We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
14
8
3
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
8
3
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We stayed here in early August. Had tried to get accommodation with ensuite in Akureyri or the Lake Myvatn area with no luck. Hotel Laugar is a school during the winter months but a more up-market school than the Edda we stayed in. The hotel is very rural. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. There was a bar with happy hour and the food in the restaurant was up-market with an Italian chef. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayednz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Clean rooms. Beds are comfortable if a bit high. No television which makes for a nice change. Wifi was working well. Public swimming pool is very close by. Breakfast was good. Very quiet at night. Ample parking.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bettina266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Great staff who were really helpful and helped us out with a room in the middle of the night because we got into a bit of trouble. Also very friendly staff in the restaurant. Full five stars from us. Thank you!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paradise799699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

There is a nice relaxed feel to this hotel. The setting is beautiful and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful adding to the good atmosphere. We had a really lovely breakfast in the clean bright dining hall.
This hotel was a great find, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my family (from Iceland) stayed one night at Hotel Laugar and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and our room (a triple room) clean and perfectly arranged upon arrival.

We dined at the restaurant and enjoyed a fantastic meal and good selection of wines. The kids loved the spaghetti bolognese from the children's menu. Me and my wife opted for the lamb and the arctic-char, and the apple cake for desert. All very tasty and perfectly prepared and presented.

Afterwards, we went to see the Icelandic award-winning movie "Rams", at the hotel premises. The movie is shown every night (free of charge) - a very neat touch as the film was made close to Laugar. A great movie by the way.

The breakfast in the morning was also good. The wi-fi was free of charge and worked well. The hotel is situated in a beautiful countryside, close to natural gems like Lake Mývatn and waterfall Goðafoss, and the towns of Akureyri and Húsavík where there is ample entertainment to find. There is also a nice swimming-pool in Laugar.

Definately a hotel to recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Departure427739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews