We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful and relaxing place to stay in hot and humid Palenque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A wonderful and relaxing place to stay in hot and humid Palenque”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This small boutique hotel fully deserves its high Tripadvisor ratings. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the grounds are extensive and delightful, with a lagoon and small waterfall-fed pool lovely for soaking and relaxing in the heat.

Raphael the owner was always friendly and helpful. When we had a difficult experience with a full day trip to the Mayan sites of Yaxchilan and Bonampak (multiple van breakdowns) Raphael helped sooth us and arranged a partial refund from the local tourist company that arranged the trip.

This is clearly the best place to stay if you're visiting Palenque.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    34
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
165
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed at Piedre dr Agua in Merida and loved it so when we went to Palenque we stayed there as well ..for the first night;-) unfortunately the cleanliness and the service as well as accommodations were not nearly on par..even for a place in the jungle. The next day we checked in to Quinta Chanabnal and were VERY pleasantly surprised! Every aspect of this hotel is deluxe..the beds are wonderful, AC in every room, everything clean and in working order or beyond! Beautiful landscaping and pools and the service was over the top terrific! I generally do not like food at hotels but once again at Chanabnal we were astounded!! Delicious huge portions and fair prices! Between the 3 staff memebers I met and the owner, there were at least 4 languages spoken fluently English, Spanish, German and Italian! If you are really lucky the owner Raphael will be there as he is an expert in Mayan hieroglyphics and just a fascinating guy!

Room Tip: hard to say ..we looked at all of them.i think you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a well located hotel within a short drive of the Palenque archaeological site. Most of the staff we met spoke good English and were very helpful. The room was huge with a large sitting area with fresh flowers. The minibar has free non-alcoholic drinks which are replenished during your stay. The safe is too small to keep much more than your passport and money. The pool is small, but a relaxing place to be after a hot day sightseeing. It has resident iguanas to keep you company.

The food is good, but if perhaps I would like to see starters other than just soup or salad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quintachanabnal, Owner at Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear reviewer and guest,
First of all let me thank you for your stay at our hotel and express our satisfaction of making your stay generally speaking good. Reading your post I found two issues that I would like to address as owner and General Manager. As for your point about the safe that is too small to keep much more than your passport and money, you are right, but the reason we don't have bigger saves, is due to the fact that (thanks God) our guest does not need them to protect his property. We existed for a long time even without a save, until our insurance told us, that we needed one to avoid possible false accusations (insurances warn always of these kind of issues, hope it will never happen). So we installed this 30comX30cmX10cm save that protects the most sensible things, like cash, passport and airplane tickets. As we like to say, your room is your save, and this is something on which we put big attention. In any case, the Hotel has a big save for those extra sensible cases, that need to be guarded on request of our guests.
The second point is about our Menu. I am very sorry, that we missed to help you with our menu , since you say you could not "see starters other than just soup or salad". Between our soups and salads we have a chapter of 6 different pastas like Gnocchi al Ragu allo Zafferano or out homemade Tagliatelle al Pesto or Ai Funghi e Porcini. Since I am half Italian, I see Pasta dishes as starters, but I could understand if there may be cultural differences with other countries. In any case we will from now on try to be more explicit in our guidance through the menu for our guest.
Once again thank you very much for your stay, hope to have you again in the future as guest here at BH Quinta Chanabnal.

Raphael Tunesi
General Director and Owner
BH Quinta Chanabnal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The German owner is an expert on Mayan script and, from what we saw, most other aspects of Mayan culture. He had a hand in every aspect of designing the hotel and experience. Tucked away in the jungle, beside a lake, with a cascade of swimming pools, large beautiful rooms, and an amazing menu, this hotel gives the feeling of being lost in a Mayan country club at the height of the civilisation. The owner is loves chatting to his guests and to explain the significance of every item in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murraygunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

What a extraordinary surprise-on arrival it was nothing like my wife and I and our freinds had imagined.So tastefully done.and so welcoming.So much in the right place and my wife who is an interior decorator thought we had reached heaven.The rooms are each so beautiful and comfortable.The breakfast superb--what can I say

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nambiar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were on a "luxury tour" and spent 2 lovely days here. We were welcomed by very friendly staff and shown to our beautiful huge room. Bathroom was bigger than some hotel bedrooms. Wonderful. Food at all meals was great. Someone there is a great chef. Prices for food and drink were very reasonable indeed. Only small gripes were that the safe in room was ridiculously small and there were too few sunbeds at the very nice pool.

Room Tip: All 7 rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsayburnett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorashim
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We were delighted to stay here. It is elegantly appointed and very beautiful. The food and the service were wonderful. It was fascinating talking with the owner, Rafael, about Mayan culture and his vision for the hotel. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.8 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#5 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#15 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal

Property: Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal
Address: Carr. A Las Ruinas Km. 2, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three kilometers from the archaeological site of Palenque, Chiapas, this luxury resort evokes a Mayan palace complex of the Classic Period. Traditional pre-Hispanic design, updated with modern sophistication, awaits the discerning traveler at Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal.The architectural complex consists of two Junior Suites, four Deluxe Suites and one Presidential Suite. Amidst luxuriant jungle flora our swimming pools recall the typical waterfalls found in the ruins of Palenque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Boutique Hotel Quinta Chanabnal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing