We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B and Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue
Ranked #2 of 5 Pirongia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My niece and I stayed here for one night while in the area to visit the Waikomo Caves and I couldn't give it a better rating. John and Jenny were wonderful hosts, they made us feel welcomed and we enjoyed talking with them. The house, grounds, and views are breathtaking. The breakfast was wonderful, and the best I had during my 10 day stay in New Zealand. I only wish I would have stayed another night to see more of the area. I highly recommend the Somersal B&B if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hbracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We only stayed there for one night on our way to the Waikomo Caves and we highly recommend it. We wish we could have stayed there for longer just to get to meet the hosts better. Breakfast is included and is wonderful! Jenny's cooking is to die for and John is very well travelled and will entertain you with his stories. The scenery around the home is amazing! I can see how you can have a wedding there.

Room Tip: You want a room with a view of the back of the property....waking up to those colors is just beautif...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrMon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thanks guys, it was so lovely having you stay and as you say such a pity it was for just one night. Here's hoping you return soon. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A lovely country retreat with beautiful gardens some completed and more in progress. Congenial hosts. Nice location for a country travel stop between Aukland and New Plymouth and handy for people wanting to visit Waitomo Caves. Friendly sheep and rabbits in the garden. Very adequate lovely cooked breakfas

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_AUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Hi Lucy,

Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and happy you had a great time.

Until next time.

J&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had some difficulty locating the somersal house at first and had to call our lovely host Jenny for some help in directions... But other than that, everything was lovely!

The house was very pretty and lotsa personal touches everywhere, we felt right at home. The bedrooms was really big and had everything you need in them. I especially loved the bathrooms! Jenny had all sorts of nice toiletries and even styling tongs and iron in the drawers. You have a private entry to the rooms if you prefer abit more privacy. Jenny gave lotsa recommendations on where to dine as well and the guys had a nice little chat with John before bedtime.

Breakfast cooked by Jenny was sumptuous! Its a pity we only had 1 night there, would love to stay longer to explore the grounds abit more... Will definitely be back again when we visit NZ again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeslyn_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Hi Jeslyn,

Thanks for the lovely review, its very in-depth. It was a pleasure meeting you and we're happy you had a great time. Excellent to hear you enjoyed the food so much ;)

Yes please do visit us again when you come back to NZ and stay longer!

J&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We loved it, lovely house, beautiful grounds and amazing hosts. Lots of little touches that mean so much

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack_Mary_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Hi Jack,

Thanks for the lovely review. It was fantastic meeting you both and glad you had a nice time here.

When the British winter gets too much again, you know where to come!

All the best

J&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0815TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersal, Owner at Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pirongia
18.0 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
245 reviews
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
533 reviews
17.6 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
393 reviews
18.6 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
519 reviews
6.7 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue

Address: 1724 McClure Street, Pirongia 3876, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Pirongia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pirongia
Price Range: £73 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somersal is an idyllic Bed and Breakfast Accommodation / Wedding Venue perched on the banks of the Waipa River in Pirongia, only 30 minutes north of the famous Waitomo caves and only 10 minutes drive from Te Awamutu in the central Waikato. Stay in farm style comfort under a sky rich with stars, then wake to an especially prepared breakfast and the song of native birds in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing