We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing cousy guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midigama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Surf Inn
Ranked #1 of 34 Midigama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

during my 3,5 week holiday I spent 3 weeks in CHATTU's guesthouse. He and his familiy as well, are so friendly. The accomodation is clean and offers a perfect location for the southern part of sri lanka. If you want to surf or do some day trips, plantation surf inn is the best choice.The food is delicious. And during diner time you meet a lot of other travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regi9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Guest_House, Owner at Plantation Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

my dear friend ..

mostly happy for you have selected my place as your accommodation provider.
and you stayed and enjoyed with our crew as family members.
you were very valuable member for us ..

thank you for you have put awesome review about plantation surf inn.
looking forward to see you again with smile !!

cheers
chathu !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Chatthura was an amazing host, always there to help and guide me through my stay. The house is very lovely, him and his father maintain it and keep it clean for the guests. Chatu's father is an amazing cook...the value and quality were truly amazing(make sure your try they pancakes! They are the best!). For surfers, you have a few surf breaks in walking distance from the house, you have plantation, rams, and lazy left surf breaks. The good thing about the house is that you can walk across the street and check the breaks from the road before you head out. Loved the place, and would defiantly stay again. Amazing host!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jomart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf_Guest_House, Owner at Plantation Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

my dear friend ..

mostly happy for you have selected my place as your accommodation provider.
and you stayed and enjoyed with our crew as family members.
you were very valuable member for us ..

thank you for you have put awesome review about plantation surf inn.
looking forward to see you again with smile !!

cheers
chathu !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Such a good spot - clean and comfortable with a few guest rooms. Chathu and his family were perfect and looked after us the second we got there (with a giant snapper that a guest caught that day…). Sorting us out with the cheapest transport, journeys, best surf spots. Food was home cooked and delicious. You'd be a fool to miss this place if you go to the area. Seconds from the beach and waves and the jungle right behind you. It'd be the first spot we go to if we went back to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We wanted to book a room but during our stay there werent rooms available. We have rented with Chatu our scootter and went to dinner 3 nights (we were 5 days in midigama)
Best free wifi on the area, very friendly staff. They have the best chicken burguer at Sri Lanka, we have taken twice.
Chatu works very hard and all day long but eventhoug never lost his smile and has a minute to talk with guest.
Thank you very much for your help and for telling us a little of your history. Best regards!

Room Tip: No rooms available. We have been only at dinner time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed there one night, because of misunderstanding with our booking. The rooms are clean and nice, but no luxury. Good quality for price. Food was excellent and the dinner was like a family gathering. Chatu was helpful and tried to find other accommodation for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've had 3 weeks to spend in Sri Lanka and I did only pre book Chathu's guesthouse for 7 days but in the end i've stayed there for the whole time because:
-4 surfspots are withing walking distance (4mins), 2 are directly in front of the guesthouse
-the food is INCREDIBLE, everything is fresh and you can choose from a big variety on the menu or create your own dishes
-the service is the best I've ever experienced, Chathu and his family will do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible
-Chathu always knows what to do/what places/activities to check out and he always knows the answer if you have a question about the Sri Lankan culture
you live like a king pretty much

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We'd toured around the south coast and found Midigama to be amazing, its just one road with 4 great waves then 20 rupees for a bus up to the beach break. The rice and curry here is really good with most of the guests sitting at a table together. The atmosphere is great with everyone sitting in the garden during the day when not surfing and people from other accommodation would come to chill too. Chathu was always really helpful and do his best to make sure everyone was happy!

Room Tip: Try to get an up stairs room as you get a bit more privacy and can come and go as you please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teapotsandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midigama
3 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#2 of 14 in Weligama
423 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
0 mi away
Jayanthi Surf Dreams
Jayanthi Surf Dreams
#12 of 34 in Midigama
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Midigama Holiday Inn
Midigama Holiday Inn
#5 of 34 in Midigama
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Surf Inn

Address: 87 Miles Post | Southern Province, Midigama, Matara 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Midigama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Midigama
Price Range: £12 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 6 best bed rooms in total whole apartment. 4 rooms are downstairs separately and 2 rooms are upstairs with one of open sky bathroom and view of sea from balcony . Rooms are standard / basic type. all the room with private en suite bathroom . it is very clean and specious work perfectly within this tranquil paradise. 2 type of shower(no hot water although it' never cold enough here to need warm water)also has a mosquito net and overhead fan. In case you wish to have the more space for family or crew let us know and we will handle it. The prices with not include breakfast . it mean we offer breakfast separate. it is though menu and you will be able to choose what you need on morning it is in between lazy left point and plantation surf points. The plantation surf point is awesome footers paradise in down south Sri Lanka.Across the street there are more than four surf breaks, where some of the best waves in Sri Lanka roll in..(Ram's right , Lazy left , lazy right , Coconut ) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantation Surf Inn Sri Lanka/Midigama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing