We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely gite, welcoming hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Hortensias

The very comfortable king size bed, needed after a day of tranquillity or perhaps a sporty day!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The very comfortable king size bed, needed after a day of tranquillity or perhaps a sporty day!
The cosy lounge with books, magazines, dvds and cds. Lovely airy shower room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The very comfortable king size bed, needed after a day of tranquillity or perhaps a sporty day!
The cosy lounge with books, magazines, dvds and cds.
Lovely airy shower room.
Your front door leads into the well equipped kitchen diner.
April 2014 - Stunning weather so Gazebo up and ready for BBQs and soirees!
Lots of places to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet with a glass of wine perhaps!
Front of main house
Seating at the front of the main house
Gite front door
One of our Hortensia bushes with more lounging chairs.
Meet Hetty, Betty, Rose and Gerti our lovely chickens supplying super fresh eggs each day
The Marais Poitevin just 45 mins drive away (Green Venice)
If you need more relaxation, Susan is a trained Reiki therapist
Our 2 dogs Fudge and Lily
Willow our cat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Vasles, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bootstogo
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely gite, welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I have stayed in many gites over the years and this is one of the best so far. The accommodation is very comfortable and well equipped, and would be very spacious for two. We didn't try the large TV, but wi-fi reception was good and easy to access. Large and lovely gardens were also available for us to use.
We stayed as a group of four, so extra beds were made up, but there was still plenty of space and we never ran out of hot water for showers, etc.
Susan and Terry couldn't have been more welcoming, and Fudge the dog was very friendly too! It is mainly self -catering, but they laid on a fantastic dinner for nine of us one evening, with excellent home cooking and great service - many thanks for that, it was a great way to end our stay. We would certainly like to return please.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendliness of owners
Liked least: Door key difficult to use
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Les Hortensias and for your lovely review - we enjoyed having you all stay too, and it certainly wasn't a problem having 4 burly golfers staying in the Gite. We very much look forward to seeing you all again next year or indeed sooner! Susan and terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeltCol
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat in Vasles, Deux Seures, France”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What an unexpected treat. Great welcome from Terry and Susan, including homemade chocolate cupcakes and biscuits, they even re-arranged the accommodation to suit 4 "burley" golfers. The Gite is beautifully presented and Terry and Susan endeavoured to make sure our needs were met. Lovely large gardens, which we were encouraged to use. Great off road parking. Vasles is in easy walking distance for local bars and restaurants, but Susan and her friend Suzanne, with assistance from Terry, provided a memorable evening meal at extra cost, the food was all homemade and far superior to the local restaurant, well worth the extra Euros.
Good wi-fi access, so if you want superb accommodation and friendly , attentive owners , I would readily recommend Les Hortensias Gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome from the owners
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review for your stay at Les Hortensias. You are most welcome to return anytime and I promise that there will be many more cakes to savour! Susan and Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamm78
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming, accommodating”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Didn't want for anything. Exemplory host and hostess. Excellent accommodation and amenities in the local village. Beautiful location. Terry and Susan's local knowledge was extremely helpful. Lots to do in the gardens and area, so good for children and adults alike. The local bar tabac - Le Zinc - excellent for people watching. Relaxed atmosphere.

The 15th century historic quarter in Parthenay very interesting. Nice restaurants and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Susan's cooking and the Reiki experience
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2014
Thank you for your very positive response it was a delight to have you stay at Les Hortensias and hope that you will return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing