We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun”

Rookin House Activity Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Troutbeck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established for over 20 years Rookin House has an amazing range of activities at competitive prices.We can offer activities for individuals, families and large groups including stag& hen and corporate.We are situated half way between Keswick and Penrith (9miles from each) and 4 miles from Ullswater.The mountain range of Blencathra provides a stunning back drop for the centre.Activities include Horse Riding, Pony Trekking, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Air Rifles, Archery, Indoor Karting, Human Bowling, Zip Wire, Assault Course, Argo Cat Off Road Experience, Dakar 4 X 4 and a Stalwart Army Truck.Pre-booking advisable.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great place, really nice and friendly staff! Well organised and well run! Whilst we visited the centre we done horse riding, quad bikes and clay pigeon shooting! All activities were really fun and the staff that took us out we're very friendly, professional and overall very helpful. This centre made our holiday even better as there is plenty to offer at great prices! Would definitely visit again, well worth it and great experience! Becky took us out horse riding and really made us feel comfortable and at ease as we was very nervous, very chatty throughout our ride and was really nice! The owner had taken us out for the Clay pigeon shooting and quad bikes and was really helpful and overall and really nice man, was very chatty and really made us feel at home! Great place and would certainly recommend it! :)
Joanne & Greame, Liverpool

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    44
    4
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

As group of 10 on a stag weekend we did the clay shooting in the morning and karting in the afternoon both of which we all enjoyed even if some of us were not so good.
When we did the shooting everything was explained in a professional and entertaining manner which put us all at ease.
All in all excellent day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we were after. Very good”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great place. Well run by nice people.
I have done clay pigeon shooting twice before and this was good.
My girlfriend had not done it and enjoyed it and would go again.
Many different activities on offer and all look good. john c and laura from suffolk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank johnafcsuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Activity Centre!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rookin House Activity Centre is very well run. I went horse riding and the staff that took us out were chatty and professional. I would just like to say that Rachel, who made sure that I had all the equipment that I needed for the hack, has a gift for teaching, a compassion and kindness that radiates towards people, I was very nervous and she made me feel completely at ease with the horses. My son went on the quad bikes in the afternoon and enjoyed this activity immensely.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MRS J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

26 of us stayed in the self catering barn on 24th-26th may. The accommodation was ideal with good facilities and fairly modern. Would benefit from more mirrors near plugs (a girlie request!) and also needs some blinds on the sky light windows in the bedrooms as the sun rose at 5am and woke everyone up! The whole process from booking to arriving was very good, staff helped to plan a full day of activities. We did quad biking, Argo cat off roading, archery, assault course and raft building. Would highly recommend each activity though the assault course wasn't easy! (Many bruises gained!)

We met the owner who is a very pleasant bloke and friendly with all of our hens! We were even invited to feed the baby lambs on our final morning!


Excellent weekend! Many thanks to all involved from booking to activities. We especially loved the lovely pregnant Irish instructor!!! What a delight! She made our raft building so much fun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 86MissM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rookin House Activity Centre also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Rookin House Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing