We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening meal”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Potton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Have never eaten here before but stopped off with family (5 of us) after a family funeral. The service was second to none. We decided to eat in the restaurant & were very pleased that we did. I had the mushroom risotto, which was perfect. The others in the party had the hake, steak & the Brill. No complaints, just clean plates... For dessert we had the ice cream sundae (enough for two to share) it was delicious. Staff were polite & nothing was too much trouble... We would
definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 410DEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    30
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
44
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Ten of us had a great evening for my birthday . We chose their feast menu . The food was excellent and plentiful. Everything was cooked to perfection. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It s very clean and the decor is good . The bar and the dining areas are all pleasantly decorated . Excellent all round . Would definitely recommend it . Thanks for a great evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at The Coach house for one night.I can not fault the room at all,newly renovated. It had a modern and stylish look, very clean and loved the shower.The staff were very helpful and we had a very nice English Breakfast in the morning.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteHatchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Ten of us for lunch, really good menu and great food. This place you could visit many times and explore good menu.
Nice internal decor.
And most important it's private and not another chain and situated right in the village square

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfraser314x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We went for lunch on the recommendation of a friend. I wasn't disappointed.

It is a pleasant environment overlooking the square. There are plenty of nooks and crannies to hide away in whilst you enjoy your food. It gives the clear impression that it is well used by the local community and something of a hub.

The menu was interesting with a good variety of dishes ranging from a luxurious steak ciabatta sandwich through to traditional fish and chips. There is something for everyone. I chose two if the "small plates", a tapas principle, but larger portions. The whitebait was excellent, piping hot, crunchy and filled with soft fish.

The dish I was most looking forward to, the home made battered fish fingers, were not quite as good. The fish was delicious, however the batter was a little greasy for my taste. Nonetheless I soon unpacked the fish and thoroughly enjoyed that.

Service was very good and we weren't kept waiting long for the food.

On the whole I thought it was very good and I would happily go back. I was asked if everything had been ok when I paid the bill. I gave the feedback about the batter and very refreshingly it was accepted in a very warm manor leaving me confident that some action will probably be taken to avoid a repeat.

We will see the next time I go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aclking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Coach House is a take with two halves. First there's the pub restaurant which is, I think, what earns the great reviews here. Then there's the B&B which, in spite of some real positives, is below par and needs improving.

The Coach House is, as its name implies, a commodious coaching inn dating back to the seventeenth century. The public areas downstairs have been given a sensitive modern and generally pared-back make over which suits the place and makes it airy and energetic without being OTT. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Food wise we only had breakfast but that was really very good. Full English with quality ingredients swiftly and perfectly cooked – including the requested poached egg. One of the best breakfasts I've had in a while and better than that I've had in many a good hotel.

But above stairs things are long overdue for improvement. Let's start with some pros though:

PROS

+ The room was large and airy
+ Plenty of hot water in the shower – good pressure
+ Comfortable bed with crisp clean linen
+ Clean fresh towels
+ Decent selection of quality hot drinks and biscuits in the room

But then there are the problems...

CONS

+ Common parts upstairs are very tired – need a repaint, new carpets (old ones quite stained) and better lighting).
+ Rooms and bathrooms need a refresh for all of the same reasons as common parts
+ Carpet in dining room (where breakfast is served) does not look old but is badly soiled and spotted. Generally the place looks clean and – on the ground floor at least – also quite fresh so this is letting that side of it down. It is really quite bad.

As it stands I can feel OK(ish) about the £90 per night for a double room because we got a good night's sleep and a really good breakfast. But this won't be great value until they sort out the tired rooms. The annoying thing is that I really don't think they'd have to do that much to make a marked improvement. And with the level of business they seem to get for weddings alone I would think it would be worth it.

Room Tip: Right now I suspect all rooms are rather tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWoodcraft, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Coach House.

We think your comments are very honest and we can only agree with you. We have been desperate to renovate our bedrooms since day one so that they match what we have created downstairs. We have only been here for a little over 18 months now and for obvious reasons haven't been in a position to carry out this work. We have worked hard to keep the rooms as clean and comfortable as possible whilst awaiting renovation.

However, we have just completed one bedroom as a sample and benchmark for the rest of our rooms. We are really pleased with the finished result and have had great feedback so far. We plan to complete the rest of the rooms shortly.

We have added a few photos of the new bedroom to give you a sneak peek.

Belle and I are always keen to receive feedback and make improvements where possible. We care passionately about making sure visitors to The Coach House have the best experience possible.

If you would like to discuss anything further please contact me on mail@coachhousepotton.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just haven't had the chance to have dinner though have had a sandwich lunch which was great. Last night 4 of us had dinner and I have to say for someone who spends most of his time in hotel restaurants around the world last night was marvellous. The perfect mix of attention and being left alone combined with top quality food and menu. Though we ordered from the individual wine by the glass list the full list looked fun, very appropriate and well priced.

The mix between locals having a pint in the bar and the restaurants were perfect and absolutely no conflict. Staff excellent and numbered just right, meaning we all had a lovely chat and a excellent meal.

All in a perfect evening, thanks all!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potton
6.1 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,843 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
0.0 mi away
The Potton Nest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fullers Hill Cottages
Fullers Hill Cottages
#1 of 1 in Little Gransden
82 reviews
2.7 mi away
Molehill Barn Bed & Breakfast
10.6 mi away
The Old Piggery Guest House & Yurts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 12 Market Square, Potton SG19 2NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Potton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Potton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Coach House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing