We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for monney”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maya Rue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maya Rue
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value for monney”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night here. Our room (4) was very clean, the bed was huge and comfortable. Bathroom is big, withouth curtain for shower.
Room was with aircon. It was a quite room. Staff was nice.
No breakfast. Good wifi. A good place to stay, I can recommand it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cline28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    37
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
64
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Maya Rue for two nights in May 2014 while in town to see the Palenque ruins. The location is in central Palenque town and is pretty ideal for a short stay. Right around the corner is an ATM, an Oxxo store, and a few good eateries. It's one short block from where the collectivos pick up and drop off for the ruins. I was worried that its central location might make for a rough night's sleep with all the town noise but we slept like babies both nights.

We loved the decor and furnishings. The shower is an open one without curtains or anything but that didn't bother us. The staff was friendly and helpful. There weren't any English speakers on site so we honestly enjoyed trying to improve our Spanish when asking for eating recommendations.

The hotel doesn't offer breakfast, just so you know. Wifi works very well and so does the AC. I think you would enjoy staying here when you come to see the ruins.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed there for 2 night in Mai 2014. The location is quite central, close to the main road in Palenque, easy to find. The room was not very large, but sufficient for a short stay. The room was facing a courtyard, but that was actually not a nice view. The shower and the toilet were not separated from another. Therefore, having taken a shower, the entire bathroom was set under water. Not very nice. There was no parking space provided by the hotel. however we easily found one just around the corner. A drawback clearly is, that none of the staff knew a word english. We would have expected that in a touristic place like that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have travelled from Mexico City through the whole southern country up to Cancun and it was simply the best hotel stay we have experienced. The only drwaback is the lack of breakfast but there are plenty of eating places in the area. No need to look further in Palenque!

Pros:
- very clean and nicely furnished rooms
- small balcony, perfect for evening drink or smoke
- good WiFi
- very comfortable bed
- lots of practical shelfs in the room
- big mirror

Cons:
- no breakfast

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
476 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Selected due to a glowing review in a Lonely Planet. Took a room on 1st floor which had a strange enclosed balcony, overlooking a busy street so not appealing. The bathroom was pretty good, the bed ok. TV but no foreign news channels. No breakfast available on site. Friendly reception staff. The main drawback with the hotel is street noise, so ear plugs are required. Overall not a bad budget hotel in central Palenque.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Excellent location, very nice and helpful staff, modern and very clean, spacious
room with very comfortable beds, nice and spacious bathroom incl. A/C, WiFi & TV for a very reasonable price
Cons:
- no breakfast available, Café serves coffee only - no problem as plenty of restaurants nearby
and 1 bottle of water per day is available in the room
- only place to hang around: the very nice Lobby-'Café' with WiFi, which is loud as close to the street

Room Tip: #10 on 3rd floor has larger windows than other rooms I saw, is spacious and very quiet as located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaethsabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Nice modern hotel. We got room 1 on the second floor and it was great! Nice king bed and we were able to sleep well eventhough it's besides the street. Close to everything - restaurants and shops. Price is reasonable. Only one little con was the wifi wasn't working for about 2 hrs around 9-11pm. Other than that it was a great stay. Will recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kickzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xibalba
Hotel Xibalba
#10 of 34 in Palenque
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
Casssa Vlanca Hotel
#9 of 34 in Palenque
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
479 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Rue

Property: Maya Rue
Address: Aldama s/n | Entre Juarez y 5 de mayo, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya Rue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubicado en el centro de la ciudad, a 8 kilometros de la zona arqueologica de Palenque; con habitaciones confortables, aire acondicionado, tv cable, baño privado, agua caliente, internet inhalambrico y servicio adicional de cafetería. Tenemos para usted la comodidad de una habitacion de un hotel de 5 estrellas; comodidad e higiene garantizados, con arquitectura minimalista y ubicado cerca de todo, restaurantes, agencias de viajes, bancos, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Maya Rue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing