We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in a Tropical Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnos Vale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnos Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is my third time staying at Top O' Tobago and I just can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Tobago. The cabanas are absolutely perfect for a single or couple. I especially enjoyed the Mot Mot birds coming by to share a bit of breakfast every morning. I'm not a birder but I was able to recognize the Mocking birds and Zebra birds and the sassy Cow bird who kept flying into the cabana to see if there were any treats for him on the counter. I enjoyed hiking the trails accessible right from the villa. It was fun finding the trails outlined in the guest information binder found in the cabanas. We were able to snorkel at a beautiful little beach just a few minutes walk from the villa. The grounds are spectacular offering 360 degree view from the pool area that are to die for. Sunsets by the pool was another happy memory I'll take home with me (aka happy hour). The staff are friendly and took excellent care of us. The grounds are beautifully maintained with flowering plants everywhere. Guests were encouraged to utilize the ripe fruits and herbs. The manager Hugh went above and beyond in making sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed my time at Top O' Tobago and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The main villa is spectacular and sleeps 4 comfortably. The cabanas are cozy are just the right size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Manager at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Thank you for your kind review.
We love having people like you, who enjoy the birds, views and natural setting stay with us at the villa.
We hope that you can come again.

Camille Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

We travel a lot and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the World. Top O Tobago ranks in our top 3 without a doubt, if not our favourite. The love and attention that have gone into the Villa and Cabanas is obvious and Hugh is the perfect host - helpful without being intrusive; we simply would not have had such a relaxing, interesting and fulfilling holiday without him.

We stayed in a cabana and had everything we could need from self catering accommodation. We found restaurants in Tobago to be OK, but a little expensive, so we highly recommend having the option of a BBQ on the coal pits, next to the pool, over looking the valley with the fireflies dancing around, as you can at Top O Tobago. If you are going to Tobago, there is no other place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can, splash out on the villa. If not, the cabanas are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallym106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Manager at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Thank you for your kind review.

We are thrilled when our guests love Top O Tobago as much as we do.

We hope that you can come again.

Sincerely Camille Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Perfect accommodation, natural surroundings, with all mod cons.
Unique quality of being both indoors and outdoors at same time.
Good security
Stunning 6 acrew grounds
A + staff, including Hugh, the amazing manager.
Thoughtful, sympathetic, locally sourced furniture.
Large pool with panoramic views
Spacious, with private balcony/patio and personal hammock
Free equipment, such as yoga mats, snorkelling gear
Lots of detailed links/info on Tobago
Eco-friendly and conscious
Fresh fruit leeft on my patio every morning, straight from the grounds.

Self-catering and ideally you will need a car, but a ver small price to pay for a place that totally undersells itself and offers so much more than you pay for. Website doesn't do iit justice. Don't. Bother. Going. Anywhere. Else. Whatever type of trip/group you're coming with, this versatile, uniquely laid out property will delight and allows privacy and connectedness at same time, a difficult balance to achieve.

Thanks so much, Hugh, Zambo, Miss.Susan, Trevor and Freddie/Bandit/Champ (RIP)

I cannot wait to come back with all my people!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kattak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

A group of us from the suburbs of Boston stayed in the main house for 2 weeks, with friends joining us in the 3 cabanas for the 2nd week. Top o' Tobago felt like home-- the owners' personality was reflected in the design (tile work & art from the area) as well as in the collection of music & books.

Care taker Hugh seemed to know exactly when to make himself available, accompanied by his constant companions (& our new German Shepard friends) frisky Freddy, sweet Bandit girl, & Mr. Champ the elder. Hugh & Freddy & Bandit took us on a hike to a waterfall & to snorkel at Hidden bay's coral gardens. (bring Teva sandals!)

There are numerous spots at the terraced villa to get off on your own-- the clacking & cool bamboo grove being one of my favorites. And at night we all ventured to the lowest balcony, cupping our ears to amplify the sounds of peepers & creepers emanating from the valley below. One magical night after a rain, the fireflies came out in force--seemingly lighting up the trees below like twinkling holiday lights.

After a day or 2 you get used to birds swooping through the open-air main house, mot mots perching on the kitchen ceiling fan, & being awakened by cacophonous chakalakas! My favorite ritual was to get up for sunrise & to guess from which direction the squeaking flocks of parrots would fly.

Half the time we grilled fish bought from the roadside "market" in Mt. Irvine. We also followed Hugh's restaurant suggestions, especially enjoying the mohitos & cerviche at El Pescador. Hugh booked "Island Girl" catamaran for us twice: once for an all-day sail, lunch & snorkel.....and again for a most magical sunset cruise.

We had no problem at all with just hanging out poolside at the villa-- day or night. Such beauty no matter where you look . A photographer's paradise!

Book now! love from Nants

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nantsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Our experience in TOP O’TOBAGO was wonderful. The kindness and hospitality of his manager, Hugh, was outstanding. We were pick up at the airport and led to a rental car office, service we had prearranged, after that, he drove us to a supermarket to buy some groceries. He lend us a cell-phone to get in touch with him, just in case we get lost, have any trouble or simply to make a restaurant reservation.
The cabana was very neat and clean, a bit small for four people, but absolutely well equipped. Hugh provided us snorkeling equipment, as the nearest beach has a huge coral reef. He was always asking us about any need we can have. In the place there were 200 DVD and blue ray movies you can take to see in your cabana. About the place, the environment and surroundings were gorgeous. The spectacular garden: trees, flowers and birds everywhere, make you feel in a relaxing atmosphere; what is more, you have a nice swimming pool to enjoy at the end of a busy day.
When we left Tobago, Hugh went with us to the airport, 1 hour later, we realized we had forgotten a rucksack in the cabana and we phoned him, but we were about to board the plane. He arrived when the door of the plane was closed and the rucksack was store in the back of the plane with the baggage. This was a great gesture of him.
To sum up, I strongly recommend Top’O Tobago if you want to spend a perfect time in this island.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My wife and I spent a week at Top 'O Tobago Villa after an earlier week on Grenada. We selected Top 'O Tobago off the internet, but more importantly, after a telephone call with the manager, Hugh. Hugh's knowledge of the culture, cuisine and natural beauty of the island made for us a wonderful week of relaxation, fun and good food. The accommodations in our cabana were perfect for a relaxing week getting away from the Boston ice and snow. I fly-fished for bonefish on the coral reef flats while my wife read and enjoyed the sun on the beach or poolside. We had a rental car and took many adventure trips (always with Hugh's custom drafted maps) all over the island for hikes, birdwatching and the wonderful cuisine of the island’s diverse fruit/vegetables and seafood. Hugh was like having your own travel consultant traveling with you - always available for recommendations but never in the way. The natural beauty of the Villa mellows you out from day 1. We are coming back next year to have Hugh meet us at the airport and do it all over again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

OMG!!! Why didn't we have more time? My husband and I celebrated our 7th anniversary in August and wanted to get away from EVERYTHING. Our Tourism Board recommended Top O Tobago because we wanted natural scenery and quiet... We got that and so much more for three days.

We stayed in one of the beautifully decorated cabanas, it had a Caribbean touch (the entire decor of the resort was like that) and it was fully equipped. What we loved was the eco-conscious efforts the resort made: the room was well-ventilated without need for an AC; recycling water system, guests get to contribute to the compost heap, in season fruits are at a hand's grasp, a trail to the beach and hikes were available just by opening our door, literally!

Another fascinating feature was the wake up call by the local birds, including the Cocrico, Tobago's national bird. That was a rare treat. And there were so many varieties of humming birds.

I cannot end without thanking Hugh Baker, the Manager, who provided such quality service with ease, that I would say he was a true Tobagonian (except he's from Canada, but has really contributed to the island and knows it well). He was always available to us for anything we needed, and provided so many useful tips on activities, tours and restaurants around the island. Even the website is convenient and user-friendly, and the location is just 15 to 20 minutes from the capital, Scarborough, or from the popular Store Bay touristy area.

I would definitely recommend Top O Tobago to a couple who wants to get away from it all! Hugh, you'll be seeing us again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnos Vale
7.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
5.4 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
16.8 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
2.3 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
2.3 mi away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#1 of 3 in Black Rock
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas

Address: Arnos Vale Road, Arnos Vale, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Arnos Vale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnos Vale
Price Range: £342 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top O Tobago is a villa which occupies the entire crest of a hill close to Caribbean Sea coast of SW Tobago. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the closest beach and there is a 360 degree view of the surrounding hills, valleys and coastline. The villa is comprised of a main 3 bedroom house and 3 studio apartments, each with its own patio and garden, and access to a common swimming pool. The villa offers the best of both rural and urban lifestyles. It is located on several acres of land with flower gardens, fruit trees, jungle vegetation and walking paths; but it is also within a 10 to 20 minute drive of numerous restaurants and shopping facilities. Top O Tobago is truly at the nexus of many worlds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing