We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”
Review of Villa Del Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Del Porto
Ranked #1 of 2 Kalkara B&B and Inns
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent 1 night here on our return journey from Sicily. It was a really pleasant surprise as we had expected a 'cheap and cheerful' hotel but instead got a lovely old Maltese house in a scenic location. Aldo, the owner, made us very welcome and is rightly pround of his hotel. Our room on the 3rd floor had a fabulous harbour view and was functional - the bathroom was newly decorated with a good power shower. The air conditioning was great and the shutters on the wndows blocked out all the light. Breakfast was good - toast, cheese, ham, fruit, hot drinks, joiuces and cereals. We discovered the fantastic roof terrace: great views, breezy, sun and shade with sunbeds available. The area is very unspoilt and would be a great base to tour Malta from. Would stay in this area and at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    53
    21
    17
    6
See reviews for
9
78
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A lovely surprise arriving in Kalkara. A very central location, a hop across from Valletta. Totally unspoilt and quiet. The accommodation itself is great, a spacious room with a view on the third floor. Aldo, the owner is very friendly to offer any advice, and certainly made this a very enjoyable stay. I confirm that the pastizzi down the road are excellent!!

Room Tip: Third floor room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stéphane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Villa del Porto is a great place to spend holiday in Malta. Our room was big, clean and has a great view on the marina in Kalkara. and the owner - Mr Aldo is very nice, polite and always ready to help. he really takes care of his guests and makes living there much more pleasant.
bus stop to valletta is about 50 meters from villa del porto and it takes 30 min to get to Valletta. If I will be in Malta, I will chose Villa del Porto one more time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This traditional Maltese home is a wonderful choice for B & B in Kalkara, Malta. Recently refurbished and enlarged the hotel has stunning views across the harbour. Owner run and supervised everything works very well. The owner Aldo arranged airport transfers and sightseeing. This is a very untouristy part of Malta and it is good to join in and become part of local village life. This is not the place to stay if you want discos and bars and expensive hotels. Easy walking to Birgu and Fort Rinella. Eat with the locals at the excellent Supernova Heights Cafe just down the road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a wonderful view but there is some local traffic. However the view is stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ancienttraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalkara
1.9 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
2.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,902 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Porto

Property: Villa Del Porto
Address: Marina Street 1, Kalkara, Island of Malta KKR 1521, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Kalkara
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Del Porto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself at our newly opened Boutique Guesthouse. With us, you will enjoy the tradition, history and stories of the village of Kalkara. Kalkara is a fishing village in the south of Malta forming part of the picturesque Grand Harbour. Villa del Porto is situated overlooking Kalkara Port, offering genuine warm comfort in truly historic surroundings. The property was first built over 100 years ago and has recently been restored. Villa Del Porto is a relaxing retreat in the heart of Malta easily accessible to all major attractions. All rooms are equipped with all present commodities including cooling and heating air conditioning, mini bar, in-room digital safe, hair drying facility, LCD cable TV, private bath or shower and laundry service. Whilst enjoying ample public car park space, when staying at Villa del Porto, one can hire a car and discover all hidden treasures of the Maltese Islands at leisure. However, for those who would opt for a tour by public bus, the stop is just 50 metres away. Sandy beach, Pharmacy, Bank, Historic sites, Museums, and tennis courts are also situated close by. Cross the Grand Harbour on the traditional Maltese boat and discover Valletta - Malta's Capital City and Unesco's World Heritage Site. Over here one must visit the famous St. John's Cathedral and other places of interest. Valletta is also popular for designer shops and cafes. And for those who would like to enjoy a relaxing holiday, a stroll on the Kalkara Promenade and Vittoriosa Waterfront whilst enjoying a choice of top restaurants, bars and a Casino is definitely not worth a miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Del Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing