We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge At Big Falls
Nearby Hotels
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Salvador Gaviota(Livingston)(Great Value!)
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Dos Arboles(Livingston)(Great Value!)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Villa Caribe(Livingston)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada El Delfin(Livingston)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Casa Rosada(Livingston)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Paradise Vacation Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Finca Tatin(Livingston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
177
16
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
16
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbird lifelocal guidepunta gordabeautiful groundsthatched roofixcacao chocolateshort hikemayan homemorning bird walkmayan culturerefreshing poolscarlet macawsnative plantspeaceful settingdelicious lunchoff the beaten path
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Lodge at Big Falls is a welcome sight after a hard day of "site seeing" in Southern Belize. The area is rich in Maya ruins, but long, bumpy road rides and climbing tall temples can be tiring, as the ten of us learned in February this year. We relished coming "home" to the relaxed atmosphere of Big Falls and our friendly hosts, drinks on the veranda, enjoyable food, and tastefully simple cabanas with their "indoor-outdoor" showers. The well maintained swimming pool was an added plus. Rob and Marta were perfect hosts--engaging and friendly but not intrusive. For those who are looking for fun and exercise on their doorsteps, there is tubing in the river, bird watching, badminton, and pleasant gardens to be enjoyed in addition to lounging around the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I spent a few days at the lodge at the beginning of March and had a wonderful time! Rob and Marta were the perfect hosts, always keen to meet our needs, nothing was too much trouble. And the staff were delightful, friendly, helpful, solicitous and always eager to please. The cabanas were extremely comfortable and the grounds were a real treasure trove to wander around, just full of so many different birds! We had a great time and are already planning a return visit!

Room Tip: Go for one of the palapas with a thatched roof.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I came to the Lodge at Big Falls during Spring Break and had a fantastic time. The hosts, Rob and Marta, were very friendly and helpful. The staff did an excellent job taking care of our needs. We would definitely recommend. Lots of birds surround the property making it a tropical paradise. The food was well prepared and made from scratch, seasonings too. The bar area was a meeting place for many of the other travelers that we had a opportunity to meet. Thanks for a great week!!

Room Tip: Some units are overlooking the green space with trees and and some are closer to the river.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob_Hirons, Owner at The Lodge At Big Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the lodge. we look forward to welcoming you both back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was with an Island Expeditions group, on the Ultimate Adventure, which stayed at the Lodge in March, 2012. According to our guide details had been sent to the Lodge way ahead of time that I was a vegetarian, yet they could not produce a bona fide vegetarian meal! All they did was scrape the chicken curry off the plate and call it a meal -- They obviously are not aware that a vegetarian needs protein! In comparison, Island expeditions, who booked the rooms did a fabulous job at both Tobacco Caye and Glover's reef cooking delicious oatmeal patties and tofu scrambles for me.

When we arrived I looked at the shelf and saw a bottle of Gordon's Gin. My wife and I were looking forward to a gin and tonic. The bar lady and the wife of the owner, Marta, told me they were out of gin!!!!! Inexusable for a Lodge which rents rooms for $240 a night.

Both these points make me believe the place is poorly managed.

The ambience of the place is nice, but Marta hovers everywhere which is a tad off putting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheersfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob_Hirons, Owner at The Lodge At Big Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at the lodge and we are disappointed that you were disappointed.
We can only apologize for the lack of gin on the occasion of your visit as our staff will have apologized at the time. Even with the best forward planning, we can occasionally run out of a popular item as we did on that evening. The bottle you saw was empty but had not yet been removed from the shelf.
Re the meal; Your description is a rather gross caricature of the meal offered which began with three appetizers, two of which are always vegetarian and contain protein. Nothing was "scraped off" the plate and you would have had rice with two vegetarian dishes as well as a yogurt raeta accompaniment followed by desserts containing protein also (probably key lime pie or flan which both have egg and milk as ingredients and therefore protein).
The personal comment about my wife Marta, the co-owner of the lodge, is unspecific and unkind. In a small lodge all our staff are around a lot and can expect be there to supervise and try to make sure that things go smoothly; not to lurk nor "hover".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I was one of a group of 10 people who stayed at the lodge for four nights in February. We had come to the Toledo District to visit archaeological sites. On the basis of that experience, I definitely recommend the Lodge. Owners Rob and Marta, and their staff, including Catarina, were welcoming and helpful in many ways. A friend and I stayed in one of the two newer cabanas. It was attractive, with good lighting and a spacious bathroom. The main building of the Lodge has a very pleasant outdoor veranda, plus a nice bar inside. Food was good and ample. There is a great pool, which we which we took advantage of one afternoon after visiting nearby ruins. Steve, our guide/driver to several archaeological sites, is a knowledgeable and enthusiastic birder who shares his information informally and during early-morning birdwalks. If you come this far south in Belize, you can't go wrong with the Lodge at Big Falls. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RL5127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob_Hirons, Owner at The Lodge At Big Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We do appreciate it and hope to be able to welcome your group to the deep south of Belize in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews