We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable hosts with a gorgeous home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue
Ranked #2 of 5 Pirongia B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Adorable hosts with a gorgeous home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We only stayed there for one night on our way to the Waikomo Caves and we highly recommend it. We wish we could have stayed there for longer just to get to meet the hosts better. Breakfast is included and is wonderful! Jenny's cooking is to die for and John is very well travelled and will entertain you with his stories. The scenery around the home is amazing! I can see how you can have a wedding there.

Room Tip: You want a room with a view of the back of the property....waking up to those colors is just beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrMon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thanks guys, it was so lovely having you stay and as you say such a pity it was for just one night. Here's hoping you return soon. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

A lovely country retreat with beautiful gardens some completed and more in progress. Congenial hosts. Nice location for a country travel stop between Aukland and New Plymouth and handy for people wanting to visit Waitomo Caves. Friendly sheep and rabbits in the garden. Very adequate lovely cooked breakfas

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_AUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Hi Lucy,

Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and happy you had a great time.

Until next time.

J&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had some difficulty locating the somersal house at first and had to call our lovely host Jenny for some help in directions... But other than that, everything was lovely!

The house was very pretty and lotsa personal touches everywhere, we felt right at home. The bedrooms was really big and had everything you need in them. I especially loved the bathrooms! Jenny had all sorts of nice toiletries and even styling tongs and iron in the drawers. You have a private entry to the rooms if you prefer abit more privacy. Jenny gave lotsa recommendations on where to dine as well and the guys had a nice little chat with John before bedtime.

Breakfast cooked by Jenny was sumptuous! Its a pity we only had 1 night there, would love to stay longer to explore the grounds abit more... Will definitely be back again when we visit NZ again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeslyn_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Hi Jeslyn,

Thanks for the lovely review, its very in-depth. It was a pleasure meeting you and we're happy you had a great time. Excellent to hear you enjoyed the food so much ;)

Yes please do visit us again when you come back to NZ and stay longer!

J&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We loved it, lovely house, beautiful grounds and amazing hosts. Lots of little touches that mean so much

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack_Mary_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Hi Jack,

Thanks for the lovely review. It was fantastic meeting you both and glad you had a nice time here.

When the British winter gets too much again, you know where to come!

All the best

J&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirongia
17.9 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
12.4 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Amberfields Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Kakaramea Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
22.4 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue

Property: Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue
Address: 1724 McClure Street, Pirongia 3876, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Pirongia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pirongia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somersal is an idyllic Bed and Breakfast Accommodation / Wedding Venue perched on the banks of the Waipa River in Pirongia, only 30 minutes north of the famous Waitomo caves and only 10 minutes drive from Te Awamutu in the central Waikato. Stay in farm style comfort under a sky rich with stars, then wake to an especially prepared breakfast and the song of native birds in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing