We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Reef Cottage

Reef Cottage at Wonga Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Reef Cottage at Wonga Beach
Entering our Cottage View from dining area into the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Reef Cottage at Wonga Beach
Entering our Cottage
View from dining area into the lounge
Romantic theme in the Cottage
Lounge with TV, BluRay player and mobile phone dock
Looking towards gourmet kitchen
Kitchen stove area with Espresso maker
Luxury Bedroom 1, sunroom at end
Luxury Bedroom 2 - tropical serenity
The sunroom, another place to relax or meditate in
Bathroom with a rainforest view
Cool bathroom reflections
Outdoor setting on back deck
Socialise at fire-pit with BBQ nearby
The plunge pool, intimate and quite deep
Backyard garden, scrubfowl nest in distance
Outdoor shower and foot wash area
You're only 200 steps from a pristine beach
Lazy morning with rippled sand at South Wonga Beach
Gone to the beach!
Coral flats of Bell Reef at South Wonga Beach
Swimming in the Mossman Gorge should be experienced by all
The sprawling Tranquility Falls at Upper Daintree
Rare capture of Cassowary bathing in remote Cape Tribulation creek
Velvet rainforest and pristine beach meet aquamarine dream at Cape Tribulation
Snorkelling at Cape Tribulation, just off Mackay Sand Cay, is amazing
Private charter boat with guests ready to tour the Great Barrier Reef
When you're in the Reef.....(at Opal Reef)
Reef Cottage's location is central to places of interest all around.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wonga Beach, Daintree Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
elecmeas
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you are reading this, looking for somewhere to stay whilst exploring north Queensland, look no further. This cottage must be, by far the best there is.
Mei, the owner is a lovely lady who has obviously put a huge amount of time and effort
into creating the perfect holiday home and she has thought of everything. My wife and I
stayed for six days and loved every minute. The only downside - you won't want to leave. Thank you Mei.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you for a lovely memory. We hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens02
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect home base in FNQ”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you are looking for a home base to explore Far North Queensland, look no further! Host Mei is exceptionally helpful and shares her local knowledge. There are so many things to do! Next time we have to stay longer. The cottage is the cleanest, best equipped and nicest decorated rental home we ever stayed in. The garden is beautiful and private, liked the plunge pool and everything else like the lovely collection of books, DVD´s and even an iPad with loads of information what to do, maps etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
You were lovely for us to accommodate. We really look forward to be able to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anonS4884...
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Immaculately Presented”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Reef Cottage is immaculately presented with high quality furnishings and equipment. There is also a very pleasant back garden with decking area, BBQ and private pool. Wonga beach is only a minute's walk from the cottage and is great for beach walks or simply relaxing. And the stunning natural scenery of Daintree National Park is a short car journey away, via the Daintree River ferry.

The owners have great attention to detail and go out of their way to ensure that every conceivable need is catered for. They were a pleasure to deal with before and during our stay and promptly provided some invaluable assistance when we needed it.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Reef Cottage as a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay and a fine base for exploring the wider Daintree region.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kindness in looking after the Cottage. We very much enjoyed our hosting experience with you and wish you well for the rest of your holiday around Australia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COYI1959
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful 5 star cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

One of the best holiday rentals I have stayed in, anywhere in the world! The location is very peaceful and perfect to come back to after a day exploring Northern Queensland and the Daintree. Only a 100m from a perfect unspoilt beach, and the facilities at the cottage were excellent. The kitchen has absolutely everything including a coffee machine and smoothie maker. The garden includes a welcome plunge pool, citronella torch to keep the bugs away and comfortable furniture for al fresco eating. Everything was pristine and clean.
There is a huge array of books and information on the locality, history and the wide variety of activities to do in the area. Wei, the owner is extremely helpful and can offer advice on the best activities available. Would love to return when I am next in Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience of the cottage
Liked least: I loved everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to being of service again when you next visit Australia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahorisber...
2 reviews
“A perfect place and Host”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family stayed at the reef cottage in july for 5 nights. We enjoyed the little paradies! It was a perfekt base to explore the Daintree region. Mei is very friendly and helpfull, her tips and support for doing a daytrip with Brett was super..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
You and your family are always welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanPan66
1 review
“Perfectly located cottage that has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My partner and I were very impressed by all the amenities provided by this cottage. It had everything we would possibly need for our 5 night stay. The little things showed the thought put into the place such as camping chairs (with a shade cover!), an esky for a picnic, insect repellant, hats, umbrellas etc. These small items made for such a comfortable holiday.

The whole place was very clean, it is a great idea to have a foot wash out the back to maintain the cleanliness of the place.

The location is amazing! It literally is only a 2min walk to a beautiful quiet beach. Watching a sunrise or two there is a must!
It is also ideally located between Port Douglas and the Daintree. So much to explore.

We used the very informative documents provided that show what activities and tours you can do in the area. Again, the thought put into this place is fantastic.

We absolutely loved this place and would stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
We enjoyed our hosting experience with you and hope we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rand0m_Tr...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Extraordinary place”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just visited Wonga beach with our two kids staying at the Reef Cottage for a week, hiding away from Canberra cold and rainy winter. We can highly recommend it to anyone seeking adventures holidays in the North Queensland. First of all, it is perfectly located between Daintree and Port Douglas in a quiet village just 75m from the beach. Second of all, if you ever wondered what home away from home looked like come and stay here. Not only it has literally everything to comfortably live in and being entertained, it is meticulously maintained by Mei and her husband Mike. Third, you most likely will receive personal attention to all your holidays needs from the moment you are welcomed by Mei on your arrival, as was the case with us. The only regret we had, we wish we could stay there longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We very much enjoyed hosting you and your family and will welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing