We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value, superb service, superb food”
Review of The Cridford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cridford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Trusham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My partner and I went to the Cridford not 2 weeks ago. My partner is very fussy but even she struggled to find fault with this place, it's a corker and a real hidden gem. The setting, ambience and value were all top drawer. If I had to find 1 criticism, the butter was completely unspreadable which destroyed the bread and whilst it seems fussy, that is very important and it's the little things that matter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed for a meal and overnight for my birthday on a cold Monday night just after New Year which is hardly the preferred day and date for a night out. Not unexpectedly the pub was very quiet but this was made up for by the great service and lovely food cooked for us. We were made to feel very welcome and special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chorltongirl187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Cridford Inn this weekend. A very pleasant place to stay with great service, good food and a relaxed nature. A good place to unwind and take it easy. An Inn with low beams, a well stocked bar and good food. More gastro pub than pie and chips. Very hard to fault.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azurar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was just what my husband and I were hoping for - perfect country inn. Beautiful place in beautiful location tucked away on the edge of the moor. We received a warm welcome, enjoyed excelllent food (especially Ian's signature dessert), and a good night's (ghost-free) sleep in a comfortable room. We are planning to stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ledbury5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A very warm, welcoming place with excellent food and service. Very good value for money and lots of choice on menus. Staff extremely nice and anything you request doesn't seem a chore to them as in most places now. Overall it was excellent and will Definately be returning

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Paris122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Cridford Inn has four rooms and as I was staying there for my wedding weekend, I got to see three of them where friends were staying as well as my own room. The place is family run and this shows with lots of little attention to detail rather than chain-hotel basics. You get exactly what you need, a decent chair, good mirrors in the bathrooms, comfy beds. The building itself is lovely, leaded windows and trailing roses on the outside.
The proprietors are welcoming, the staff are efficient and friendly and above all seem happy. Happy staff make for good teamwork and as we descended upon them with very little notice they were wonderful. If you are looking for a nice place to sleep that wont cost the earth in a beautiful village with friendly people and great food; this is your place. Convenient for both Exeter and Newton Abbot but also right on the edge of Dartmoor.
The one thing my friends and family kept saying over the weekend was 'what lovely people'. They are right. A wealth of local knowledge, discounts on cab firms, special orders for fussy eaters; nothing was any bother and all sorted with smiles. Their staff do them proud and are very befitting of a country retreat.
We took our baby and the cot was ready when we got there, everything was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

stayed here with my husband overnight for a function being held on March 24th.Nice, quirky rooms in keeping with the age of the Inn.Set nicely in rural Devon,peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast ok,nothing special but staff very attentive. Would recommend and return.

Room Tip: All rooms equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trusham
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
440 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Nobody Inn
The Nobody Inn
#6 of 68 in Exeter
377 reviews
9.9 mi away
Old Church House Inn
Old Church House Inn
#4 of 24 in Newton Abbot
164 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Keyberry
The Keyberry
#5 of 24 in Newton Abbot
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cridford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cridford Inn

Address: Broadway Street | Newton Abbot, Trusham, Newton Abbot TQ13 0NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot > Trusham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trusham
Price Range: £94 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cridford Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cridford is set in the idyllic village of Trusham in the heart of the Teign valley.We have no street lights and it is very quiet.We do have WIFI access.All rooms are ensuite and all have tea/coffee making facilities and televisions.Teign room has a double bed and a day bed so it can sleep a family of three. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Cridford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cridford Inn Trusham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing