We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piedra de Agua Palenque
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Piedra de Agua was one of the highlights of my two weeks in Mexico. Such a peaceful atmosphere, charming and attentive staff (flower petals and candles placed around our hot tub!), beautiful surroundings. Having breakfast served on our patio was a special treat. My only quibble is that there needs to be a place to hang clothes in the room and racks or hooks to hang towels in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool are especially nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciclogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is a wonderful place to relax after hiking through Mayan ruins. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms good sized, the pool refreshing. Breakfast on your own terrace is a treat, as is the tub! While there is no restaurant, there is food delivery, and taxis into town are easily called. Our only quibbles were a lack of shelves or other storage in the rooms, and no proper reading lights. This is an easy recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J9lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Thank you for the most wonderful stay in your boutique hotel! We went to Palenque for one day and to Piedra de Agua for three days :-) We just couldn't leave the amazing environment of the White Angel staff, the amazing room with jacuzzi and river view, the delicious bed, the rain shower....all the little details thought off. We felt more than at home.
This hotel is truly the best and most luxurious Palenque has to offer and it is soooo peaceful. We had a Magical time. Gracias!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel boutique offers very comfortable rooms located in a precious environment, just in the heart of the forest. Each room has a private terrace with jacuzzi and relaxing area used for breakfast. Although in an open area, being on the terrace, you feel real in a private place, isolated by plants surrounding your room. The swimming pool is small, but so charming. And not to talk about all the small details and attentions that wait for you in your room making you feel as a special guest. Least but not least, the service is discrete, but really efficient and all the personal are so kind.

Room Tip: We did not test the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We absolutely loved this place from the moment we walked through the door, not there is one into the hotel but that's what makes this place special!
I wish I was eloquent enough to be able to describe what the hotel looks like, hopefully the photos can do that for me!

Our room was a large, beautiful hut. The room was a large space with an equally large bed. I loved the small touches in the room - the handmade throw, cushion covers, door hanging sign, needle and thread holder to the handle on the ceiling fan!!
The bathroom was also a good size with a great shower.
There's no AC but we coped well, using the ceiling fan all the time.
If you don't like living a little 'rustic', don't bother staying here and complaining about it afterwards, you clearly aren't a glamper!

We loved the large balcony outside, using it every afternoon and evening. The hammock was super. The outdoor bath is a fabulous touch. We used it on our final evening for hours with several glasses of wine, listening to the hive of forest wildlife buzzing around us! We even saw glow worms flying around! The staff will fill it for you with bath salts and bubbles.

We had breakfast every morning on our balcony outside. It was lovely - fresh fruit, bread and jams, something odd wrapped in banana leaf (never found out what it was!) coffee and granola.
The staff are lovely, always smiling.

Although the place is small, you never felt they were hanging around and equally there was always someone there when you needed them.

There is a small bar in the lobby with a good selection including international wines. There is a little shop selling handmade crafts which I completely forgot to go to and wish I had! You can get free wifi in the lobby area.

There is a lovely long infinity pool with jacuzzi which has day beds and towels. We were served drinks by the pool. You don't have to sign for anything as there are only a few huts so they all know who is staying at the hotel!

You can use local taxis to get around or use the buses which pass by every few minutes which you have to wave down or they normally honk to see if you want them to stop. It costs 20pesos per person one way...whichever direction! The hotel is close to Palenque town and the ruins. We went to the conservation park, Aluxes which was superb, well worth a visit.

We had lunch and dinner at the hotel next door - Hotel Leons as this one doesn't have a restaurant...which is probably the only downfall for the place. If they don't serve food, they should at least sell basic snacks in the shop or the bar as eateries are not too close by.

If you want a magical few days in the forest, you have to stay here! I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachesShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Wow ! Beautiful place, truly boutique style, excellent service, nice rooms, lovely swimmingpool and a funny breakfast served at your terrace. Also a very short ride to Palenque's ruins. We would not have minded staying a bit longer, enjowying all of the above and the wildlife around the hotel. They have made us positively interested in their other hotels !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank werdlerswereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Beautifull, relaxing, good service.
Good atmosphere. In Palenque near the ruins. Colibri in front of our garden..
Need earplugs because of dogs from neighbours barking a lot.
No closets available in the room!
Would recommend it!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndia Q, Propietario at Piedra de Agua Palenque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, estamos trabajando para mejorar y su opinión nos ayuda a solucionar cada detalle. Tenemos un vecino con un Rancho el cual se ha comprometido con nosotros para guardar sus mascotas por la noche y ayudarnos a preservar la tranquilidad del lugar.

Así mismo, contaremos con armarios en todas nuestras habitaciones.

Saludos cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.5 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra de Agua Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra de Agua Palenque

Address: Zona Arqueologica de Palenque Km 2 5 | Carretera a las Ruinas, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range: £73 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Piedra de Agua Palenque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piedra de Agua Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing