We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a fabulous holiday”
Review of La Chataigneraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Chataigneraie
Ranked #1 of 2 Sahorre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Wow! What a gorgeous place to have a holiday. The location is great, the views amazing and La Chataigneraie is just fabulous. My husband and I stayed in the Petit Gite - it was very comfortable and has all you can possibly want for a great holiday - and we slept so well! The surrounding area is great for exploring on foot with fantastic walks - thank you to our very knowledgeable hosts who made suggestions for places for us to visit. Caroline & Bob are great hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they are so helpful. We had the most wonderful time and we look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and very much hope you will be able to come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for La Chataigneraie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at La Chataigneraie where we stayed in the "Marron gite" with some friends. The hosts were fantastic, the gite was clean, tidy and well equipped, and the views were nothing short of spectacular.

Each gite has its own area with a gas BBQ, chairs and table which we made good use of! There is a small bakery and a wine cellar (which also sells fantastic apple juice) a few minutes cycle away.

There is plenty to do in the area if you don't mind a bit of a walk or cycle (which I would highly recommend), although if you would like to go a little further a field, you can hire a car in the next door village of Vernet which wasn't hugely expensive.

I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apache201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Manager at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday - it was a great pleasure getting to know you all and we hope to welcome you back here soon. There are still a lot of places left to explore and hopefully next time it will be warm enough to swim in the rock-pools!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have just come back from a fabulous week at La Chataigneraie - the hosts were superb, the scenery was stunning and the accommodation was immaculate. Cannot speak highly enough of all whole experience, would recommend it to anyone looking to stay around the area - we will definitely be booking in for a return visit!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

So glad you all enjoyed your holiday - we miss you! Looking forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed in Maron Gite in September 2012 and had a fabulous two weeks. The gite was very comfortable and the walking was superb. The pool was very welcome after being in the mountains all day. Caroline and Bob were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashby_451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for your review and for adding some superb photos of the local area - we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We spent an idyllic week at La Chat in August of this year. We were two families with four kids under 10 and a great time was had by all. Caroline & Bob were wonderful hosts - always there when we needed them but suitably discrete when we didn't. We stayed in the 3-bed bungalow and spent most evenings at the dinner table with the most fantastic views across the valley. Days were spent either lazing around the wonderful pool or exploring the nearby attractions -particularly the freshwater rock pools and the man-made beach just 30 mins drive away. We didn't even need to go to the seaside ! We are already booked in for a return trip next summer...the sooner the better !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday! We can't wait for you all to come back again next year - there is a sun-bed with your name on it, looking out across the valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

First let me say that Caroline & Bob are the best host ever and went far and beyond the call of duty in helping us during our stay. Their customer service was fantastic. We stayed for 8 days in mid October and the weather was perfect. Sunny most days and in the high teens to low twenties during the day. The mountain views were breathtaking. At the time of year we were there it was very quiet. Hardly any tourists. The house/villa we stayed in was well equipped with everything we needed to prepare our own meals. It had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen/living area. Also great wifi connection, Sat TV and BBQ. They have a great DVD library with a large screen projection screen movie theatre in the lounge area. We did not make use of their gym equipment however they very thoughtfully have a large spice collection to help with your at home cooking. They provide a very extensive manual with all the information you could need including local shops and markets with directions and hours of operation (including local hidden treasures the typical tourist wouldn't find).
We used the mountain bikes to pedal to local villages to shop at markets, eat at cafe's and catch buses to other nearby villages. We also ventured to some extremely unique haunts off the beaten track at the guidance of our exceptional hosts. A vehicle would be best if you wanted to venture further out, but we were quite content to hike and bike nearby (lots of hills), or just sit out and enjoy the view, the gentle jingle of the cattle bells off in the distance, the sweet smell of the lavender in the air. You can use the local bus for only 1 Euro. The grounds are beatifully manicured with lots of exotic fruit and nut trees and other plants. The area is Catalan. A hybrid of French and Spanish. Most of the locals we encountered were very friendly and helpful to us English speaking tourists. We may go back there to live :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you so much for your generous review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday here. You are the first people to stay here without a car, so it is fantastic to know that you were able to enjoy the holiday just exploring by walking, cycling and using the local euro-bus. We would love to have you as neighbours if you did decide to come and live in this beautiful area!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at La Chataigneraie in September (La Petit Gite). Firstly the location was superb with wonderful views and some fantastic walks. We found La Chataigneraie to be very clean, tidy but at the same time retaining its natural charm. Caroline and Bob were very welcoming and helpful but not intrusive (in fact a perfect balance).

There are plenty of fruit trees which Caroline and Bob were happy to let us help ourselves to - at the time we were there the Fig tree provided some of the tastiest Figs we had ever tasted.

La Chataigneraie is perfectly placed for easy access to the coast, plenty of walks which will suit all abilities and other sites of interest (man made, geological and natural beauty).

We will not hesitate to stay here again the next time we visit the Pyrenees!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

So glad you enjoyed your holiday - you both deserve an award for "most miles walked" this summer! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sahorre
7.0 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
Hotel Le Mas Fleuri
#2 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
47 reviews
17.4 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
161 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chataigneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chataigneraie

Address: route de Vernet les Bains, 66360 Sahorre, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Sahorre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sahorre
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Châtaigneraie offers three self-catering gîtes (1, 3 and 5 bedrooms)and five en-suite B&B / chambres d’hôtes in the beautiful Languedoc region of the South of France. The flexible accommodation is ideal for groups of 2 to 32 people – perfect for family gatherings. Situated in the heart of the Pyrénées, the tranquil setting has breath-taking views across the mountains. With two acres of landscaped gardens, swimming pool, gym, boules court, mountain bikes and a lounge with 5 metre projection screen and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Chataigneraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing