We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent location with easy access to the ruin and downtown. Nice (large) grounds with lots of birds. The backhoe digging out the creek over the three days we stayed there was a little much.
Give the restaurant a pass, lots of good dining downtown. Both nights we let the cab driver pick us a spot.

Room Tip: stay a the back away from the check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

The rooms are great..small pavillons, each with a patio , rocking chairs and the impression you are in the jungle. I strongly recommend you don't go there if you do not have a car. There are no taxis near by so you are almost isolated from the rest of the world and obliged to pay taxis at a more costly price or eat at their restaurant all your meals. And that is disappointing.

Everything is more expensive. A small bottle of wayer costs 40 pesos here while the big one liter one is 20 at the ruins!

They say they have internet..i think Tripadvisor should add another point to evaluate for hotels: the quality of their internet service. This hotel has lousy internet.

Room Tip: If you really want to be isolated..ask for a cabin near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is very close to the ruins at Palenque and in addition the hotel cabins are spacious and nicely laid out in the jungle grounds. There is not much cupboard space in the rooms but OK for a few nights. The restaurant food was on the simpler side but well done. The staff are very helpful and could not be more pleasant. We came from San Cristobal and the road to Palenque is very twisty and has lots of road humps and the journey takes 5+ hours. The journey is also subject to roadblocks by the local people sometimes overnight which can make the journey even longer so consider how you want to get to Palenque. The ruins are very good. There is a large pool and a few smaller pools to relax around and catch the sun after sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was part of a group touring around Mexico. I was happy with my stay here. Close to Palenque ruins. Good pool. Pleasant restaurant with balcony overlooking pool. Food average but I have to say that during my tour I never really had an enjoyable meal. It seems to be about quantity rather than quality. This hotel did at least have their menus in English!. Cabin room was fine except that because of all the glass - there was little privacy and therefore it defeated the object by having to have the curtains drawn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheshaNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Chan-Kah Resort Village for 3 nights in mid-Feb ($94/night). The resort is large, consisting of 85 rooms in single or duplex cabins that are spread over the lushly vegetated property. Our cabin was spacious, with a bedroom separate from a room housing the sink, vanity and clothes rack/shelving; the bathroom and shower were off the end of that room. The cabin was furnished with 2 double beds, a desk and chair, and a small table with 2 chairs. There was an overhead fan, AC and a wall-mounted flat screen TV, but no refrigerator or safe. The front of the room was a wall of windows with a door onto a large, covered patio with two wooden rocking chairs and a couple of other chairs. The cabins are quite close together, but are oriented so that the patios do not overlook each other – all you see is the beautiful lush vegetation. The room smelled slightly musty, though, a result of the recent heavy rains.

The complex has 2 pools, a large one by the restaurant and a smaller one at the back of the resort. They are of a curious design – river rocks are set into the high walls and are also used to separate the main pool into 3 sections – it didn't quite work for me. The pool was only 0.8 m deep, the water quite cool and it was poorly maintained, with floating and sunken leaves and twigs everywhere.

The restaurant served good food, but was expensive(150-200 pesos for dinner entrees, 65 pesos for breakfast). There is a good option, Camarones restaurant, about 1 km back toward town. There is also a mini mart across the street from the restaurant where you will need to buy water because only 2 small bottles (355 ml) are provided daily. The town of Palenque is a 10 min drive from the hotel, but there isn't really anything to draw you there unless you are looking for an ATM – there is one at the bank on the main road about 2 blocks into town.

The Palenque ruins are located 5 min from the hotel and are spectacular. Their close proximity to the hotel allowed us to time our 2 hour visit during the only break in the heavy rains that occurred that day. We also took a tour to the ruins at Bonampak and Yaxchilán (850 pesos, through the hotel), a long day but well worth the trip.

Overall, the Chan-Kah is a comfortable hotel with beautiful grounds and close proximity to the ruins. It is best suited to those with a car so that you can avoid the resort prices for food and drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We had a secluded Cabana by the creak, location wise we could not have asked for more. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep but wish the floor hadn't just been concrete and pebbles. Even though it was in a nice pattern it still felt as if it was better suited to a patio rather than a room floor and it was not suitable really to walk around without shoes or slippers on. The shower floor was also pebbles in concrete which felt a bit strange. It made us feel as if the room was not as clean as it really was.

We ate in the restaurant which ambiance wise was lovely but the food we chose wasn't great. We had a mexican platter but was the most unauthentic meal we had all holiday, with very little flavour. We felt as if they were catering for tourists. If you are able to, eat in Palenque town itself we found a lovely little taco place ( can't remember the name, sorry!) and it had some amazing food at rock bottom prices

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank YorkshireRoseEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a beautiful place and if you intend to spend a lot of time there it is excellent. If not, it is quiet, clean, and the staff was great. The pool looked amazing. There was wildlife all around. But... we were touring so sent only nights there. The restaurant was a bit on the high priced side, but the food was okay. Downside was the need for transport to Palenque. Not expensive but still...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryNiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
597 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.5 mi away
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Piedra de Agua Palenque
#13 of 34 in Palenque
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan-Kah Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan-Kah Resort Village

Address: Carretera a las Ruinas Km. 3, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chan-Kah Resort Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chan-Kah Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan-Kah Resort Village Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing