfiul country house, with excellent food then this is for you.

We are definately going back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamfordco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

The house seemed fantastic and based on apperance we were really looking forward to our stay. The reality is that apperances can be deceiving. Rooms are overpriced. They are clean and fresh towels etc were provided, however not the luxury we were anticipating. The owners were polite and efficient however lacked the friendly ,welcomng vibe needed to run this type of establishment. The location is remote; fine if you are planning on spending a lot of time around the house but a bit of a drive to go anywhere. The breakfast is not sufficient considering the cost of a room. It seems nonsense to have a seperate price for a cooked breakfast when surely that is what most guests would expect to be included in the inital cost. All in all, a let down.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kittengate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

After reading the previous reviews with regard to the Tredethy House we were unsure as to the correctness of booking our Christmas trip here but our fears were dispelled in an instant when we arrived and were warmly greeted by Marco,the owner,treated to hot Italian coffee and cake,lovely,deserved after a long drive!
Booking in with the minimum of fuss and then shown to our delightful rooms looking out onto the wonderful unspoiled scenery,the bed was so tempting I could have rested there and then,to find later that this was indeed the case.The weather was very cold in the mornings but was warmed by the choice of breakfasts on offer,beautifully cooked and presented,helped along by the log fire.
Of course Marco was availible at all times to answer queries or assist with any problems but there were none!.
The very clean rooms,looked after by Jackie,were a credit to all and after a day or two of rushing about a grand retreat from the world.
We cannot understand the content of the previous reviews they would appear just to be vindictive,we would certainly reccomend Tredethy House to anyone,without a shadow of doubt and,I am sure that we will book again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

After having just arrived back from 2 nights at this overpriced hotel i have to say double check the room you have paid for, When we pulled up it looked beautiful and i must say it is a very clean place with high standards of cleanliness, however when we went to check in it took about 20 minutes for the owner to arrive and then we didnt get a greeting he just asked our name and said follow me, he took us to a room that was not what i saw on the picture that made me book it in the first place, but with his attitude it was just not worth arguing over. We booked to have dinner in the restaurant the first night but received the worst service ever after our starter which was awful we waited 50 minutes for our main meal and then when it came it was undercooked and cold so i didnt eat any of it and when we complained we were told that lamb should be undercooked but my argument was i should have been asked if i wanted it still walking around on the plate. On checking out they tried to charge us an extra £23 pound for a bottle of wine we never had. Nice place but it is no way luxury and we have stayed in far better for the same price

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellie6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tredethyhouse, owner at Tredethy House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2008

It is quite difficult to respond to this complaint as it came as a shock to us.
Tredethy House is a beautiful house that offers accommodation, it is not a hotel in its own right. it is comfortable, luxurious and the hospitality we offer is warm and friendly. The guests have been welcomed as we do with everyone else. We greet them and we take them to the room they have booked. We do not have extensive pictures on the website so possibly the guest saw another room, we have bigger and smaller rooms but are all above standard, comfortable and very clean.
Our restaurant is a Trattoria, good food, uncomplicated and the service is quick and honest.
The lamb in question was not of the lady' liking, we cooked it again and served, the plate came back to the kitchen clean.
The waitress was not sure that night if the bottle of wine was to bill to this room or not. The morning after all we did before the guest paid the bill, was ask to check the restaurant bill for that bottle because may be there has been a mistake. He said he did not have that bottle, it was taken off the bill.
We always give a good welcome and try to ensure everything is fine with our guests.
We apologize if this guests felt this way, but we feel their review is totally unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

fantastic place, peacefull, great for kids. new owners from the last time we stayed. memorable moments. look foward to the new menu after the trial run. see you soon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brockhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2006

This is a great country house hotel that used to belong to Prince Chula of Siam. The hotel serves a delicious cooked to order breakfast but no other meals at present although there are plenty of good eating places in the area. - We took the opportunity of visiting Rick Stein's restaurant at Padstow. The rooms are large and comfortable and ours had a view over the front lawns (great to see the pheasants wandering the lawns in the early morning light) Our bathroom was enormous with plenty of delicious fluffy white towels and luxury robes. The hotel runs an honesty bar where you help yourself and write your drinks down on a bar tab. Roaring fires, country magazines, lots of interesting coffee table books and board games. We just played Lord and Lady of the Manor. It truly is a lovely place and even the breakfast room has a lovely outlook. I watched a robin hop along a stone wall in the November sunshine. We were the only new guests there, the other guests had all visited the hotel on other occasions and returned because they loved it so much.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teddytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2006

Beautiful country house in which we had excellent large bedroom and bathroom with view over Bodmin moor (Room 1). Breakfast OK but no evening meals provided. Information about adequate nearby pubs was woefully inadequate – no map – no real indication of distance. We visited one pub on the list, which turned out to be lacking in both ambience and good food. Another was just average.

4  Thank cruiserWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredethy
5.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
359 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,355 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,428 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tredethy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethy House

Address: Tredethy, Tredethy, Bodmin PL30 4QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Tredethy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Price Range: £63 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tredethy House is a beautiful, peaceful and informally elegant English Country House set in an area of outstanding beauty. Built in Tudor times and later extended, it has been the unique home of many British families and of Prince Chula of Thailand until the late sixties. A delightful and unique holiday spot today, Tredethy offers privacy and the blissful peace of the countryside whatever the season and is yet at easy reach of the North and South Coast as well as the many places of interest such as the Eden Project and the divine National Trust Houses and Gardens of Cornwall. The seven acres of grounds at Tredethy are themselves a piece of history with original planting like the most beautiful Hydrangeas and pink Rhododendrons. March hosts hundreds of narcissus, April is time for the breathtaking display of bluebells, followed by wild garlic and blue and pink wildflowers. Autumn is a fantastic season, full of colour and peace, and lots of anticipation for the festive season we all look forward to every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tredethy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tredethy Hotel Bodmin
Tredethy House Cornwall - Bodmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing