We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family farm cottages”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foxdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kionslieu Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I've been visting the Isle of Man for almost 40 years now and have never found a nicer place to stay. My family and I have now stayed at Kionslieu Farm for seven years in succession and we have never been disappointed. The cottages are very comfortable, the farm has animals and toys for the children to enjoy and the Barkers are very hospitable hosts. Foxdale is also conveniently located for travelling around the island, though you do need a car. We'll be back again next year - what better recommendation can there be?

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonOzymandias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

We are regular visitors to the island and have been for the last 20 years. this was by far the best accomadation we have had ,quiet very friendly and helpfull ,and very well situated for getting any where on the island.We stayed in Peacocks Rest which was very well equiped ,very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Fiona & Tony were very helpfull in all aspects of our stay .a big thankyou to them both.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleybob9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just back from two weeks in Blackberry Cottage. We go self-catering every year, to different places, and this was the nicest place we have ever stayed in, by a long way!

The cottage was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and very well-equipped with everything we needed. Also more spacious than it appeared from the website! Fiona and Tony could not have been more welcoming and we really enjoyed the home-grown tomatoes and cucumber, eggs from the chickens and home-made jam!

The cottages are set well back from the "main road" (in quotes because it's not exactly busy - I think we saw one other car on the road past the farm while we were there!) and there's loads for children to explore - tree house, play structure, games loft, helping out with the animals or playing hide and seek around the grounds. Our son enjoyed making friends with the children staying in the other cottages.

The farm is the perfect base to explore the Isle of Man - it's very central so only 15 minutes to either Douglas (E) or Peel (W), and less than 30 minutes to Ramsey (N) or Port Erin (S). There's something for everyone, from sandy beaches, coastal cliff walks, mountains and glens, heritage sites exploring the island's Celtic and Viking past - all are in easy reach.

We are so glad we came here, we had such a wonderful two weeks. We're now plotting our retirement to the Isle of Man as soon as we can arrange it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickylarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The cottage was of a really high standard and was on a farm with play equipment for kids (our youngest are 3 and 5) and they could feed the rabbits and chickens in a safe and secure environment. Swing ball and a pool table enternained our 11 year old as did the large flat screen TV and DVD player. Set in a beautiful part of the island it was very central and provided an excellent base for touring. The beds were really comfy and we had a great night's sleep every night.The owners were lovely and we definitely intend to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chutchinson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We had a fantastic holiday in the cottage, stayed in redwheel cottage and it was just so homely, everything you could think of was there for us. Our stay in the Isle of Man was great- I would highly recommend it- Fiona and Tony are ideal hosts. We travelled with a 2 year old who just loved all the space to run around and see the animals and play on the swings- we know where we are heading next years on holiday!! need I say more....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AQire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

this is our ninth year visiting these people,fantastic hosts,and family,superb cottages and i.o.m.is just perfect,loads to see and do.will be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This was our 2nd visit to the island and the 2nd time we stayed at Kionslieu farm and it was as good a holiday as the 1st, if not better!! Kionslieu Farm is the perfect location for visiting all the locations on the island such as Douglas, Peel, Ramsey etc but it is also tucked away in a quiet location for when you want to relax at the end of the day.

This holiday was to include our first ever TT visit and it was excellent. We travelled by motorbike so luggage was very limited. However we did not need to worry as everything you could possibly need was waiting for us at the cottage from bath/hand towels, hairdryer, tea & coffee to a selection of dvd's for us to watch when we wanted to relax at the cottage.

Fiona and her family are ever so friendly and the best you could ever want to meet. They make you feel so welcome in their home, that you feel like you have known them for years. Fiona was also very helpful in answering any questions or concerns we had before we got to the island, she helped us while we were there and is again now that we are home and enquiring about booking next years trip!!

All in all, we would recommend these cottages very highly to anyone wishing to visit the island. We agree that this has been an excellent find for us and we are so lucky to have found such a lovely location. We can't wait to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine-NorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxdale
6.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 16 in Douglas
391 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
6.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 16 in Douglas
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
304 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 16 in Douglas
431 reviews
4.0 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kionslieu Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kionslieu Farm Cottages

Address: Kionslieu Farm, Higher Foxdale, Foxdale IM4 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Foxdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Foxdale
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kionslieu Farm offers a choice of five spacious self catering cottages (sleeping 2-6) set on a traditional farmyard in the heart of peaceful Isle of Man. An ideal central location, only a 15 minute drive from ferry and airport, perfect for exploring the beautiful Isle of Man. We have large gardens, bbq, play area and friendly farm animals to meet. There's also free wifi access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kionslieu Farm Cottages Isle Of Man, UK - Foxdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing