We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful North Queensland Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Reef Cottage

Reef Cottage at Wonga Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Reef Cottage at Wonga Beach
Entering our Cottage View from dining area into the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Reef Cottage at Wonga Beach
Entering our Cottage
View from dining area into the lounge
Romantic theme in the Cottage
Lounge with TV, BluRay player and mobile phone dock
Looking towards gourmet kitchen
Kitchen stove area with Espresso maker
Luxury Bedroom 1, sunroom at end
Luxury Bedroom 2 - tropical serenity
The sunroom, another place to relax or meditate in
Bathroom with a rainforest view
Cool bathroom reflections
Outdoor setting on back deck
Socialise at fire-pit with BBQ nearby
The plunge pool, intimate and quite deep
Backyard garden, scrubfowl nest in distance
Outdoor shower and foot wash area
You're only 200 steps from a pristine beach
Lazy morning with rippled sand at South Wonga Beach
Gone to the beach!
Coral flats of Bell Reef at South Wonga Beach
Swimming in the Mossman Gorge should be experienced by all
The sprawling Tranquility Falls at Upper Daintree
Rare capture of Cassowary bathing in remote Cape Tribulation creek
Velvet rainforest and pristine beach meet aquamarine dream at Cape Tribulation
Snorkelling at Cape Tribulation, just off Mackay Sand Cay, is amazing
Private charter boat with guests ready to tour the Great Barrier Reef
When you're in the Reef.....(at Opal Reef)
Reef Cottage's location is central to places of interest all around.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wonga Beach, Daintree Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lamplamb
west wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful North Queensland Cottage”
Reviewed 16 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Reef Cottage is beautifully presented, comfortable and spotlessly clean and perfectly positioned for exploring the Daintree, Reef and all the other attractions the area has to offer and Wonga Beach is just a short stroll away. A lovely base to come back to at the end of the day or just chill out with a great pool to cool down in.
Mei was a real pleasure to deal with from the beginning and was her advice was so helpful.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2017
You were amazing, taking the number of tours during your week long stay here. We were really thrilled you chose Reef Cottage as a base to relax at while you immerse yourselves in our Heritage region. Thank you for taking very good care of our holiday home. We will have an unforgettable memory of your stay and would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C
1 review
“Relaxing, tranquil, perfect”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was the holiday house we were looking for, we were on a family holiday after getting married so were looking for something a bit special where we could relax. We felt like we were staying in a luxury resort while having the privacy of being in our own house. It was such a peaceful stay. A few meters away from the beach in a very quiet street. We stayed in September and found the house did not require aircon (which is there if needed) due to the well designed cooling features. We were able to have all the windows open and enjoy the wonderful sounds of the birds and wildlife night and day. The pool is saltwater and left you feeling refreshed, we were pleased that the pool sat under a fair amount of shade in the afternoon. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept soundly during our stay. The house was incredibly clean and was cleaned mid stay as we were there for 10 days. The host is very friendly and passionate about the area and provided a wealth of information. Every room was beautifully presented and exceptionally maintained. The hosts have filled the house with everything you could possibly need. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it, while the photos show it off, it is so much better in real life and had more space than I had expected

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for a kind and thoughtful review of your stay at Reef Cottage. You understood our ethos and design concepts and respected our home with that appreciation. We devote much of ourselves to ensure that we offer a genuinely relaxing home of quality for our guests. Thank you for looking after our holiday home and giving us such a lovely hosting experience. You will always be welcome at Reef Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberttC3...
Central Point, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Immaculate cottage in great location”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I just completed a 6 night stay at Reef Cottage. We now understand why previous reviews have been so good. This home away from home is perfectly furnished and equipped and reflects Mei’s good taste and meticulous attention to detail. The location is perfect for exploring the area, spending time on the nearby beach or just hanging out on the property. Be sure to take advantage of Mei’s wealth of information about the area. Two of her specific recommendations, Mojo’s Restaurant and Solar Whisper Wildlife Cruise are highlights of our stay in Australia.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
This was an amazing hosting experience for us as we found kindred passion for nature and shared similar taste in music as well. We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed our home and used every opportunity to visit the surrounding rainforest and rivers. Thank you for looking after our holiday house so well. Mei loved watching that very interesting slide show of wildlife from your travels and we both will miss you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica B
Tarcoola
2 reviews
“The reef house”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the cottage, beautifully decorated, well appointed kitchen, wonderfully quiet area. Definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you for the care you took during your stay at Reef Cottage. We look forward to being able to welcome you at the Cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
459lariss...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful luxurious cottage”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Thankyou Mei, we all enjoyed our 5 night stay in your beautiful cottage on Wonga Beach. Perfect location to explore the Daintree and Mossman, a very beautiful and fascinating part of Australia. Wonga Beach itself was just amazing, so quiet and secluded, it was almost like having your own private beach in paradise and just a stones throw from the cottage. The cottage was absolutely spotless and so comfortable, great kitchen to cook meals and loved using the barbecue at night and sitting out listening to the wildlife. When we first arrived it was incredibly hot outisde and the pool was a saviour, in fact I don't think there was a day we didn't jump in. Once again thankyou, we hope to return again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
We were pleased to find that you and your family had a really enjoyable time with us. My husband and I strive to provide a tropical lifestyle beach house for guests to chill with our many facilities and also the resources to help them delight in the amazing local attractions. Thank you for the care you took during your stay at Reef Cottage – much appreciated. You were perfect visitors to us! We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wstuart95...
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Reef cottage is perfectly and thoroughly appointed with all things big and small.
Most important was a comfortable bed and pillows covered in soft white linen plus the rooms are air conditioned. Kitchen has everything laid out so its easy to find utensils , dishes, glsses etc to cook up a great meal. Plenty of special spots to relax ...round the pool, on the back deck, the front sun room, loungeroom or the quaint sitting room off the master bedroom. A large selection of books dvd's, cd's and information literature on local attractions plus an ipad full of info on flora and fauna.
The cottage is spotlessly clean and comfortable. Enjoy your stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
We are so pleased that you and your mother had a really relaxed stay at Reef Cottage as we strive to provide a real home for guests. Although you’ve been this way before, you took the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful world heritage protected surrounds again. Thank you for the exceptional care you took of our holiday house - we appreciate your attention and respect. You will always be welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi O
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our time spent at reef cottage was short but very relaxing, the cottage has everything you need and more which made our stay very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
We are so pleased you relaxed well with our facilities. Thank you for the care you took during your stay at Reef Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing