We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Villa Del Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Del Porto
Ranked #1 of 2 Kalkara B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A very nice bed and breakfast. Aldo the owner is very nice and will help you in anything you want. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and was exactly what you expect but with a great view. Room was spotlessly clean.
Kalkara is a little quiet in March, but there was a hospitable welcome in the couple of bars nearby. Valletta is only 30 minutes away on a bus stop only 200 metres from the Villa Del Porto. After spending some time in the " touristy areas", glad we picked this B&B.
It's real Malta and the views are fantastic.
One tip though, if you hire a car, expect the unexpected, but do it anyway it's a great way to see the wonderful Malta.
Valletta might be the capital city, but was far from hectic after dark, the Waterfront area was a good place to eat out at night, but never busy.
It's a small country but my 4 days wasn't nearly enough to do it justice. Enjoy Malta and do it from the Villa del Porto. It's very good. Thanks Aldo you were a very good host.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melthamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    53
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
9
77
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in room 202 beautiful floor huge bed lovely views from the balcony. Yes a little road noise, but nothing much, well worth it for the views. In january we didn,t need mosquito protection or the air conditioner.The en suite was great (also had stunning views) and every thing was cleaned each day by the excellent staff. Tea and coffee making facitilties and a really useful fridge.Malta is so small no where is very far away so staying in this quieter area was perfect for us.The buses are frequent and the drivers very helpful. All maltese people speak English and without fail are helpful and very kind. Museums are between 5 and 10 euro,s each( look for deals).An excellent bed and breakfast at a really good price

Room Tip: book a front room with a balcony early and enjoy superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 143snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Two of us stayed in this bed-and-breakfast for a couple of days. The hotel is small, quiet, and near the water, so if you have a room with a view over the water that's a plus. Breakfast was held on the roof of the b-and-b, which gave terrific views. Although the food was nothing to write home about, the area was off the tourist track and so prices in the local shops were much cheaper than you might expect.
Our rooms were kept clean, sleeping was not a problem, the shower in my room was excellent, and we were given keys which allowed us to come and go as we wanted. The staff could not do enough for us.

Altogether, this is a great place to use as a base for exploring Malta.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony where you can see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a great b&b. Very clean and with the right blend of traditional and modern. Aldo is one of the nicest, most accommodating hoteliers we've ever met. The whole staff was great.
There are very comfortable beds, plenty of parking and with a balcony room the views are fantastic. A lovely, continental breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace. And, if you're visiting in the summertime, you'll be happy to know that there is air conditioning. We were very happy to have stayed in Kalkara as opposed to Valetta. It's very easy to get to Valetta from there. We took a water taxi (very cheap - 1.5 euro each).

Room Tip: Book a balcony room if you can. The view of the marina is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calluna75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First, the location: Kalkara, a nice small city with direct view on Valetta. You can very easily park the car close to the hotel.
Second, the hotel: well located with a nice view on the bay/harbour; pleasant terrace on the roof where breakfast is taken and where you can spare some hours simply having a chat while enjoying the view. The rooms are neat with all comfort equipments and the minibar is quite affordable. Breakfast is simple but nice. All floors are served by a modern lift (very valuable when you carry heavy luggage)
Third, the owner: Aldo, Maltese; really welcoming, charming and pleasant; always at your disposal for a chat or touristic information.
In brief, we spent a great journey in Villa Del Porto and we warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Je R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The location of Villa Del Porto is quiet and with views across Grand harbour to Valletta. The rooms are spacious and very modern, however more importantly very clean. The staff at breakfast are very pleasant and although I had one complaint about the 'funny' tasting milk the staff told me they had recently switched the milk brand on the recommendation of the supplier. The very next day another brand of milk had been sourced and the taste was far better, thank you, brilliant response. The room facilities are good, including a wonderful shower cubicle with room for two average size people, honestly we tried it! Aldo the owner, is there everyday and was very helpful. Although Kalkara doesn't offer very much, it does however have a very nice marina nearby from which one can have a very nice meal and sit and enjoy people watching or just pretending one of the massive yachts' belongs to you :-). Buses run every half hour past the hotel to the capital. Give it a try you will enjoy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just come back from a week in the villa del porto. Nice B&B with great views over the harbour to birgu and valletta. Our room was spacious and airy with high ceilings and lots of light. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace. You can also pop up during the day to use the sun loungers. There is a bus stop to valletta a couple of minutes walk away. Kalkara is very quiet so this is not the place to go if you're a party animal. More bars and restaurants are available in birgu a 10/15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view over the harbour also overlook the road. We we're on the first floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthemoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalkara
2.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,833 reviews
1.9 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Porto

Property: Villa Del Porto
Address: Marina Street 1, Kalkara, Island of Malta KKR 1521, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Kalkara
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Del Porto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself at our newly opened Boutique Guesthouse. With us, you will enjoy the tradition, history and stories of the village of Kalkara. Kalkara is a fishing village in the south of Malta forming part of the picturesque Grand Harbour. Villa del Porto is situated overlooking Kalkara Port, offering genuine warm comfort in truly historic surroundings. The property was first built over 100 years ago and has recently been restored. Villa Del Porto is a relaxing retreat in the heart of Malta easily accessible to all major attractions. All rooms are equipped with all present commodities including cooling and heating air conditioning, mini bar, in-room digital safe, hair drying facility, LCD cable TV, private bath or shower and laundry service. Whilst enjoying ample public car park space, when staying at Villa del Porto, one can hire a car and discover all hidden treasures of the Maltese Islands at leisure. However, for those who would opt for a tour by public bus, the stop is just 50 metres away. Sandy beach, Pharmacy, Bank, Historic sites, Museums, and tennis courts are also situated close by. Cross the Grand Harbour on the traditional Maltese boat and discover Valletta - Malta's Capital City and Unesco's World Heritage Site. Over here one must visit the famous St. John's Cathedral and other places of interest. Valletta is also popular for designer shops and cafes. And for those who would like to enjoy a relaxing holiday, a stroll on the Kalkara Promenade and Vittoriosa Waterfront whilst enjoying a choice of top restaurants, bars and a Casino is definitely not worth a miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Del Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing