We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute [--] - Pitch Your Tent Down the Road”
Review of Madura Roadhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madura Roadhouse
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute [--] - Pitch Your Tent Down the Road”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The grottiest, most overpriced motel I have ever stayed in. Although the sheets and pillow cases were clean, the pillows were stinky, I had a look under pillow case and they were putered. Cold shower, which leaked all over the floor.
When we asked if we could use the BBQ or camp kitchen in the caravan park behind the motel which they run, they said 'there is none, you have to eat in the restuarant'. We used our gas cooker on the tailgate of our ute outside our room.
Next night we stayed in our tent at a free roadside camp - much better option!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillianFromHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
26
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at Madura Roadhouse for one night August 2013. The staff were very friendly and the food very good. They have almost anything on the menu. Fresh vegetables, fish, etc. delivered every Friday.
The room clean but worn out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A touch of renovation could do wonders to this place. The basic structures seemed sound enough, but the carpet in our room was threadbare and the curtains literally moth-eaten. The whole effect was as worn out and tired a hotel/motel as I have ever stayed in. And not that cheap either.

Food is also provided onsite, and the meats were fine, but the veges of the boiled to death variety and pretty unappealing. I would say stay somewhere else, but from memory this was one of the better places along the Nullarbor route.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madura hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

You can't be too fussy with accommodation when driving across the Nullarbor so Madura ticked all the boxes...just. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The meal in the restaurant was very good (I ordered roast chicken, my partner had a curry). The rooms very basic and dated. Bathroom clean considering the age of the building. Hanging at the door of the motel was a stinking tin for cigarette butts - if you are a non smoker (which most people are) this is a real turn off. Up early and on the road, never to be back this way again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toorust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was our second stop on the Nullarbor, about 400km from the Nullarbor Roadhouse. Set in mallee woodland, gravel sites ( and fair enough considering where it is located ), amenities OK,friendly and efficient staff and quite a reasonable meal at the restaurant .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

The sign out the front says Oasis and I suppose it is an Oasis in the middle of nowhere. And to be absolutely honest it is the best around. I have read the other reviews but my experience was different, yes it is rough and ready and overpriced but guess what there is nothing else around for miles. The rooms are dated and very basic but I found then clean and tidy. The staff at the Roadhouse are very friendly and I had some interesting conversations with them, which made the stay more enjoyable. I had a very nice dinner in the restaurant as well. The only thing which was a pain for me personally was having to walk up the hill to get Telstra phone service. This motel is the best around, come on people get into the spirit of the outback it is in middle of the Nullarbor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nerney1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I went about locking all the windows so I could buy a feed at the restraunt and then found out the only thing to lock was the front door. Went to the reception and asked for a room I could lock as I didn't want my gear stolen. The manager told me to put up with it as I will be sleeping so no one will take my stuff. As no cooking is allowed in the rooms I needed to eat in their 'restraunt' and so I wouldn't always be there, which I explained to the manager. I asked again for a room I could lock as there were quite a few vacant rooms left going by the keys hanging on the wall behind him. He said, "No" and I told him that I don't want a room that couldn't be locked. I was given my refund of $115 for the nights accomadation ($10 for key deposit) and was told to find a rest area on the highway somewhere. After packing my gear back in the car I went and asked to buy some fuel to which the manager replied, "The pumps are closed for the night and I will not open them till the morning". Take my advice and plan your trip better by not staying anywhere near this place !!! After talking to a truck driver at the top of the range 5kms away, he let me sit on his tail (to avoid k'roos etc.) till I made it to Cocklebiddy almost an hour away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FredE681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madura
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Esperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acclaim Gateway Caravan Park
0.0 mi away
Mary's Farm Cottages
Mary's Farm Cottages
#1 of 3 in Lake Grace
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Discovery Parks - Kalgoorlie
Discovery Parks - Kalgoorlie
#1 of 10 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madura Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madura Roadhouse

Property: Madura Roadhouse
Address: Eyre Highway, Madura, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Madura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Madura
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing