We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We've just spent a wonderful weekend at Netherdene. Very pretty location, lovely decor, extremely friendly and helpful owners. We would definitely recommend and would stay again next time we visit Penrith.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed for a few days and from the moment we parked in the car park we were offered tea or coffee. Felt very at home and relaxed. Nice place to stay with great places to walk nearby. Breakfast superb and lots of everything. I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 day break and was not disappointed. A gem of a B&B in a fabulous location. We stayed in room 5, which was beautifully decorated, warm and cosy. The views from the breakfast room are amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebTJasonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Found this little gem of a place by 'fate' on the Internet.Firstly let me say I didn't know there was two Troutbecks! so check your maps before you go!And you must go if you want a B&B that is comfortable,spotlessly clean,great breakfasts(with stunning views) ,owners that quickly become friends,comfy beds, value for money, I could go on but you just need to go! A big bonus for me is dogs are as welcome as you are, we had room four a ground floor room handy for last night and morning walkies(for your pet I mean!) The pub across the road is fantastic and you can take your beloved pet in with you to eat, the food is excellent, yes a bit pricey but if you value good food you will know what I mean! That is called Troutbeck Inn and booking is advisable before you go, tell them you ave a dog though as those tables are designated.(check the menu on line,Mmmm)! A big thank you to Dean & Steph for a great couple of days, we will be back soon.And if you are looking for New Year's Eve these guys are open and at great rates!See you there!!! Alison & Greg & Mollie(the dog, it's a woof from her!)xxx

Room Tip: Room four is on the ground floor , great if you have a dog. The en- suite is small but perfectly fun...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife, my daughter and I have just returned from a bit of a UK road trip and stopped at Netherdene as our first stop en-route to Scotland. We had originally planned the first stop as a one-night stop-over to break up the travel but on reading the other reviews decided to make it 2 nights. We were not disappointed.

Dean and Steph really are the best hosts and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The location is superb for Keswick and the Northern Lake District. The breakfast is to die for and served in a lovely room overlooking the gardens and the vistas are magnificent.

I'm not going to say anymore - there's a lot more I could say (all positive) but the best option would be to go and experience it for yourselves! - Enjoy.

And thanks to both Dean and Steph for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaldEagle1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have just returned home having stayed for five nights at this excellent B & B.

Netherdene is easy to find, just off the A66, but even though we had a room at the front of the house there was no noise from the road. Our room was lovely, very clean with very, very comfortable beds with good quality linen and an endless supply of hot water. You certainly will not be cold if you stay here!

Breakfast is in the sun room - views of the fells competing with the garden birds & bantams - make for a very relaxing start to the day.

You would be hard pressed to find hosts as welcoming and helpful as Dean & Step, which for first time visitors to the Lake District was invaluable. They certainly went out of their way to help us and the advise & suggestions they made for us were perfectly matched to our requirements which has not always happened in the past!

This is what a B & B should be and very rarely is...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SP1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have had a wonderful stay for three nights at the netherdene, couldn't fault it, dean and steph were great hosts, nothing was too much trouble, even providing coffee for us on our return, when we brought sandwiches back in the afternoon , in the lovely sun room!! We met some lovely people also, and spent the evenings in the trout beck inn opposite with them. We took our Labrador and she was made welcome also. Would defiantly return for another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polopatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.5 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
361 reviews
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,072 reviews
0.0 mi away
Troutbeck Inn
Troutbeck Inn
#20 of 65 in Penrith
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Netherdene, Troutbeck CA11 0SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range: £67 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom Bed & Breakfast situated in its own extensive garden in the North Lakes. 4 miles north of Ullswater, between Keswick and Penrith situated just off the A66. Ideally located for walks up and around Blencathra and Helvellyn areas in a semi rural location with the benefit of the local inn opposite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast Troutbeck, UK - Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing