We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel Il Nibbio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Nibbio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magreglio
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Overall, staff was very helpfull and gave us a welcome feeling from the moment we arived. The rooms were small but efficient and clean. Too bad the terras wasn't inviting to sit on. however the small balcony was a welcome change from our room.
The ventilation in our room was good. The breakfast was more than decent, plenty of choice, croissants to baguette and sweet and savory products. The breakfast was included in the overal price which was the main reason we chose this hotel.
The location of the hotel was ok, you have to have a car to really get arround. There are a couple of beautifull hikes in the vicinity of Il nibbio. But for each you definitaly need a car to get there. We also enjoyed the little beach in St. Giovanni, recommended to us by the hostes. Were parking was free, but you had to be there before 10 or else all spots were taken, and after that it is 1,5 euro-hour for parking in Bellagio. So parking sometimes was a problem.
It was a shame that Il Nibbio´s restaurant was closed, but thankfully there is a small Italian restaurant with homemade pasta (La Fontanella) just 5 min away. Where the staff was also very friendly and the food great.
All in all we had a lovely 7 days around lake Como with Il nibbio as our homebase. Very recomendable and a very affordable price. We enjoyed it thouroughly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandenBroekStijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    45
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
70
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hotel is located in small village which is not particuraly interesting so if you don't have a car or motoped or anything to be very mobile, you're stuck.

It's typical B&B - you're getting what you're paying for. Rooms are quite clean and comfy, big enough to not get claustrophobic. The drawback may be the bathroom - VERY small and in ours there was quite nasty mold in the corner of the shower - not pleasent thing at all. I think this might have been the reason for unpleasent stink in the whole bathroom as well.

Absolutely advantage of the place is a very helpfull staff - especially the Manager lady who gave us the most valuable tips regarding where to go and do. E.g. we would have never got to Pescallo without guidance and it was one of the best spots in the region.

Breakfast was quite rich as for Italian standards, differential enough - sweets, hams, fresh bread, fruits, cakes. Very well serviced as well - not had to wait for anything.

Internet is free and the signal very well - router just outside my room - good enough for browsing and checking the mail or watching youtube.

I was a little bit concerned about lack of airconditioning in rooms. I shouldn't have been at all. Although it was 36 during the day, nights were cold enough to have comfortable sleep with open windows. And no mosquitos at all :)

There is a small parking just at the entrance - convenient enough for unpacking stuff from the trunk. Just 50 meters along the road there is bigger, public and free parking (be aware - after 17.00 - 18.00 it used to be full).

Definitely Bellagio is the main attraction while you are accomodated in Il Nibbio - it's 10-15 minutes trip via steep and very curly roads - going there was funny for first 3-5 times, then started to be annoying :)

So Il Nibbio is a great base for spending time mainly in Bellagio - although you have to take into account additional spendings for parking place - Bellagio is full of cars, especially in high season, so forget about free parking spaces - be happy finding paid one and it's 1.5 euro per hour. So the whole day in Bellagio means at least 10 euro extra...

Forget about buses or any other transport means - only car or motoped. I'm not a bicycle man but as far as going down to Bellagio would be only the pleasure (all the way down), getting back would be different story - up the hill all the 10 km way...not for holiday bicyclers I think.

One remark - although Tripadvisor says hotel is trattoria as well - it's not true. Unfortunately they closed the trattoria so if you want to eat something - Bellagio or a few local places.

About 5 minutes walk from hotel there is a small, very well equipped grocery store.

And last thing - in the whole region you have to be aware of the fact that restaurants are open by midday and then just after 18.00 - 19.00. We had though time one day trying to find open place to eat something about 17.00.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the room with balcony. Then you'll have the place for having glass of wine in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Overall, this hotel in the region of Bellagio was a good way to make holidays at lake Como.
The rooms were clean and the hotel was nice and cosy. Breakfast was good. All food seemed to be fresh and replaced immediately when empty.
The service was very good and friendly. We were provided with plenty of tips and hints about activities around Bellagio. Finding information about the next train departure or making a reservation for a kayak tour seemed to be a quite natural service. Thanks a lot for that!

Nevertheless we also experienced some drawbacks:

First, the hotel was quite far away from Bellagio and the lakeside. It took about 15-20 min by car to reach the mentioned destinations. Without car or motorbike, holidays at il Nibbio are quite ambitious when you intend to get around a bit.

Second, though the rooms were clean as mentioned, we experienced a quite bad smell from the bath. This is certainly owed to the sanitation and not the fault of the hotel, but some air fresheners would have been pretty welcome. Furthermore, we ran out of toilet paper two times in 7 days. This could be handled better. An option to dry wett closes or towels was missing as well.

Keeping these little drawbacks in mind, Il Nibbio is a recommendable hotel for a good price in a quite expensive (but gorgeous!) region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farona2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very nice little hotel near Bellagio, really good priced. Rooms are nice, breakfast really good. If you go with little kids ask for 1st floor since they do not have elevator. Daisy was really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice clean hotel in a very very beautiful place. Friendly, helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. Not far from Bellagio (about 15 min by car). Very picturesque landscape. I would like stay here on my next trip to Como Lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giedrius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Loved this small hotel in the hills above Bellagio. Great value and lovely staff. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was very nice. Only a short 10 minute drive down to the center of Bellagio. Definitely plan to stay here my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week.
We used this as a base for our visit to the lakes and it could not have been better.
We had a balcony at the side of our room and the staff and overall presentation was excellent.
It was very enjoyable sitting on the deck watching life go by.
Breakfast was enjoyable with a coffee of your choice.
We would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbro13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magreglio
8.7 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
12.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#7 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante National
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ristorante Albergo Bellavista
3.9 mi away
Park Hotel Abbadia
Park Hotel Abbadia
#1 of 1 in Abbadia Lariana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nibbio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nibbio

Property: Hotel Il Nibbio
Address: Via Adua 13/15, 22030 Magreglio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Magreglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magreglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Nibbio 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Il NIbbio has 12 rooms all with private bathroom, hairdryer , flat screen TV and wireless gratuito.La that you will find breakfast is continental , with sweet and savory .On the ground floor you will find the bar to buy drinks or Italian wines, of which there is a wide selection , having also owns a wine shop in the center of Bellagio ( Wine Princess ) .Next to the hotel there are also two public car parks free of charge.The hotel is situated on the hill of Ghisallo , famous cycling uphill , where it is in fact the Sanctuary of the Madonna del Ghisallo dedicated to cyclists.With only a 15 minute drive you can reach Bellagio , the pearl of Lake Como , and from there go on a boat tour of the lake and have the opportunity to visit the many nineteenth-century villas in Tremezzo , Menaggio, Cadenabbia and Varenna with their colorful gardens.With a quarter of an hour's drive you can reach even more in Switzerland and visit the lake of Lugano and the city of Lecco and Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Il Nibbio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing