We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked this B&B at last minute
very pleased with my choice lovely little place just off the A66
rooms very clean and tidy
choices for breakfast and food were excellent
service was great
Dean was an exceptional host and nothing was to much trouble
from making sandwiches for a packed lunch to filling your flask in a morning
his local knowledge was a real help in planning days out couldnt thank him enough
Lovely pub across the road (Troutbeck inn ) for your evening meal if you didnt want to go out
food is really excellent a la carte and recommended
shame they only take bookings till 8.30 and little chance of a drink after 10.30
on the whole a great place to stay
only slight critisism is the place could do with a little more room in the shower and toilet areas but apart from that is great value for money and worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
147
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights at Netherdene. Excellent service. Very clean and comfy rooms. Fantastic breakfast. Ideal location few miles either way between Penrith and Keswick. There is a great pub across the road that has excellent food. Would highly recommend this gem of a B&B.

Room Tip: Our room was room 2. Large comfy bed. Nice view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukiDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have just spent 4 days at Netherdene. Dean and Steph are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Perfectly placed if you are into walking, we did Helvelyn and High Street, which are just 15 mins down the road. Would recommend to anyone contemplating a stay in the Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed a couple of nights to break journey up to Scotland. Steph and Dean are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The place was spotless and the food good. Very friendly ,relaxed atmosphere and I heartily recommend the place. They booked our evening meal at the Troutbeck Inn across the road which, apart from the "Fawlty Towers" service was also excellent.Very flexible with times and very welcoming .As a matter of further interest, Dean was at pains to emphasize that they are "Biker friendly" too. As a keen motorcyclist this is encouraging.I very often find quite a differnt response when I arrive on a motorcycle as to when I arrive in a Mercedes-Benz or BMW ! Not here. Will definitely be using the place again.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be of a similar high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishill498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing but a hearty recommendation. Friendly, relaxed and an excellent location for the M6 and for venturing into The Lakes also. Ullswater, Keswick and Penrith are all 15/20 minutes away. Wonderful relaxed atmosphere with excellent hosts. Just the job!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GovagYessir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and its one of the best holiday experiences we have had. Steph and Dean cant do enough for you, even minding our grumpy baby so we could have our first meal together since she was born (she is 7 months!) Shared areas are nice and the garden is lovely. They are always available to give loads of advice on the area which led to us having a great day out in Keswick and around the Lake. Ideally situated for both Keswick and Windermere which are both only a short drive away. Cant recommend it highly enough and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

what a fab place to stay, nothing is too much trouble for Dean and Steph, a fab welcome and this really felt like a home from home. The Troutbeck Inn across the way does a lovely evening meal too and the table had already been booked for us when we arrived by Dean & Steph. The pub gets busy so it was definitely a blessing we had been advised to do this. Breakfast this morning cooked to order was brilliant too! Will definitely stay here again wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.5 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
4.0 mi away
Lowthwaite B & B
Lowthwaite B & B
#3 of 61 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Netherdene, Troutbeck CA11 0SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom Bed & Breakfast situated in its own extensive garden in the North Lakes. 4 miles north of Ullswater, between Keswick and Penrith situated just off the A66. Ideally located for walks up and around Blencathra and Helvellyn areas in a semi rural location with the benefit of the local inn opposite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast Troutbeck, UK - Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing