We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of nowhere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Madura Roadhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madura Roadhouse
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've read the other reviews of the "Madura Oasis Resort & Roadhouse" and thought I should add my 2 bobs worth.
After leaving Port Augusta in the morning and travelling for over 1100 km's in 12 1/2 hours Madura was indeed an oasis!
We booked a room and proceeded to the bar verandah for a cool drink.
Madura has a population of 8 & they all live and work at the roudhouse/resort.
The staff are friendy & the reataurant meals are exceptional.
Although the motel beds are comfortable and the bathrooms clean the rooms are badly in need of a makeover to replace worn carpets and tatty curtains.
But.....after a few hours sitting on the verandah enjoying a cool drink & chatting with both the locals and other travellers,the condition of the rooms fades into obscurity.
all in all,if you need a place to rest,or have a feed,I suggest you mark this one down as a must stop along the way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
24
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We travel newcastle to perth. We have 2 kids 2 and 5 yr old girls. We stayed one night had dinner in the restaurant girls loved the eggs and baked beans( kids menu) it was wonderful they had something different from just chips and nuggets. The staff were great. Room was small but considering where you are it was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The grottiest, most overpriced motel I have ever stayed in. Although the sheets and pillow cases were clean, the pillows were stinky, I had a look under pillow case and they were putered. Cold shower, which leaked all over the floor.
When we asked if we could use the BBQ or camp kitchen in the caravan park behind the motel which they run, they said 'there is none, you have to eat in the restuarant'. We used our gas cooker on the tailgate of our ute outside our room.
Next night we stayed in our tent at a free roadside camp - much better option!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillianFromHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madura hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at Madura Roadhouse for one night August 2013. The staff were very friendly and the food very good. They have almost anything on the menu. Fresh vegetables, fish, etc. delivered every Friday.
The room clean but worn out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

A touch of renovation could do wonders to this place. The basic structures seemed sound enough, but the carpet in our room was threadbare and the curtains literally moth-eaten. The whole effect was as worn out and tired a hotel/motel as I have ever stayed in. And not that cheap either.

Food is also provided onsite, and the meats were fine, but the veges of the boiled to death variety and pretty unappealing. I would say stay somewhere else, but from memory this was one of the better places along the Nullarbor route.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

You can't be too fussy with accommodation when driving across the Nullarbor so Madura ticked all the boxes...just. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The meal in the restaurant was very good (I ordered roast chicken, my partner had a curry). The rooms very basic and dated. Bathroom clean considering the age of the building. Hanging at the door of the motel was a stinking tin for cigarette butts - if you are a non smoker (which most people are) this is a real turn off. Up early and on the road, never to be back this way again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toorust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was our second stop on the Nullarbor, about 400km from the Nullarbor Roadhouse. Set in mallee woodland, gravel sites ( and fair enough considering where it is located ), amenities OK,friendly and efficient staff and quite a reasonable meal at the restaurant .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madura
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kalgoorlie
Best Western Hospitality Inn Kal...
#7 of 15 in Kalgoorlie-Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acclaim Gateway Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mary's Farm Cottages
Mary's Farm Cottages
#1 of 3 in Lake Grace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
BIG4 Emu Beach Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Acclaim Pine Grove Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madura Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madura Roadhouse

Property: Madura Roadhouse
Address: Eyre Highway, Madura, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Madura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Madura
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing