We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only went once but very nice”
Review of The Vanilla Pod - CLOSED

The Vanilla Pod
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Vanilla pod is no longer exist according to fb page. The hotel was under renovation from May and recently opened again. The restaurant is renamed the same as the hotel name. https://www.facebook.com/TheCridfordInn/ Created new listing id: 10496463
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Only went once but very nice”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went here while staying opposite only the once but the food was very nice & reasonably priced & the staff very friendly.lovely inside considering how old the place is

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misspiggy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    50
    22
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A lovely inn in a quaint village.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited here on Fathers Day to treat our parents . Well the place is lovely in a beautiful building,
The beef was excellent and perfectly cooked. The whole meal was great except for the gravy,this was very bland and tasteless . The inn was very busy on Father's Day as you would expect ,but I feel they nether had enough staff to service the occasion which was a shame. The waitress was very good and worked hard ,but due to the amount of tables she had to cope with left us in need at times . But on the whole the food was great and exceptional valve for money considering the food quality . They do have a car parking problem here due to to many tables offered to car parking spaces available and no off road parking outside there car park. I will be back as well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL FIND IN A LOVELY VILLAGE”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had been trying to find Canonteign Falls, but unfortunately due to road closures and with no re direction notices in place could not find access to the Falls, however we did come across this absolutely lovely pub in Trusham, the young lady who served us was very helpful and even phoned the Falls for directions, however by now we had looked at the menu and decided to stay - what can I say but the food was delicious and beautifully presented and served, nothing was too much trouble. This was a lovely find and we were so pleased that we got lost, hence to say we never made the Falls on this day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Valentines”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was asked to go along last minute with my mum as she wanted an excuse to visit to try the food. We had heard good things about this place. However we found it to be very average pub grub even for a special occasion. The items described on the menu had been changed from what was advertised and just didn't feel very special for a romantic meal. The staff even forgot to bring us our bread. It was poorly executed and does not inspire me to go back anytime soon other than for a basic pub lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pandora86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cridfordinn, Owner at The Vanilla Pod, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your valentines review, you obviously feel very strongly about your experience with us, as it has taken you over 12 weeks to write this review. The valentines menu was superb ,and not like a pub grub menu, although it is a pub at the end of the day ,the only thing that changed on the menu, would have been the fish option ,as you may recall it was particularly bad weather and fishing boats were not able to get out of the ports, so we had to take fish that was available, through no fault of our own. The menu was prepared months in advance ,and we could not predict the weather ,so out of our control i'm afraid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We like this place.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This was the third time we have eaten here always very good food, Belly Pork especially good. Whenever we have been it has been very quite mid week so no problems with service. For a country pub it is a lovely place to visit, don't be expecting a London restaurant in the country.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackdaws J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cridfordinn, Owner at The Vanilla Pod, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for your review ,I am glad that you have good experiences at the Cridford Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vanilla Pod also viewed

Trusham, Newton Abbot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing