We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel with the family!!! We were pleasantly surprised with the cabanas! The settings of the cabanas were nice, the food was good and the kids loved the pool! You can even hear some wildlife at night :-))

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    252
    91
    24
    21
See reviews for
179
240
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

One night two days was not enough at this hotel.

You are literally accommodated in your own cabin in the jungle. It has been groomed with concrete walkways making getting around the hotel easy and clean. Each cabin has a walk out deck relaxing to sit outside and enjoy the view of the gardens and all the trees surrounding your experience. Time to time you here or see monkeys. each cabin aside from big windows to look out, (with curtains) bed and washroom has a television and A/C. The A/C is preset so you turn it on or off. After unlocking the door with your key you need to place the key in this wooden box, thus activates the electricity, once the key is removed the power goes off. good idea for conserving electricity. The pool is great, very large and has three depths each separated good for kids so they cant go wondering off into a different depth.
This place is so peaceful and quiet and is the last in the row of hotels leading to the ruins. The ruins are literally 3 minutes from this hotel by taxi or collectivo. It is an 8 minute $60 peso $4.85 can taxi trip into the city or you could pay $10 pesos, .70 cents for the collectivo. My recommendation is if you could stay here a week to relax and enjoy the peace, do so it is worth it and if you love photography you could do quite a bit of plant photography here. If your someone who has endured or endures a lot of stress this place will 100% de-stress you. If you are going to eat at the hotel i recommend you eat in the restaurant, do not order your food at the pool because the portions will be quite skimpy. The food is very good and kitchen is very clean. Drinks are more expensive when ordered at the pool. I purchased my beer in town in cans and took them with me to the pool to drink. IN CANS, glass is not permitted. I have to give this hotel a 5 for 5 based on its tranquility, natural relaxation, and did not want to leave. My eght year old son had a blast as he played with other kids his age. i recommend this as a family hotel, if you want to make it a party then the party will be your experience in your cabin in a relaxed atmosphere. the maintenance is well kept clean and organized...

Room Tip: close to the pool is nice if you have kids, if you want quiet and privacy you will get more further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBMShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Chan-Ka for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. It is just out of town and close to the Palenque ruins. The manicured jungle surrounds are simply gorgeous as is the pool area. Waking up in the middle of the night to the sound of howler monkeys sure was an experience! The bungalows are comfortable enough and spacious, ours had musty smell due to heavy rains but it didnt bother us too much. Bed was ginormous and hard. WiFi was slow and only available in the lobby/restaurant area, but lets not forget we are in the middle of the jungle, its great there is wifi at all!
No one speaks a word of english, except the manager Juan. This was slightly challenging for us and our limited spanish but we invested in a local sim card and downloaded a translation app, once we had this everything was easy and the staff were even able to help book us a flight to our next destination!
There is a bus (collectivo) outside the hotel that takes u either to the ruins or town centre for 20pesos one way - however it stops at 6pm, other wise the taxi fare to and from town is 50-60peso one way. Its a pity the hotel does not offer a shuttle service to and from town, as we were often forced to eat at the mediocre and expensive restaurant where the staff are constantly hinting for tips. However, on the last night we discovered El Panchan, a small village 5-10mins walk away (direction of the ruins) with good and cheap food options (Don Mucho - delicious with nightly live bands). My main recommendation which may be blatantly obvious to some, is forego the convenience factor and DO NOT BOOK A TOUR through the front desk. You will pay 2-3 times more than if you book in town. We booked a trip to Agua Azul & Misol-Ha (do not miss this) for 450peso pp through the hotel while others on our tour paid 130-150peso per person. Management at the hotel did not care about the blatant rip off, any opportunity to squeeze an extra dollar from the guests is a good one unfortunately. Aside from this our stay was lovely and the resort is really unique and special. I would definitely stay here again if I was to return to Palenque and be a bit more savvy with tours and eating options.
TIPS:
1. To those that hire a car and drive to Agua Azul - beware of locals holding a piece of rope in front of the road so that you stop and give them money - our driver just sped up and they put the rope down. In this regard a tour is better. The road is in bad condition too.
Palenque ruins - catch the collectivo and hire a guide at the gate. we could not recommend our guide Nacho more highly, 850peso for a 3.5hr tour of the ruins and jungle. If you are in a bigger group you can divide the cost so it gets cheaper. His knowledge of the area and Mayan history is fantastic and he has a stong character. The ruins are phenomenal, highlight of Mexico so far!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank al_kat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs UK
Level Contributor
420 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Arriving by taxi after the late arrival of our service bus - we found ourselves with a lovely detached bungalow near the restaurant, apart from the flooring (uneven & difficult to walk on for anyone with a foot problem). Good shower & area to store cases etc at the rear - we enjoyed sitting in our rocking chairs on the patio.

There were a number of groups there the first night & they were having a buffet type meal, but we found ourselves at a table overlooking the pool and a choice of freshly cooked food. Waiting staff were particularly pleasant & we enjoyed our breakfast & dinners there.

The pool was a pleasant area - but the fact that the floor was stoney - we did not fancy it, although a numbe of people did swim. There was quite a lot of visiting wildlife & if you turned left outside the entrance there was a very good walking area. Taxis were reasonable or you could pick up a combo if you wished to visit either the town or the ruins.

My only adverse comments was apart from one receptionist - no real English was spoken - the answer was always "no comprendo". One must ask what if there was a real emergency?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent location with easy access to the ruin and downtown. Nice (large) grounds with lots of birds. The backhoe digging out the creek over the three days we stayed there was a little much.
Give the restaurant a pass, lots of good dining downtown. Both nights we let the cab driver pick us a spot.

Room Tip: stay a the back away from the check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
389 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The rooms are great..small pavillons, each with a patio , rocking chairs and the impression you are in the jungle. I strongly recommend you don't go there if you do not have a car. There are no taxis near by so you are almost isolated from the rest of the world and obliged to pay taxis at a more costly price or eat at their restaurant all your meals. And that is disappointing.

Everything is more expensive. A small bottle of wayer costs 40 pesos here while the big one liter one is 20 at the ruins!

They say they have internet..i think Tripadvisor should add another point to evaluate for hotels: the quality of their internet service. This hotel has lousy internet.

Room Tip: If you really want to be isolated..ask for a cabin near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is very close to the ruins at Palenque and in addition the hotel cabins are spacious and nicely laid out in the jungle grounds. There is not much cupboard space in the rooms but OK for a few nights. The restaurant food was on the simpler side but well done. The staff are very helpful and could not be more pleasant. We came from San Cristobal and the road to Palenque is very twisty and has lots of road humps and the journey takes 5+ hours. The journey is also subject to roadblocks by the local people sometimes overnight which can make the journey even longer so consider how you want to get to Palenque. The ruins are very good. There is a large pool and a few smaller pools to relax around and catch the sun after sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan-Kah Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan-Kah Resort Village

Property: Chan-Kah Resort Village
Address: Carretera a las Ruinas Km. 3, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chan-Kah Resort Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chan-Kah Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan-Kah Resort Village Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Palenque
Chan Kah Hotel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing