We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look, it's not right in Verbier but it's actually a pretty nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Spa La Vallee
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lourtier
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Ok, we booked a 4 day trip relatively late for one of the busier weekends of the ski season in Verbier. This was the only hotel in the vicinity that had rooms.

Firstly, the location. On the website it says 5-10 mins from Verbier. This isn't really true. I reckon it's probably a good 15 minute drive to the Le Chable gondola which then takes you up to the Medran gondola and from there you can either get out and walk around Verbier village (rent skis etc) or head straight up the mountain. If you drive from the hotel into Verbier itself you're looking at 30-40 minutes I reckon (cause of the windy road up to the village).

To get to Le Chable you need to either drive yourself and park, catch a local bus (a bus stops right out the front of the hotel at 8.45 but not again until 11.30!) or organise a taxi which costs about 30 Francs - into Verbier it's closer to 70. We caught the bus to Le Chable on the first morning and it didn't cost anything. It did take a while though. That afternoon we went back down to Le Chable in the gondola and called a cab although we could have waited for the bus.

Note as well that if you get an airport transfer, they are only allowed to drop you in one spot in Verbier village which means you'd have to get a taxi from there all the way back down the mountain and to the hotel. We did some swift talking to get the transfer service to drop us in Le Chable on the evening we arrived then we got a cab to the hotel but I would not count on that.

So the location is what it is but what I want to point out is that the hotel itself is actually pretty good! We had two lovely dinners (there's nowhere else nearby), breakfast was great, the room was spacious and comfortable and the spa, well who would have thought! I was expecting a dodgy sauna in a broom cupboard but what I found was more akin to the Mandarin Oriental, including an outdoor hot tub! Mandarin Oriental might be a slight exaggeration but honestly it was brilliant and all part of the package.

So listen, if you want to be out of bed and up Mont Fort within 10 minutes this place isn't for you. If you want to apres into the small hours every night, this place isn't for you. If sorting some logistics to get around drives you crazy, then this place isn't for you. But if you don't mind that stuff then this place is absolutely fine. Yes, we left after 2 nights and stayed in the village (as a room came up) and that was great; and no we didn't get refunded for the two extra nights by the hotel but we knew the conditions of the booking and that was our choice. However, we both agreed that we would stay here again and ultimately actually enjoyed having stayed a couple of nights somewhere a little different.

I hope that helps anyone in two minds about whether this is a place you can stay at for a ski break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Booked at last minute a 1 night stay, very comfortable hotel in small village of Lourtier. 10 mins downhill drive/ride to Le Chable lift up to Verbier and conveniently located for steep mountain bike trails or back roads down from Verbier itself.

I was the only guest at dinner and breakfast and I suspect the only overnight guest. Large room with very comfortable bed. Price fairly high for the location., had I booked sooner hotels in Verbier itself would have been available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel is NOT in Verbier! People are getting it confused with Hotel les 4 Vallees in Verbier. We stayed at this hotel thinking it was near the lifts, town etc based on the reviews and it was a major hassle. Taxi to Verbier is 80CHF, buses run only every hour AT BEST. I can't say enough how disappointed we were about the location and how misleading ALL of the reviews were. On top of it, the hotel would not refund our money so we ended up paying for TWO hotels so we could be in town- was just too much of a hassle to go back and forth.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kimsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP1957, Propriétaire at Hotel & Spa La Vallee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutte le camere hanno buona vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank fgi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jeffi1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lourtier
3.3 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
505 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#3 of 23 in Verbier
141 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Chalet d'Adrien
Le Chalet d'Adrien
#2 of 23 in Verbier
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#7 of 23 in Verbier
204 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa La Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa La Vallee

Address: route de Mauvoisin 380, Lourtier 1948, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Lourtier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lourtier
Price Range: £156 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa La Vallee 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3* family-run hotel located in the heart of the village of Lourtier, only minutes away from Verbier and the 4 Vallées ski area. The hotel has 15 cosy rooms, a restaurant where up to 130 guests can be served local specialities, a 150m2 spa with sauna, hammam and an outdoor hot tub, a helipad and 2 seminar rooms. The hotel offers an all-inclusive service during your stay in the mountains. In addition to the adventure packages available, featuring heliski, mountain bike, yoga & trekking, the managers will be happy to customize your stay according to your desires. Highlights: - Heliski Lodge with helipad in the garden - mountain bike friendly hotel - new spa with sauna, hammam, bio outdoor hot tub, massage room - seminar hotel - local cuisine with fresh ingredients from the hotel's garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa La Vallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Spa La Vallee Switzerland/Lourtier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing