We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely welcome”
Review of The Cridford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cridford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Trusham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday night - had a great dinner and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were well equipped, comfy beds, everything you need and dinner in the bar was relaxed and delicious. They definitely get my 3 star top award for perfect poached eggs too! The pub is really old and quirky with lovely roses round the door outside and set in a pretty village miles from anywhere (though probably much nearer Exeter than I thought!) I loved it, and will be back, thank you Tracy and everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jspring51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

I sometimes wonder whether people who run pubs realise they're in the hospitality business. No more so than when I find pubs down in Devon closed on a Monday. So business may not be amazing but there will be people in June who want lunch, so just open up. OK? If you're not busy serving, do the books. Or bottle up. Or clean the place. Or have the cricket on. But be open and welcoming.

Thank God for the Cridford Inn. Not only do they welcome hungry and thirsty travellers but they serve good beer and terrific food with an attitude that says, "We're glad to see you." It's relaxed, it's very pretty, there are roses round the door and dogs are welcome. I could ask for nothing more.

So if you find yourself in the Teign Valley on a Monday (or any other day come to that) give yourself a treat. Next time I'm down that way I certainly will.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JamesRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

We visited first night on a planned week trip. Route in had very narrow roads which Im not used to but it was well worth it. Picture post card surroundings. Excellent food and warm reception. Erin who was on in the evening running round was such a pleasant helpfull individual.
The exe room looking out onto the courtyard was faultless. They are advertising for a beer festival soon. Hope this continues because we will definately return.
Fantastic place. Well worth every penny and every mile from Manchester.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

3rd trip was disappointing. None of the known staff. staff absent minded at times, passing by without noticing that we needed something. starter- belly of pork with wasabi mayonaise- what was that about? belly of pork was rather dry sitting on a smear of mayonaise. the 2 didnt go together at all. Fish cakes ok
steaks ok and good value for money. There was no sparkle this time.
decided to stay overnight: the room was ok-ish, bedspread old and tatty, cheap. Bedding lacking lustre, shabby decor, feeble blind. breakfast -must order the night before. tasty bacon and a good orange yolk egg. the rest ok but just that. decor - really lets the dining room down (and the bedroom), pictures/ paintings don't match, they look cheap. dining room otherwise beautiful old room. less is more, ditch the unnecessary 'art'. service- in the morning v good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cridfordinn, Owner at The Cridford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thanks for your review, I am sorry you did not see any faces that you previously had. We have had the same staff for the last 2 years ,and in fact staff that have left but have returned. I will take on board your comment , as this is a simple training requirement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed last night, stunning setting both inside and out. The room was lovely, very comfortable bed, tv, hairdryer, tea coffee. Just enough for what we wanted for one night. We had a couple of pints of lovely cider and a walk around the small but beautiful village. Also ate at the restaurant The Vanilla Pod and had a really tasty 3 course meal. Excellent service, very welcoming, fantastic breakfast. Will certainly go again. Also close to Canonteign falls so handy if you want a visit there.

Room Tip: We had the room with a single bed in too and was really comfortable so would recommend this - cant r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvergirlpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Recently ate here and had a lovely meal. It was steak night and we had 2 steaks and 2 glasses of wine for only £16. Best steak we've had in a long time, far better than the reasonable price would suggest.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maizeywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday in the teign room and ate here every evening. The menu was varied and delicious, especially the scallops! Unfortunately we never did try Ian's signature dish as we saved it for our last day and they ran out! Still everyone needs a reason to return and that will be ours! Breakfast too was lovely, plentiful and the scrambled eggs and salmon were very fresh.
This is a smashing family run place, with helpful staff and great food.
Our room slept three but had only one chair, another chair would make it perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nequest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trusham
6.4 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
438 reviews
9.9 mi away
Old Church House Inn
Old Church House Inn
#4 of 24 in Newton Abbot
162 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cridford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cridford Inn

Address: Broadway Street | Newton Abbot, Trusham, Newton Abbot TQ13 0NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot > Trusham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trusham
Price Range: £95 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cridford Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cridford is set in the idyllic village of Trusham in the heart of the Teign valley.We have no street lights and it is very quiet.We do have WIFI access.All rooms are ensuite and all have tea/coffee making facilities and televisions.Teign room has a double bed and a day bed so it can sleep a family of three. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Cridford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cridford Inn Trusham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing