We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Casamassima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Casamassima
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Rustic Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our three days in Umbria at Casamassima were the highlight of a wonderful two-week Italian getaway. The perfect weather, green rolling hills, incredible food and wine of the region were perfectly complemented by the high-quality lodging, attentive yet hands-off hospitality, and picture-perfect outdoor grounds at Relais Casamassima, and Anna's hospitality, big breakfasts and "insider" recommendations. Thank you again! And we look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustufaYaMustufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We couldn't have enjoyed our stay at Casamassima more! Anna was the most gracious and kind hostess and our room was absolutely beautifully appointed. Anna went out of her way to make us comfortable and although we did not initially plan to stay two days in Umbria we couldn't resist the restful atmosphere and the spacious, comfortable suite, decorated with impeccable taste.
Upon arrival the three of us instantly loved the restored farmhouse, we were looking for a taste of the traditional, with all the modern updating and found it! The rooms and common areas, the breakfast room, especially the bathroom in our suite was decorated with the most high-end fixtures that one would choose for their own master bath.
The surrounding grounds are a continual feast for the city dweller who gets little opportunity to enjoy things like olive orchards, vineyards, gardens, swimming pool.
Breakfast was included and entirely homemade with farm fresh eggs and made specifically to order with more than generous portions.
We dream to return!!! If I were planning to stay in Perugia or Assisi I would change my plans and stay in this lovely retreat which is very close to either destination and avoid the problems of parking and driving in either city. So glad we 'stumbled upon' this wonderful guesthouse, it was the highlight of our vacation. I've already recommended to several friends who plan to visit Italy this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna50Perugia, Proprietario at Relais Casamassima, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your so nice comment! I look very much forward to seeing you again too!
All the best
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our three night stay in Relais Casamassima was one of the highlights of our trip. Our room was large, comfortable, beautifully designed and decorated. Outstanding mattress and pillows, always important to me. Breakfast included eggs that were laid that morning by chickens on the property and delicious croissants and pastries freshly baked by the owner, our hostess Anna Casamassima. She couldn't have been friendlier, more charming or helpful. She prepared an outstanding dinner for us, using olive oil (delicious and peppery) from her olive trees, wine from her vineyard, and again, the freshest of eggs. We loved everything about our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I have seen rooms 1 and 2 and both are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucsonhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful countryside villa with elegantly remodeled suites. My husband and I can't wait to return! Breakfasts were absolutely amazing!! The estate has been in the family for over 200 years and our hostess was the definition of grace and charm. Truly a wonderful experience in every regard.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusanWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved Casamassima! It's a converted farmhouse that's been in the same family for 200 years. The people there are wonderful, extremely helpful and kind. The grounds are just beautiful with views of Perugia in the distance. It's still a working farm with olive orchards and vineyards. You can buy their homemade olive oil and wines. The room was so charming! It had a separate living room and bedroom and stone walls all around, a skylight and fireplace! So comfortable, quiet and scenic!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at Casamassima in April for four nights and found ourselves wishing we could stay longer. If you are looking for the classic Italian villa experience, look no further. Casamassima is a working farm which still produces its own wine and olive oil. We stayed in one of the exquisitely renovated suites in a refurbished barn. It was light, airy, and even had a working fireplace. The suites offer an Italian villa experience to those who don't have a big enough party to justify renting the entire villa.

The hostess Anna was wonderful: extremely hospitable and very knowledgable about the local area. She helped us with restaurant recommendations and is an excellent cook herself. She prepared several meals for us featuring fresh, local ingredients. Anna was frequently accompanied in her gardens by two "helpers": Valentino and Truchelo, the resident cats who add lots of character to the place.

Only a couple hours drive north of Rome, the location is a great launching point for exploring nearby towns like Assisi and Perugia.

Make sure you leave time to lounge next to the pool at sunset and listen to the birds!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have to say the entire experience was exceptional. The suite was spacious, well appointed and so inviting that it was hard to leave yet the beckoning gardens and Umbrian vistas made it impossible to stay inside. The suggested daily activities took us through the countryside enjoying a fantastic balance of history, culture and gastronomy.
A return trip is on the agenda for October!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montelaguardia
2.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
13.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Relais San Clemente
#1 of 1 in Bosco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
17.4 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.5 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Casamassima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Casamassima

Property: Relais Casamassima
Address: Strada Pieve San Sebastiano 5, 06134 Montelaguardia, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > Montelaguardia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Montelaguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relais Casamassima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing