We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Del Porto
Nearby Hotels
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
British Hotel(Valletta)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$280
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cumberland(Valletta)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Coleridge(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
42
59
23
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
59
23
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracebus stopbreakfast is servedmaltese breadguest houseshort walkplenty of hot waterenjoyed our staybirgualdovallettaguesthouseislandtiles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A very nice bed and breakfast. Aldo the owner is very nice and will help you in anything you want. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and was exactly what you expect but with a great view. Room was spotlessly clean.
Kalkara is a little quiet in March, but there was a hospitable welcome in the couple of bars nearby. Valletta is only 30 minutes away on a bus stop only 200 metres from the Villa Del Porto. After spending some time in the " touristy areas", glad we picked this B&B.
It's real Malta and the views are fantastic.
One tip though, if you hire a car, expect the unexpected, but do it anyway it's a great way to see the wonderful Malta.
Valletta might be the capital city, but was far from hectic after dark, the Waterfront area was a good place to eat out at night, but never busy.
It's a small country but my 4 days wasn't nearly enough to do it justice. Enjoy Malta and do it from the Villa del Porto. It's very good. Thanks Aldo you were a very good host.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melthamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in room 202 beautiful floor huge bed lovely views from the balcony. Yes a little road noise, but nothing much, well worth it for the views. In january we didn,t need mosquito protection or the air conditioner.The en suite was great (also had stunning views) and every thing was cleaned each day by the excellent staff. Tea and coffee making facitilties and a really useful fridge.Malta is so small no where is very far away so staying in this quieter area was perfect for us.The buses are frequent and the drivers very helpful. All maltese people speak English and without fail are helpful and very kind. Museums are between 5 and 10 euro,s each( look for deals).An excellent bed and breakfast at a really good price

Room Tip: book a front room with a balcony early and enjoy superb views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 143snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Two of us stayed in this bed-and-breakfast for a couple of days. The hotel is small, quiet, and near the water, so if you have a room with a view over the water that's a plus. Breakfast was held on the roof of the b-and-b, which gave terrific views. Although the food was nothing to write home about, the area was off the tourist track and so prices in the local shops were much cheaper than you might expect.
Our rooms were kept clean, sleeping was not a problem, the shower in my room was excellent, and we were given keys which allowed us to come and go as we wanted. The staff could not do enough for us.

Altogether, this is a great place to use as a base for exploring Malta.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony where you can see the water.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a great b&b. Very clean and with the right blend of traditional and modern. Aldo is one of the nicest, most accommodating hoteliers we've ever met. The whole staff was great.
There are very comfortable beds, plenty of parking and with a balcony room the views are fantastic. A lovely, continental breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace. And, if you're visiting in the summertime, you'll be happy to know that there is air conditioning. We were very happy to have stayed in Kalkara as opposed to Valetta. It's very easy to get to Valetta from there. We took a water taxi (very cheap - 1.5 euro each).

Room Tip: Book a balcony room if you can. The view of the marina is lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calluna75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First, the location: Kalkara, a nice small city with direct view on Valetta. You can very easily park the car close to the hotel.
Second, the hotel: well located with a nice view on the bay/harbour; pleasant terrace on the roof where breakfast is taken and where you can spare some hours simply having a chat while enjoying the view. The rooms are neat with all comfort equipments and the minibar is quite affordable. Breakfast is simple but nice. All floors are served by a modern lift (very valuable when you carry heavy luggage)
Third, the owner: Aldo, Maltese; really welcoming, charming and pleasant; always at your disposal for a chat or touristic information.
In brief, we spent a great journey in Villa Del Porto and we warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Je R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews