We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chablis Palenque
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Palenque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our roadtrip through Mexico.
Rooms are nice, clean and spacious. Bathroom is pretty small but has a good shower. Because of the climate, Palenque has a lot of insects, bugs etc. It was clear to see that the hotel sprays a lot, because we found loads of dead bugs, butterflies, whatever on the floor after our night of sleep.

Pool is tiny and not super clean so we didn't use it.

Breakfast service was very fast in our experience. I read some negative reports about slow service, but this really wasn't the case during our stay. We didn't have dinner here, even though the restaurant looked nice, but it was empty both nights, so we went for dinner next door (Maya something).

Location is perfect, a couple of minutes walking from the Chedraui supermarket, 10 minutes to the ruines and easily accessible from the road coming from San Cristobal de las Casas.

Parking was also perfect, privately behind the hotel fence.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroundtheglobe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice hotel, located in a nice hotel & restaurant neighbourhood a few minutes walk from the center of Palenque town, and just off the main road and road for the ruines. The staff was not really that helpful or friendly, but average.
But smokers BE AWARE! You are virtually entering a war zone! I've been to many "no smoking hotels", but never experienced anything as strict as this place. The restaurant had 4 streetside tables, outside the building, but NO! No smoking, Of course I could have moved out on the street, standing half a meter from the table, and no one could have stopped me smoking. After asking the staff, I could (possibly) smoke in a corner at the far end of the pool. I didn't bother. We went to the nice next door restaurant. Even if you don't smoke, the neighbour restaurants seems more tempting and much more popular. The hotel restaurant seemed empty both evenings we stayed there.
The pool was small but nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndisMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Chablis for one night on two occasions, our first night in Chaipas and our last, It suited us very well. For those in North America you can equate to a very good Comfort or Quality Inn. It is perfect for those looking for an affordable clean room to lay down after a day full of activities. It has its own restaurant and is located to several others.

It would not be a place that I would choose to spend too much time during the day. If one is looking for a more resort atmosphere I would recommend spending a little more money on one of the places a little outside of town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice on this trip, as we made our way to and from San Cristobal de las Casas. We had the same room both times and were more than happy with the room. The beds were really comfortable, ac worked great and there was a ceiling fan which is really helpful for drying out your shoes if you are there during rainy season. The room was super clean, shower was good with plenty of hot water. For whatever reason, I wasn't getting a very strong wifi signal from hotel Chablis, but had a strong signal from a neighboring hotel. The location of the hotel is good, just a few minutes walk to the center of town and a few minutes walk the other direction to a place to hail a cab or catch a collectivo. There is also a Chedraui about a ten minute walk away if you need to buy drinks or food. Palenque archaeological site was one of the best I have visited. If you visit the site, take the exit path that goes by the waterfalls. We did this on accident and were so glad that we did. If you arrive by bus, the hotel is easy to reach on foot, but cab fare was very reasonable throughout Palenque. There always seemed to be a couple of "executive cabs" waiting just a block up from hotel Chablis and I can't recommend them enough. We took an "executive" cab to las Tinajas restaurant one night (great food) and my Dad left his camera in the cab. It wasn't a terribly expensive camera but had some irreplaceable photos. About 30 minutes into our meal, the cab driver showed up at the restaurant with the camera. There is a lavanderia just up the street from hotel Chablis, turn left as you exit the hotel, cross the bridge and the laundry is on the right side of the street. Very reasonable prices but not same day service. Overall, I would recommend hotel Chablis if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie-a-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great hotel, I totally recommend it !
Perfect location, nice area, city center is 10 minutes walking.
Big rooms, everything is new.
Friendly staff.
Nice cafeterias nearby.

BUT we had a problem: on our 2nd day we got into the room and there was a huge noise, from a machine. We called the front desk and after 20 minutes someone knocked our door. He asked us "where does it come from?" ... We obviously said we didn´t know. He replied he will try to make it stop. After 10 minutes another guy knocked our door to see if the noise had stopped. It hadn´t. 15 minutes later the front desk person called us saying that they don´t know where it comes from and as they have no more rooms, we should move to another hotel. The twin hotel of Chablis. Problem solved... or not. The name is Hotel Maya Tulipanes (see our review)
Conclusion: great hotel

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the street side, otherwise you would hear all the noise of the children playing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinkyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We liked:
- Easy to find the place
- There is no problem to find a parking if you are using a car
- Good location where you can find plenty of restaurants nearby
We did not like:
- Service was ok but nothing special
- Two types of breakfast and you have to pay extra to include scrambled eggs and juice in your breakfast
- Dangerously slippery floor (at least if it rains) of the corridor leading from the rooms to the restaurant and further to the parking ground

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Pros:
- Free secured parking.
- Spacious bedroom.
- Comfortable enough for the night.
- Free wi-fi with strong signal.
- Nice shower.
- A/C.
- Reasonable price.

Cons:
- The worst breakfast I've ever had in a hotel: bread + butter + some jams and that's it. Lack of different options of beverages and food. Awful! And it took AGES to bring on two slices of bread! There were only three tables occupied in the entire restaurant and many clerks. I don't understand why. (This was really important for my rate)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonardomrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palenque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maya Tulipanes Palenque
1 mi away
Hotel Mision Palenque
Hotel Mision Palenque
#3 of 34 in Palenque
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chan-Kah Resort Village
Chan-Kah Resort Village
#6 of 34 in Palenque
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel La Aldea del Halach Huinic
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Palenque
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes Palenque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chablis Palenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chablis Palenque

Address: Merle Green No 7 | Centro Eco-Turistico La Cañada, Palenque 29960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Palenque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palenque
Price Range: £37 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chablis Palenque 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and relaxing hotel with 51 comfortable rooms, located in the Canada area, the only ecourbanistic area in the State of Chiapas, with big trees and singing birds, 500 m from the bus terminal, 1000 m from the city center, and 8 Km from the archaeological site of Palenque. Our rooms are equipped with minisplit, screen 32" with cable TV, telephone, ceiling fan, free Wi-Fi, hair dryer, safe, iron and ironing board, private bathroom and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chablis Palenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chablis Hotel Palenque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing