We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic week back in the homeland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foxdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kionslieu Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Just back from a half term week on the island, Fiona and Tony were very welcoming and approachable.
Cottages are clean and an ideal base for the island - loved the early morning walks in particular.
Pool room was a big favourite with our eldest, where are other two boys loved the treehouse and animals.
We hope to become regulars in the years to come !!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theclagues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

We have just returned from a lovely week at Kionslieu in Blackberry Cottage.
Cottage was clean, well equipped. spacious and warm. Extremely peaceful location with great views across the valley.
Although Foxdale itself is a little away from the main tourist places the central location means you can be anywhere in the south of the Isle of Man in about 20mins. Douglas is about 15 mins and Peel 10mins.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We have just visited Kionslieu cottages for the first time and stayed in Blackberry cottage. We have had a wonderful holiday! Fiona and Tony are very welcoming, the cottage was to a high standard, very fresh and clean. The farm is the perfect place to stay with children, they have outside toys and playset, lots of grass areas, chickens, rabbits, pony's and sheep. We found it very relaxing to stay at the cottage and let Evan (20 months old) play and explore and visit the animals many times a day! The location of the farm is perfect, everywhere is quite close, makes it easy to find places to eat, have days out etc. There's plenty to do on the Isle of Man, we liked how close it was to home yet we felt like we were in a different Country. We can't wait to return for another holiday next year. Thank you Fiona and Tony for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyClitheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I've been visting the Isle of Man for almost 40 years now and have never found a nicer place to stay. My family and I have now stayed at Kionslieu Farm for seven years in succession and we have never been disappointed. The cottages are very comfortable, the farm has animals and toys for the children to enjoy and the Barkers are very hospitable hosts. Foxdale is also conveniently located for travelling around the island, though you do need a car. We'll be back again next year - what better recommendation can there be?

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonOzymandias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We are regular visitors to the island and have been for the last 20 years. this was by far the best accomadation we have had ,quiet very friendly and helpfull ,and very well situated for getting any where on the island.We stayed in Peacocks Rest which was very well equiped ,very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Fiona & Tony were very helpfull in all aspects of our stay .a big thankyou to them both.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleybob9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just back from two weeks in Blackberry Cottage. We go self-catering every year, to different places, and this was the nicest place we have ever stayed in, by a long way!

The cottage was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and very well-equipped with everything we needed. Also more spacious than it appeared from the website! Fiona and Tony could not have been more welcoming and we really enjoyed the home-grown tomatoes and cucumber, eggs from the chickens and home-made jam!

The cottages are set well back from the "main road" (in quotes because it's not exactly busy - I think we saw one other car on the road past the farm while we were there!) and there's loads for children to explore - tree house, play structure, games loft, helping out with the animals or playing hide and seek around the grounds. Our son enjoyed making friends with the children staying in the other cottages.

The farm is the perfect base to explore the Isle of Man - it's very central so only 15 minutes to either Douglas (E) or Peel (W), and less than 30 minutes to Ramsey (N) or Port Erin (S). There's something for everyone, from sandy beaches, coastal cliff walks, mountains and glens, heritage sites exploring the island's Celtic and Viking past - all are in easy reach.

We are so glad we came here, we had such a wonderful two weeks. We're now plotting our retirement to the Isle of Man as soon as we can arrange it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickylarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The cottage was of a really high standard and was on a farm with play equipment for kids (our youngest are 3 and 5) and they could feed the rabbits and chickens in a safe and secure environment. Swing ball and a pool table enternained our 11 year old as did the large flat screen TV and DVD player. Set in a beautiful part of the island it was very central and provided an excellent base for touring. The beds were really comfy and we had a great night's sleep every night.The owners were lovely and we definitely intend to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chutchinson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kionslieu Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kionslieu Farm Cottages

Address: Kionslieu Hill, Kionslieu Farm, Higher Foxdale, Foxdale IM4 3HB
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Foxdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Foxdale
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kionslieu Farm offers a choice of five spacious self catering cottages (sleeping 2-6) set on a traditional farmyard in the heart of peaceful Isle of Man. An ideal central location, only a 15 minute drive from ferry and airport, perfect for exploring the beautiful Isle of Man. We have large gardens, bbq, play area and friendly farm animals to meet. There's also free wifi access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kionslieu Farm Cottages Isle Of Man, UK - Foxdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing