We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Xibalba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Xibalba
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Christopher Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

After a long bus ride from San Cristobal, we were happy to find this comfortable, affordable hotel
in Palenque. It has a very convenient location with excellent restaurants nearby. Dont miss the
Maya Canada restaurant right across the street for fine cuisine. It was easy to arrange tours to see
the beautiful waterfalls of Chiapas from this hotel. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The staff
were helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here upon a return visit. Mucho gracias!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laxdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    138
    62
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
140
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was very noisy at night when we were there, close to a restaurant/pub. There are holes on the wall at every guest room. Maybe good for ventilation but bad for sound isolation.
WiFi signal was not usable in the room, very weak.
Room itself is good and clean.
BTW, the owner/host can't speak English, but OK to check in/out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The room itself is dated, but very clean and spacious. For good wifi, get rooms closer to the front / reception of the hotel. Stayed in room at the very back and the wifi was slow as a result of being distant from the router. The front desk did not speak English but was very helpful with my limited Spanish in assisting with tours and other requests. Refills of bottled water available as Palenque is rather humid at this time of the year. Walk 5 minutes to the main road to catch a collective for 20 pesos to the ruins. Couldn't be easier! Walk 5 minutes the other way to visit the small town centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights and the room was very clean and quiet. We did not have breakfast or lunch/dinner at the hotel (there is a very good restaurant on the other side of the street). The staff was friendly and there is nothing to complain about.
We would recommend this hotel if you only need a clean place to stay for a night or two to see the amazing ruins of Palenque. If you need a pool and a great restaurant inside your hotel you should probably go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The word "Xibalba" in Mayan means "underworld" or "hell." Unfortunately, this hotel lives up to it's name. We stayed during holy week, so it was busy, but i don't find that a compelling excuse for the hellish experience. Check-in was handled by a grumpy, unfriendly front desk attendant. The room was tiny, beds hard, pillows thin, the shower was at best a light mist of lukewarm water, and the noise from the street out front was unbearable, mostly due to the screened window that could not be shut and the busses pulling up at 5 a.m. to whisk people off on their tours. One of the reasons we picked the hotel was it's "free WiFi." It may have been free, but it also was unavailable during our two night stay. Repeated consultations with the people manning the front desk were unhelpful at best. The blank faces and uninterested shrug upon hearing their internet was not working is all i needed to rank this the lowest possible. Their two publicly available computers were also "not working." Location was good and walking to other properties with better food and functioning internet was convenient. Xibalba, take some pride in your property, your work and your reputation. Traveler be warned, don't be tempted by the Mayan underworld.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhg1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is just perfect. The room was big and very clean, bed was very comfy. The location is very good in a quite area but close to everything. I would definitely stay here again, nothing to complain about for this price range.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mentopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The choices in Palenque are either in town or a few minutes by taxi to the larger, more resort type places near the ruins. For in town the La Canada area is certainly the way to go, as the rest of the town is not particularly charming. Good rates on Booking.com via Trip Advisor. you will pay 200 p more a night if you just show up. Not overly friendly, but their referral of Kim Tours for Bonampak , etc. was very helpful. This was a true all inclusive package and reasonable. Good beds and hot water. Early morning Nescafé a nice touch as some tours leave very early. Suggest you try the coffe shop across the street and the restaurant. At the Chablis hotel is much better for breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank copperstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Hotel Chablis Palenque
#2 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
2.3 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#4 of 34 in Palenque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xibalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xibalba

Property: Hotel Xibalba
Address: Calle Merle Green No. 9 | Col. La Canada, Apartado Postal 33, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xibalba 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xibalba Hotel, located in Palenque, Chiapas, Mexico, offers comfortable lodging in the relaxed atmosphere of a small hotel anxious to know and to please its guests. Our rates are very competitive, our advice steers tourists to intersting places, and we can tell you many things about Maya culture should you care to ask. Hotel Xibalba began modestly in 1992 and now, two renovations later, offers 35 clean, comfortable rooms in two adjacent locations. Our Don Carlos Restaurant features Mexican specialties at reasonable prices. Parking, in a safe private area, is free. We have two computers for guests. Wi-Fi internet access free, We offer laundry and dry cleaning service. You may reserve rooms at our hotel on-line from the comfort of your own computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Xibalba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xibalba Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing