We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb food and a lovely welcome”
Review of The Elsted Inn

The Elsted Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Elsted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcoming, family-friendly pub and dining room offering seasonally inspired food, prepared to order using the best of local ingredients-dog friendly. Bespoke meals prepared for all dietary requests, as long as we have the ingredients.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb food and a lovely welcome”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We visited today with a Christening party and enjoyed the most superb lunch. Brilliantly cooked, beautifully flavoured and locally sourced - it really was a wonderful treat... And all topped off with a warm and friendly welcome. We'll be back. Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    22
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Splendid and lovely characters throughout staff, pub and locals”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had our meal on a Friday evening, expecting it to be busy our food didn't have a long wait.
From the menu you could see that all the meals were freshly prepared and if any dietary requirement weren't met Lisa and the staff were more than welcome to help.
The steaks are to die for and for the money are well worth it! The mussels can be served as a main or a starter size and are presented in a beautiful manner by the staff along with finger bowls and crusty bread.
My other half tried the nachos and were well worth the money for a rather large portion! The lamb racks are cooked to how you'd like it and is not a problem as to how you have it cooked.
The deserts and ice creams and all homemade which adds to the typical home-warming pub which you expect to find.
Overall the staff were brilliant and Malcolm and Lisa (landlord and landlady), make the whole experience wonderful.
We will definitely be back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyGoodmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gourmet meal in country pub”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Elsted Inn has always been everyone's idea of the perfect country pub, and under its latest management, it's now even better. The food wouldn't disgrace a top restaurant at twice the price. The American lady chef, who cooks every dish from scratch, comes round and discusses the menu individually, and will adapt any dish to suit the diner's requirements, preference or fads. A joy to visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neets22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shooting lunch”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We did not get there until 1600 and were welcomed with open arms,dogs were brought in by the fire and we had 3 roasts to choose from; they even made a special request, yorkshire puds! Good selection of beers,wine, and good food, in a charming atmosphere.
Even the dogs, by now dry, were given dog biscuits. Could not have been bettered.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent lunch with great service”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We found the Elsted Inn after a quick search on Trip Advisor for a mid-way meeting point for a family lunch. The welcome was warm, the service excellent and the food really tasty. What more could you ask for?!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elsted Inn also viewed

 
Midhurst, West Sussex
 

Been to The Elsted Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing