We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnos Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we were in the middle cabana, great! I fed the birds every morning while having a coffee in the outside space each cabana has.

the manager, Silja, and her daughter Anice are so delightful and helpful it is hard to to describe. We didnt have a car but they helped us with food and lifts. The sunsets are great. the beach is close. It is a bit away from any life so be prepared to just chill. would definitely go back.

Once Silja took us to see a 5ft leatherback turtle lay her eggs and go back out to sea! amazing!

Room Tip: the middle cabana is best for outside space we think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vocalbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're really happy that you enjoyed the garden and the service, and that you would consider coming back. We enjoyed seeing you both sit at the pool and 'chill.'

Sincerely Camille & Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
100
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent a week here recently, having discovered this gem on the Tripadvisor website. We would like to endorse all the favourable comments that you can read in recent reviews by other people, and to thank Silja, Camille, Derek and their friendly staff for being so welcoming. It was like being a personal guest in a private villa, and nothing was too much trouble: we were able to borrow snorkelling equipment, beach towels, cool box, even sun cream, and browsed the bookshelves in the main house. If you want a bar and a restaurant on site, you're looking at the wrong place - you may have to go to one of the barrack-block "resort hotels". But if you want peace and quiet and a beautiful location, and are happy to drive to eat out or buy a takeaway of the really tasty street food, or do your own cooking in the very adequate little kitchen in the cabana or on the terrace barbecue, then Top o'Tobago really is a fantastic base. We hired a car from the second day (Silja had happily taxied us about in the first 24 hours) from a family run firm just outside the airport, who came out to collect us. The hire was about £40 a day, but it was wonderful exploring the island (mind the potholes, and don't be distracted by the roadside jungle, or stunning coastal views, or the locals who want you to stop and chat). Our petrol for the week cost £12. Watch out for the nightjars sitting on the track when you return to the villa after dark. We won't name our favourite beach of the week, which was paradise and virtually deserted, but it was quite a drive to get there. At Castara beach we swam with a turtle and ate lunch at the beachside restaurant watching the Frigate Birds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiPens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We certainly enjoyed having you both at Top O Tobago. We are really happy that you managed to return to Tobago after so many years and that you enjoyed your return visit so much.

Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We did our research before choosing Top O' Tobago hotel, and all the other positive reviews turned out to be correct. It looks exactly like in the pictures. We drove all around Tobago, and did not see any other hotels that looked as nice as they did online- they all look tired, worn and run down- some who are charging more than Top O' Tobago! All the staff are polite and friendly, it is very professionally run. When we were at the pool we rarely saw anyone else and felt as though we had our own private villa with pool. I highly recommend it and I am a very discerning customer. I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else, unless it is really important to them to have a restaurant on the premises. We liked to be able to go out and get local fare, or cook in our room. One note- I would not normally stay anywhere without air conditioning because I hate to sleep in the heat, but they are well equipped with room and ceiling fans and between those and the large windows and breeze on the hill, the temperature was pleasant enough to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waharrismd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for writing the review and for recommending us to others. The recommendation is truly appreciated. We are delighted that we met your expectations in so many ways, and we hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Last minute discovery in Tobago was truly memorable. Silja was a wonderful and accommodating hostess and we were truly impressed with the cabana, pool and beautiful surroundings. A real gem in an absolutely beautiful country.

Sounds strange but the attention to detail, particularly with the services and facilities and the very detailed information binder was truly impressive.

Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infinitejester17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you found us at the last minute and that you enjoyed the hospitality offered by Silja and the rest of the staff.

Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My fiance and I stayed her for four nights as a Carnival Getaway in one of the Cabanas, and we couldn't ask for more. The location is absolutely serene, the views, the sounds and the landscaping of Top O' Tobago makes it an ideal escape from the hustle and bustle. The grounds are well kept, and there are trails leading away from the villa to the nearby Arnos Vale Beach. The cabanas are lovely, well equipment, and with its own private gazebo for dining or relaxing. On the property there are three cabanas, and the main house, off of which is the pool. It is approximately a twenty-five minute drive to Crown Point, and ten minutes to Black Rock. Some of the nearby sites which can be visited are Plymouth with the Mystery Tombstone, the Waterwheel, and Castara Bay which is a 30 minutes drive, which boasts the most beautiful view in the world. Kudos to Silja and the staff who were very accommodating, making sure we were welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiesonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you found the place relaxing for a great Carnival break. We enjoy it here also, at the top of our hill.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We flew over from Trinidad in the morning. Silja collected us from the airport and was happy to drop us at the supermarket on the way to Arnos Vale, which was handy to allow us to collect some food/drinks.
A trip had been arranged with other guests to see the Highland Falls, so we dropped our bags and were driven down, with a nice walk to and from the waterfall.

We stayed in a Cabana, which was well laid out with a big bed and everything you'd need/expect in a self-catered room. Outside, there was a covered area, with bougainvillea & orchids that offered a lovely view over the nearby hills. If you chose to take breakfast here, many types of bird will pass or stop, ogling your breakfast. Only the Mot Mots were bold enough to make a move for food while we were there! Hummingbirds and antshrikes, among others, are common.
Great views from the poolside down to the sea and well laid out grounds with all variety of fruit trees (which you are encouraged to take advantage of).

The local beach is great for snorkelling, with fish just a few feet from the shore. Venture a little further out and the colours (of fish and coral) intensify. All just a 10 minute walk from the room.

We stayed for 3 days. As we are happy to walk anywhere, this was fine as there are small supermarkets in Plymouth where you can get food/drinks.

Service was excellent and everyone on-site was helpful and friendly.
Great place to stay if you want to relax and enjoy the beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

We took an early flight back and Silja ran us down to the airport (in the dark!). This seems to be part of the service but is nevertheless very much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ric_br0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you were able to walk around and enjoy the many attractions within the immediate vicinity of Top O Tobago. We hope to welcome you here again.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to Trinidad & Tobago, the first time either of us has been to Caribbean. This place exceeded our expectations. The manager, Silja, picked us up from the ferry terminal and even took us to the grocery store on our way to the hotel. She was always on hand to help us with whatever we needed. The villa was so beautiful, and had a wonderful deck in the back where we could watch the birds and eat dinners in the warm evenings. Everything was spotless and the kitchenette was fully-stocked. The views are magnificent. We hiked to Highland Falls, a beautiful nearby waterfall, with the very helpful map included in the hotel's information book. Oh, and the property has a grill, which we used to cook out each night. When we left, Silja dropped us off at the ferry again. The owners should be proud--the service and accommodations were flawless.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleBaker, Owner at Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Tobago some day.
Sincerely Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnos Vale
4.5 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
243 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
5.4 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas

Property: Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas
Address: Arnos Vale Road, Arnos Vale, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Arnos Vale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnos Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top O Tobago is a villa which occupies the entire crest of a hill close to Caribbean Sea coast of SW Tobago. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the closest beach and there is a 360 degree view of the surrounding hills, valleys and coastline. The villa is comprised of a main 3 bedroom house and 3 studio apartments, each with its own patio and garden, and access to a common swimming pool. The villa offers the best of both rural and urban lifestyles. It is located on several acres of land with flower gardens, fruit trees, jungle vegetation and walking paths; but it is also within a 10 to 20 minute drive of numerous restaurants and shopping facilities. Top O Tobago is truly at the nexus of many worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Top O' Tobago Villa & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing