We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good surf, great food & grand hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midigama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Surf Inn
Ranked #1 of 32 Midigama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good surf, great food & grand hospitality”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My wife and i spent a week at Plantation Surf Inn in February this year as we found out about it here on TA. Chathura and his parents made our stay very enjoyable and the food was top notch tucker. A good variable menu with something to please everyone.
We decided on the big room upstairs which had nice light and even a glimpse of the waves from the outside balcony, which was nice for a surf check early morning.
Plantation Surf Inn is definately a step above the rest of the accomodation in Midigama and the food is the best in the area.
If your a surfer or a traveller wanting to relax and unwind then contact Chathura for a chilled out stay on the South coast of Sri Lanka.

Phone - +94 77 643 8912
Web - http://plantationsurfinn.com

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navig8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    32
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
94
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I spent one month with 4 of my friends at plantation surf inn during january-february 2013 and that was one perfect month. We were supposed to go around and see other places but we just enjoyed our time so much at chatus place so we just decided to stay there. Food was really good, chatu and his whole family were so nice and helpful to us. Always taking care of us :) Location is good, nearby surfbreaks. Rooms are nice and clean, pretty basic. But mostly important was the atmosphere and the people. Can't wait to go back! Chatu see you next year.

Thank you again from Finland!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We were two families staying at Chaturas place for 6 days. We loved it! The kids didn't want to leave, Chatu and his family were so kind to them so they felt like kings and queens. We had two rooms next to eachother. One of the rooms was big enough, the other a bit too small for a family with 4 members. Superduper food and an always helpfull attitude. We started our visit to Sri Lanka at this place and it was a good "door-opener" to the this countrys culture. Eventhough we stayed at other places the rest of our trip we always stayed in contact with Chatu as he kept arraging excursions we wanted to do. He was the best guide. Nice yard, lots of wild animals, close to beaches and brakes, a bit away from the busy road (the house is located on the other side of the road than the beach), TukTuk-distance to loads of good excursions. Very affordable. We are longing to seeing him again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParLut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Guest_House, Owner at Plantation Surf Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2015
hi dear friend

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review! It really makes it easy for people to come and stay with us. Its great to also hear the warm words about our staff as we believe we have some of the best people part of the plantation surf inn team. I am so glad you had an amazing time with us - please come back and visit soon! because we need big smile again !!

Warm regards
plantation family !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

If you want to surf around the Midigama area this is the place to be! Chathu and his family are probably the kindest hosts you will ever meet. Rooms are fairly basic but clean. I had a wonderful stay there with my wife and two kids for a few days and I would love to go back. Thanks for a great time Chathu!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoulMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Hi, i was at Plantation last week, it was very very nice, clean, cheap and tasty food.
It's very good to the beach ( just on the other side of the road ), good waves ( every day - at onseason ).
The hostes are very nice and friendly people !
Have a good luck.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Peaceful guesthouse set away from the noise of the main road, with a large and lush garden that's a nice place to just relax. The curry is one of the best we had in Sri Lanka, and the tables are communal style so you meet and chat with the other guests. It has a real home-y and family house vibe. Great location for surfers, with several good breaks just a short walk away. Chatu is super friendly, accommodating and helpful. Great experience overall at Plantation Surf Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingandtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a great time in Plantation Surf Inn and met some wonderful people there.
The family is very warm and pleasant, their food is amazing! I definitely recommend this place, it has very relaxed and friendly atmosphere with lush tropical garden, delicious, fresh food and honest people! The owners do their best and will not disappoint you in any way, they work very hard to satisfy your needs.
The place is just across the street to plantation surf spot and there are more than 4 surf spots in walking distance from their house. Perfect location if you are a surfer!
We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K0stja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midigama
0.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
0.1 mi away
Cheeky Monkey Guesthouse / Surf Camp / Surf Shop / Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Lion's Rest
Lion's Rest
#1 of 95 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Surf Inn

Property: Plantation Surf Inn
Address: 87 Miles Post | Southern Province, Midigama, Matara 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Midigama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Midigama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 6 best bed rooms in total . 2 rooms are downstairs separate (6 x 6 feet bed ) , 1 rooms is inside house (6 x 6 feet bed) 1 double room ( 6x4 feet bed ) 2 rooms are upstairs (one family and twin ) with one of open sky bathroom and view of sea from balcony .the rooms are basic and all the room with own attached bathroom . it is very clean and specious and work perfectly within this tranquil paradise. 2 x bigger bed in family room ( 3 or 4 person) with en suite bathrooms and 2 type of shower(no hot water although it' never cold enough here to need warm water)also has a mosquito net and overhead fan. when you book through web pages automatically book the twin room ( possible couple or 2 people ) with en suite bathroom. In case you wish to have the more space for family or crew let us know and we will handle it. Also if you are solo traveler contact with us to take discount or single room. The prices are include breakfast . it mean we offer FREE BREAKFAST with each room . it is though menu . you will be able to choose what you need on morning ( 7.00 am to 10.30 am) some of traditional cuisine need to order in advance. because it will be take few hours prepare. The house has been modernized and renovated after the tsunami as guest house in 2009 and new expansion have been added. it is in between LAZY LEFT point and PLANTATION surf points. It is an ideal place for either surfers(any level) or non surfers the PLANTATION SURF POINT is awesome footers paradise in down south Sri Lanka. Across the street there are more than four surf breaks, where some of the best waves in Sri Lanka roll in..(Ram's right ,Lazy left ,lazy right Coconut point , jungle beach, Secret point) Weligama is a BEACH BREAK - 3 km away and 5 minute by tuk tuk .this is ideal for beginners and intermediate surfers. Kabalana is a sandy POINT -- also 3 km away from here Koggala point , Talpe , Unawatuna and Mirissa , Madiha , Matara ,Dondra Talalla and more . The home provides exceptional sun set views that can be enjoyed frequently. Laying out on the quite garden , lazing in the hammock surfing the sound of birds in the garden sprawled across our lounge chair. Perfect chill out , cuisine , drinks,coffee (espresso ,cafe latte, cappuccino and More ) swimming in the beach , sun bathe under shade or surfing We are here to serve you and to make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one. also always ready to give our support and help you any time you may need it. Check-in time from 12.00 noon Check-out time from 11.00 am we offer for you : surf lessons WITH GEARS/surf boards also ding repairs scooters or speed bike for rental when you plan to see more of cost line hiring Tuk Tuk or taxi with driver OR without Adventure WATER SPORT YOGA LESSON with professional instructor and Vippassana meditation programmed fishing ( deep figshing or lifting fishing ) diving & snorkeling enthusiast. Ayurveda massage(spa) board safari in river cooking lessons for preparing rice and curry is possible. Attractions and distance snake farm (15 km) & Sinharaja rain forest (75 km ), water blow in Hummanaya(50 km) Mulkirigala ancient temple (50 km), Galle or Matara fort and museum.(20 km each) Kanneliya forest (50 km) , Excursions to local sights like the Many local temple Turtle hatchery in Habaraduwa & Weherahena temple is 30 km away . The wildlife sanctuaries of the Yala and Udawalawe National Parks is 112 km away.. Ussangoda in Ambalantota is a panoramic view of the beach and the sea is 75 km away . Holy city of Kataragama and Tissa is 128 km away . Tea plantation , Up country tours ( Kandy / Ella / Nuwara eliya / Sigiriya / Dambulla ) and MORE excursions where you are interested to visit !! Other attractions are : Wewurukannala Wihara(under ground) , Dondra temple and Light house ,Bird island and cinnmon island , hiking ,cycling around village... Round tour and day tripe whale & dolphin watching tour Gems & Jewelry factory Batik factory Internet Internet is available and it is wireless & WIFI You can use my laptop computer to access internet free of cost (if yo(URL HIDDEN)do not have equipment) our Wifi is through out and can be used in the room or lounges , in the hammock or end of the garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantation Surf Inn Sri Lanka/Midigama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing