We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Caribbean Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnos Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Caribbean Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Trinidad & Tobago, the first time either of us has been to Caribbean. This place exceeded our expectations. The manager, Silja, picked us up from the ferry terminal and even took us to the grocery store on our way to the hotel. She was always on hand to help us with whatever we needed. The villa was so beautiful, and had a wonderful deck in the back where we could watch the birds and eat dinners in the warm evenings. Everything was spotless and the kitchenette was fully-stocked. The views are magnificent. We hiked to Highland Falls, a beautiful nearby waterfall, with the very helpful map included in the hotel's information book. Oh, and the property has a grill, which we used to cook out each night. When we left, Silja dropped us off at the ferry again. The owners should be proud--the service and accommodations were flawless.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chad1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Tobago some day.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
98
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Top O' Tobago was the first place we stayed on our Tobago Tour and it made for a great start. Silja met us at the airport ( no payment expected for this!) and stopped on the way at a diner as we were hungry. Our room was huge, very comfortably and colourfully decked out and complete with a lovely little covered deck. Top O' Tobago as the name suggests sit high up in the trees with a view of the ocean. The gardens are alive with the sounds of birds and whilst sitting on your terrace all manner of colourful feathered friends come visiting. The pool is exquisite and quiet and the short trek down through the woods to a lovely near deserted Caribbean beach, with great snorkelling (gear provided free at the house) delightful. Silja even took us to our next Hotel ( again without wanting payment). A lovely, relaxing,low key, bird heaven kind of a place with helpful staff . We highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabana called Jacamar and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Debbie,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the villa and the beach. It's always good to hear when someone enjoys the place as much as we do.

Sincerely Camille Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent Valentines weekend there and it was certainly a great escape. When you walk out your doorway of the Main Villa you're greeted by a wonderful and large pool surrounded by mountains on almost all sites. You can even see the ocean from up here! It's surreal and really makes Top O' Tobago feel special. The Main Villa has a wonderful and large kitchen and the entire house is very Caribbean with high white ceilings and open air. As if the natural outdoor scenery wasn't good enough, the landscaping of the entire acreage is wonderful. You can go for nice walks right outside the villa. The location is also pretty ideal. Close of enough to the main tourist attractions around Store Bay/Crown Point and Scarborough as well as less than an hours drive to Englishman's Bay and the also wonderful Castara.

I will definitely recommend Top O' Tobago to anyone looking for a beautiful secluded villa where you feel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Rajeev,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the view, the gardens and the walks around the property, as well as the location. It's always wonderful to hear that our guests have a good experience.
Thanks again.
Camille Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent two weeks in Top O'Tobago to start off the year. We had a problem with our driver's license, so could not rent a vehicle. This did not turn out to be a big problem. Silja picked us up, she took us for groceries when we needed them. Camille and Derek took us to the Highland Falls and to Scarborough for Shopping. Silja helped up get to other beaches several times. We were always made to feel welcome. We had no problem with making meals in our Cabana and ate most of our meals in the gazebo behind the Cabana with the birds and the trees. You can get food, money, and other supplies in Plymouth which is about a 1/2 hour walk away. The Arnos Vale beach is about a 15 minute walk and we went to that beach most days. The snorkeling is great with thousands of fish. There is also hidden beach nearby and the Mot Mot trail. Even the old sugar mill is relatively close and worth a look. The area around Top O'Tobago is very beautiful with the jungle, birds, and the ocean. We spent most of our days right on the property, in our gazebo, reading, having meals, or at the pool. The property is very well landscaped and lots of fresh fruit. If you like self catering, which we normally do, this is a perfect place to stay and see Tobago. It is not in a tourist area, so you need to travel to see the standard touristy things, but if you like birds, trees, beaches, and warm sunshine it will have everything you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Wendy,
Thanks so much for your review. We're really happy that you and David spent so much time exploring all the natural delights in and around the area. We love it, and are pleased that you did too.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at Top O'Tobago to bring in 2014. Easy check-in, made you remember the beauty of staying at a smaller private villa. Also received a discount for being Trinidadian, which was a very welcome surprise. My girlfriend is from Costa Rica, so these types of cabanas in the mountains with serenity and close to nature is very common in Costa Rica, and we were both very happy to see the same and even better in Tobago!

I have been to Tobago many times, and this was one of my best stays. I would call it my first non-typical Tobago visit. Top O'Tobago is 15-25 minutes from all the typical beach & bar action on the southern side of the island, and 30-40 minutes to the more peaceful Castara / North Caribbean Coast options. Well located.

Privacy was superb, felt at home in the complete cabana (fully-stocked kitchen), with fruits supplied at check-in, and the staff left the space to us. The cabana was very clean, and anything we thought we needed, was perfectly stored and available within the cabana, well organized with storage space and hooks. The patio was beautiful in the mornings to have breakfast, and sit outside and listen to the mountains wake-up, with the view of the ocean as well. The dogs on property, Bella and Bandit, greeted us warmly and playfully when we arrived home.

We were out exploring and enjoying Tobago most of the day. Overall an excellent experience! If I need to identify an area for improvement, it would be to install more street lights on the short road into the property, so that nighttime entry is a little brighter.

Very happy to know that Top O' Tobago is a Top option for my future visits to Tobago!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Clifford,
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. We're happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay here. Thanks also for your observation about the driveway lights. We have them bought. This will give us incentive to get their installation higher on our priority list.

Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had no idea what to expect when we arrived, late at night. And with the gardens gently lit and the pool sparkling under the stars, we had no idea that the best was yet to come. By light of day we discovered an oasis perched on top of a "mountain" (we're from Canada, so perspective is everything) with the most pretty view of the ocean, and birds in a glorious riot outside our private gazebo.

The whole villa is immaculate, the staff super-friendly, the location scenic, and the island so easy to fall in love with. We have a general rule that we never go to the same place twice, but we will CERTAINLY break our rule for this one!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Ali,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that this response is so late, but I just noticed that my first response was 'rejected.' I hope that this one works. We hope that you both had a restful vacation. Please come again.

Sincerely Camille Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked at Top o Tobago half way through our 2-week holiday originally just for 2 nights in a cabana, but decided to come back for the final 3 nights as we were so taken by the whole setup. I echo all the sentiment on previous reviews regarding the great hosts and great staff, stunning scenery and blissful serenity. The cabanas were beautiful and we loved the little patio/garden areas; the owners have put a lot of thought into the practicalities - good storage space, shelves in bathroom, hooks for hanging and places to dry stuff! Our final night was spent in the villa with the family members we'd come to visit so it was an unexpected very special end to our holiday being able to play in the pool and relax together. The villa layout (and the contents of the bookshelves!) has left me with many ideas!
It's also actually a handy location (we had a hire car) - only about 15-20mins from all the shops and facilities in Store Bay, but drive north and you're right into the quiet winding lanes in central/north Tobago.
Meanwhile, the birdlife was spectacular - both those 'on site' and flying over!

Room Tip: The villa has one fantastic bedroom inside the main building, and a second twin room that is not acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Liz and Andrew,
We are delighted that you had a good time with your family at the villa. Hopefully you will all have fond memories of Tobago. Thanks for the review.

Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnos Vale
7.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.5 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.4 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
16.8 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas

Property: Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas
Address: Arnos Vale Road, Arnos Vale, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Arnos Vale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnos Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top O Tobago is a villa which occupies the entire crest of a hill close to Caribbean Sea coast of SW Tobago. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the closest beach and there is a 360 degree view of the surrounding hills, valleys and coastline. The villa is comprised of a main 3 bedroom house and 3 studio apartments, each with its own patio and garden, and access to a common swimming pool. The villa offers the best of both rural and urban lifestyles. It is located on several acres of land with flower gardens, fruit trees, jungle vegetation and walking paths; but it is also within a 10 to 20 minute drive of numerous restaurants and shopping facilities. Top O Tobago is truly at the nexus of many worlds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing