We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanilla Pod - CLOSED

The Vanilla Pod
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Vanilla pod is no longer exist according to fb page. The hotel was under renovation from May and recently opened again. The restaurant is renamed the same as the hotel name. https://www.facebook.com/TheCridfordInn/ Created new listing id: 10496463
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a wonderful meal in this superb restaurant. Pleasant welcome and atmosphere and I highly recommend the vanilla desserts. All excellent value for money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwigwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cridfordinn, Owner at The Vanilla Pod, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thanks for your review.At £26.50 for 3 courses, we think it is fantastic value in the restaurant aswell.Our chrfs work very hard,and although I very rarely get an opportunity to try one of Ian's amazing desserts,they always look stunning when they go to the table.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    50
    22
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
2 reviews
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Thoughtful, varied menus utilising high quality local produce, cooked with a high level of knowledge and expertise to give great, tasty results. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Sunday lunch here in the beautiful sunshine was ruined by the inept staff who failed on so many levels.

We waited an hour for food as there was a mix up with our order- no apologies.

By the time our food was cooked the kitchen had run out of vital ingredients - again no apology!

No cutlery for soup or desserts, no clearing of plates, no one asked if we were ok or checked that we had food!

Asked for the bill 3 times and it was wrong when it arrived! The guy then tried to argue with us when we went to pay.

Definatly not going here again! So unprofessional!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cridfordinn, Owner at The Vanilla Pod, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
I am sorry about your visit to us on Sunday.This was the first Sunday lunch where most of our tables booked inside and decided to eat outside in the beautiful sunshine.Unfortunately ,all the staff (except for the gentleman that you mention) have never worked a summer with us and did not know the routine.By the time I got over to the pub mistakes had been made.Please be assured that these mistakes will not happen again,and full training will be given this week by myself.It always seems like a long wait when only one starter is had on a large table,so I apologise for that.And to answer your query about the bill,our till system for the meal deal on a sunday is quite complex,and my staff should be only too happy to explain the bill to you, I can say is ,that the total of the meals should work out correctly.I am also sorry about the attitude of the person who served you ,I can honestly say this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our visiting to the Vanilla Pod on Mothers Day was our 4th in 6 months and the food & service were as good as ever.
Our excellently priced 3-course meal was, as always, lovely.
Special occasions aside, there is always a varied menu available, plus a large range of specials on the board.
Excellent and helpful waiting and bar staff really make for an enjoyable meal in the lovely, atmospheric Vanilla Pod.
Really highly recommended!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracar7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cridfordinn, Owner at The Vanilla Pod, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you so much for your review,it is really good to hear that you had a lovely time on Mothers day.It was such a busy day and I didn't get chance to talk to all the tables ,as we had three seperate sittings on Sunday and ihad a lot of organising to do .I am so glad my team looked after you well and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect place for a Wedding Reception!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had the most amazing day. From start to finish the team at the cridford were brilliant and so much help. Tracey was fantastic in helping us plan every detail of our reception and took care of organising everything from the tables to the cake (which was delicious chocolate, vanilla and the perfect shade of cadburys purple!).
We had a warm welcome on arrival and were swiftly seated down to what can only be described as a fine dining experience. All our quests commented on how they will all be returning. The Waitressing staff were so lovely and worked very hard to make our day run smoothly.

We stayed the evening in the Teign Suite which was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable after a long day.

The breakfast was 1st class, especially the salmon and eggs!, We couldn't have asked for a better start to our first day of marriage.

Would recomend this venue to anyone planning their wedding. Fantastic setting, lovely staff and amazing food.

Thanks to Tracey, Ian and all the Team at the Vanilla Pod.

xxx

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vanilla Pod also viewed

Trusham, Newton Abbot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing