We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World friendliest dog and hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tom's Hostel Ireland
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Tom hostel is one of the best places i stayed in a whlie they could not do enough for theyre guest a free pick up from
Waterford station the hostel its self is nice place only 10 km
From waterford there two pubs near the hostel and the owners dogs is friendly as well thank again all the best rob

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Tom's Hostel is a bit of the track but easily reachable by car and only 10 min. drive from Waterford. I would really recommend to stop by for one or two nights and get some first hand infos about the best sights in Ireland. As mentioned in other reviews, Tom is most probably on of the best story tellers you could ever find in Ireland.

The kitchen is okay to prepare some quick snacks. There's a big common area, nice and clean rooms, new beds, a big bathroom and a nice garden where you can play with Tom's lovely dogs...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano_Zingaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A friend and I toured Ireland for a month and this was by far one of the best places we stayed. Tom was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about Ireland and it's history. Since we were in the country for a significant amount of time, Tom offered up one of his evenings and went over our map with us and made very helpful recommendations on lodging and sites to see. Tea, coffee and cereal were provided in the morning and the hostel was very clean and comfortable. Over all, Tom's Hostel was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Waterford.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Myself and two friends stayed at Toms Hostel during our recent motorcycle tour of Ireland. We cannot recommend Toms place enough. Tom, who lives on site with his family, was extremely friendly and his knowledge of Ireland, where to go and what to see, were second to none. Although easy to find it is a little way off the main road and I found it helpful to familiarise myself with the route on Google earth. If you find the Royal Oak you are virtually home and dry.
The Hostel annex looked recently built/decorated and the room was warm, clean and with spanking new beds and bedding that had already been made up for us. The showering and toilet facilities were excellent, housed in a separate room directly across the corridor from the bedroom. Tom even cleared out and swept a small garage area so we could stash our motorcycles under cover.
As we like to cook for ourselves Tom told us where to buy provisions in nearby Mooncoin and we made good use of the kitchen facilities that were available. The kitchen is still very much a work in progress, with a small 2 ring, grill and oven, microwave, toaster and kettle. The lack of sink made it tricky to wash stuff as we went along but the bonus was Tom told us to leave the dishes and he would make sure they were washed. I have no doubt that if there was some cooking item we had desperately needed Tom would have nipped straight out and bought it immediately. We made a passable chilli con carne and rice, the traditional fare of the motorcycling, self cook traveller.
On leaving Tom recommended a route into the Wicklow mountains as it was more or less on our way and stated that if we needed any information or advice open touring Ireland to give him a call. I cannot wait to travel back to Ireland and will ensure that I not only take up Toms kind offer but ensure his hostel is on our itinerary.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with Toms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Tom is amazing! A former tourguide turned hostelowner/manager. He knows all there is to know about irish history, and he loves to tell you all about it. The hostel is so nice. The beds are excellent, the showers are great, and there is free tea and coffee all day, everyday.

Tom lives adjacent to the hostel, he lives there with his family, two dogs and a cat (so freaking cute!).

The hostel is "up and coming", but it has all the essentials already. The prices are manageable on a budget. And the hostel is located right next to a pub (friendliest people ever), 2 km out of Mooncoin (great chinese take out), and 10 km outside Waterford. There is buses going from Waterford to Mooncoin, and the driver is more than willing to stop outside the pub, so your walk won't be that long. Tom often goes in to Waterford, and he will always offer his guests a ride.

I highly recommend paying Tom's a visit. I know I'm going back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend Tom's hostel, if you're ever considering staying in Waterford!
The hostel is located 2 km from the village of Mooncoin, about 10 km from Waterford. Tom is very good to offer a ride to the city otherwise there's a bus passing near by.
Tom, his family and their pets are very hospitable and do their very best to make you feel at home. Tom will answer all your questions and more about Ireland, sharing experience from his tour guiding days.
There's a pub close by and shops down the road in Mooncoin.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChkruDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We found Toms hostel online before we started our trip round Ireland, booking the room couldnt have been easier with quick efficient replies via email. It wasnt the easiest to find but locals were very helpful! Theres available parking & a comfy communal area, as previous mentioned a cooker would be great & would change my rating to excellent ! Tom was amazingly welcoming & spent a lot of time with us advising us on where to go, things to do, people to see, basically planned our whole trip & definitely saving us money with recommendations! The local pub is also very welcoming, even gave us some free crisps! Toms hostel really gave us a some comfort and a positive outlook for what was to come, we contacted him during our trip for more advice which he promptly & happily replied, we even considered dropping by on our way home just to say hi! Thank you Tom :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freya102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tom's Hostel Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Hostel Ireland

Address: Rathkieran, Mooncoin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Mooncoin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mooncoin
Price Range: £23 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's Hostel Ireland is a new friendly International Hostel located in a rural setting, just minutes from Waterford City Centre. We are in a great location near all the roads connecting to Cork, Waterford, Galway, West of Ireland, Kerry, Cashel, Killarney, Doolin, Cliffs of Moher and many other tourist hotspots. We offer an informal, friendly place to stay. The hostel is owned and managed by Tom, who is a well respected Irish Tour Guide. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing