We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awful”
Review of The Knot

The Knot
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Knot
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently hired the function room for our wedding reception however they ruined our day by being extremely unprofessional. The rooms were in a state stains on carpets, smelly and dusty, some staff were very good but management were arrogant and unhelpful, the food was poor and cheap also guest were shocked at bar prices and the drinks were not what was expected, they didn't give us what we asked for or paid for also they were hassling us for the balance and other silly things on our special day avoid at all cost!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimlaa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Knot has fairly new owners who are in the process of updating (badly needed) mattresses.
We had a very good fish meal in the Bar,the staff were all very attentive and friendly.It is only 80 metres approx. from a very
nice beach.A good base for exploring the surrounding coastline.
It has ample Free car parking.We would visit again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This B&B is nice...the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and the food is good. No..it is not a 4/5 star hotel...but it is a great base for a beach holiday in Westgate-on-sea. True...the staff could be a little more professional/presentable...but generally they were very friendly and helpful. The garden is VERY child-friendly - so a good place to stay with children. There is plenty of parking spaces. All in all - a lovely B&B for a good break!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jebskent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I made a big mistake of paying for our room before viewing it , this was recommended by friend of friends , after walking through busy bar we were taken round back to untidy room to pay for Room , and then taken upstairs to the room we booked , the hallway and stairway smelt damp and musty and there are major stains all over the carpet , so I did not give much hope for the room itself , once in room the same smell greeted us , toilet light did not work , the carpet looked about 20 years old , and the bed was rickety and old , I would be ashamed to let this room for £5 let alone the £80 I paid , I can not understand where the positive reviews of this place have come from , please do yourself a favour and avoid at all costs

Room Tip: Choose another b and b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 480stephenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked in for two nights, but the music from the bar under the room didn't stop till 12.30am, the sound of the bass speaker booming into the bedroom, and the noise from bar customers continued even longer. Ended staying for one night only, and went elsewhere for our second night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Have stayed at the 'The Knot' on three consecutive weekends during July, enjoying the hot weather. Stayed first weekend on my own, and the following two with a friend, also one Friday there was a live band and following Saturday a 'Soul Night' both nights thoroughly enjoyable, nice atmosphere, and people attending really friendly. I found the staff really nice, helpful and friendly. The rooms although fairly basic were really clean, and bedding new, and white fluffy towels. Breakfast area really nice and continental breakfast excellent. Will definitely stay again.Christine

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank christineW202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

The garden was lovely for children and as well as i could seat and have my meal my child could play , the dinner was very yummy , the bar was very good and enough space and easy access to move around go out for smoke and come back as had two entrance ,
The room very very clean and new
Easy access to the beach and parking space

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knot

Address: 20 Beach Road, Westgate-on-Sea CT8 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Westgate-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westgate-on-Sea
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knot 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Knot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing