We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Palenque”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palenque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palenque
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Pitillal, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, MX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Palenque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Read a few of the other reviews and I couldn't disagree more. We spent 7 days at the hotel and I found the staff to be extremely helpful. The rooms were not fancy, but clean, air-conditioned, good wakeup service so we could catch our 6AM tours, view of the Town Plaza (Our room) cable TV and right on the town plaza and a block from 2 good, inexpensive restaurants. Was there for the last night of the Mexican Independence Day and the plaza entertainment was great. Maybe it was the time of year (Mid-September) and maybe I am easy to please, but at $550 pesos for 2 people, I was pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
18
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

To begin with, they hadn't registered our reservation when we arrived and we know of more people who've had the same problem here. The staff were unhelpful, specially because they don't seem to have any power of decision but only take orders from people above who never show. Very overpriced (M$900 for an room that is in urgent renovation need), noisy, windows were sealed so it gets very warm and air conditioned is so old and loud that you really don't wanna turn it on...
Theen they lied about having rained the day before to excuse that the pool was under maintenance and we couldn't use it, we couldn't enjoy our breakfast because we were not "on the list" etc. Seriously, don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palenque hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We arrived after 12 hrs of travel, during holy week,
Issues:
Reception clerk tried to charge $1,000 MXP per night per room, when outside the published rate was $950.00
Beds are hard and A/C are old hence noisy and leaking, expect the nerve wrecking dripping from the unit above, we were so tired we didn't bother
Staff gave impression of being too busy and being concerned in being bossy
Pros: Pool is acceptable, Restaurant is ok, breakfast is included: Coffee, Toast and fruit.
The hotel only had one night available, luckly we spend the rest of our stay at the Hotel La Croix, Better beds, newer A/C efficient and quiet, Cheaper rates, buffet breakfast for $80 MXP, better that the "Breakfast Included" at Palenque Hotel. Try Hotel La Croix first. Stay at Palenque only if all other options are not available

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabrerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Do NOT stay here. The rooms are aweful, we booked 12 bed dorm, and prisoners would of been shocked at the state.

We werent given a key to our room, were told to use bathrooms a level down in a half clean room.

Staff took our bags to look after, demanded a ticket on our return. We hadnt been given one, yet they still went n got our bags! Why the fuss then?

Do yourselves a favour n book a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1ck_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights. But after 1 night we asked for our money back! The rooms are old, The airco makes a lot of noise and The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. You Pay to much for this old place! Please Find Some other hotel even for One night!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anoes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I reserved a room on this hotel's website and received a confirmation e-mail, which stated that they would be in contact with me to confirm the reservation. Never heard from them, so I called the hotel to confirm. They said they had no record of my reservation, even when I gave the confirmation number from the e-mail. They said that they had no availability for the nights I had reserved.

I found the hotel on another booking site, and it showed that they did have availability, so I booked it through that site, paid a $22 deposit, and received a confirmation e-mail. Later, when I called the hotel to confirm, they AGAIN said that they had no record of my new reservation, and that they had no availability for those nights. Now I was out a reservation AND $22 non-refundable deposit. On top of it, their website was out for a week, with a message saying their account was suspended for violations.

It all seems pretty shady. Stay away from this place!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you be need somewhere to feel at home between trips to the jungle or the ruins or are waiting for a bus, this is the place. It's a little more than a basic hotel (500 pesos- about £25) BUT it i totally worth it. The staff are extremely helpful and the pool is great. OK, the shower could do with updating and the food wasn't top-notch, but it's not a problem. Highly recommended if you are travelling alone. Room is large and the lights are actually bright enough to see by! (not usual in Mexico)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themiddlemoffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.2 mi away
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
#9 of 34 in Palenque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Palenque
Hotel Plaza Palenque
#21 of 34 in Palenque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maya Rue
Maya Rue
#16 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Canada Internacional
Hotel Canada Internacional
#20 of 34 in Palenque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xibalba
Hotel Xibalba
#10 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Exxpres
Hotel La Quinta Exxpres
#26 of 34 in Palenque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palenque

Property: Hotel Palenque
Address: Avenida Central Oriente (5 de Mayo) # 15, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palenque 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we count on an excellent service of lodging that will totally please our guests; The main purpose of the hotel, is to offer to our guests one complete attention, excellent prices, tranquillity, comfort and all the amenities that we must available to do of its visit in Palenque, an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing