We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Gheorgheni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cozy stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We walked in without a reservation and we were nicely greeted by their friendly dog! The manager was very friendly and helpful. He found us a room right away. He also cooked us a wonderfful dinner. We were very pleased and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    11
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
43
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We have spent a week in here and feel very well. Very cosy place and friendly staff. The manager is very friendly and helpfull. A good place to spend with friends and family. We haven't tried all facilities as it was very cold. I beleive that summer time is much nicer in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for a couple of days in Red Lake Inn after spending some
time with our friends in Cluj- Napoca. It was really the highlight of
our Transylvania trip. The Lacu Rosu-Bicas area and Gheorgheni city
were a little sleepy this time of year, after the Holidays. It was
also very cold, although the locals said it was much warmer than last
year this time. If you are still going to this area this time of the
year, Red Lake Inn is probably the best place to stay. The location
was a great starting point for site seeing. From the hotel, there was
a beautiful view of the Carpathian Mountains with a little creek
crossing the lot, perfect for a great daytime walk. The original guest
house was completely renovated and has been converted into a small and
warm hotel with a great attention to details. The lobby with its
comfortable armchairs and a big fireplace is adorable. The guestroom
corridor with a small library is also nice. The guestroom is cozy, and
the bedding was high quality, which is almost impossible to find in
Transylvania. The bathroom was unique too. One of the front facing
rooms, featured a balcony and direct view of the creek and the
mountains. We chose that one. For us it was a little more special than
the other ones. All that being said, the room was quiet and
comfortable and had every feature you could need.
We had dinner at the hotel. Food and service was some of the best
throughout our 14 day trip. Everything was delicious including the
local wines, which tended to be moderately priced too.

Room Tip: Be adventures, try a room with a bunk bed for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szekszard, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Four of us stayed there after big New Year party in Gyergyoditro. We were looking for ease, relax and quite. Luckily we found The Place. Kind hosts did everything for that. We were asking for some cold appetizers,after eating too much during the holidays, a heated sauna and comfortable bedrooms. We got it all. We woke up energized again the next morning and spent the rest of our stay with a great breakfast then we went for a horse carriage ride with hot drinks organized by the hotel. It was a really nice start of 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirgu Mures, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just the two of us booked the Christmas holiday time at Red Lake Inn. We had a magical and romantic stay at this mountain house. It is not only the mountains which put us in a festive mood but the house itself was beautifully decorated for Christmas. After a great dinner with fresh home made dished and delicious cakes, we could sit around the fireplace next to the Christmas tree and enjoy the peacefulness and warmth of Red Lake Inn. The hotel and our room was well and newly equipped compared to other three stars in the area, if we were in the need for something the hotel workers were always there. Altogether this hotel was the best choice from every aspects to spend an unforgettable holiday with my boyfriend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Borbala V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We decided with Red Lake Inn after reading many positive reviews from the Tripadvisor community. Upon arrival we were welcomed by a kind and helpful staff+ a cute friendly dog. After a long drive from the airport it felt good to move in warm house with comfortable and clean areas. Although the weather was not the best it was good to splash in the jacuzzi and sit in the sauna before dinner. Dinner was simply divine. It was combine with traditional/local and modern kitchen. Service was excellent, they were always there to take care for our needs. We had a great night sleep. The house and the surrounding gardens are very quite, the single noise was the trees in the wind and the quite sound of the mountain creek in the property. It was a unique natural and culinary experience for a Moroccan. We can absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aziz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had an excellent time staying at this inn for a 2 nights. Parking is very easy there is large parking space for your car. Hotel staff was very friendly and allowed an early check in too as the room was ready, and we made it one hour earlier there, then their check in time. Complimentary bottle of mineral water was waiting for us in the room. The inn and its rooms were clean and comfortable, with beautiful views. Facilities are also great, spa, outdoor games for kids and adults, the inn also has horseback riding classes with professional trainer and beautiful horses. Dinner and palinka were delicious, the presentation was excellent and the atmosphere was warm and delightful. All food tasted freshly cooked not reheated. We are not wine drinkers but the wine selection looked extensive. We will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ludmila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gheorgheni
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Iasicon
#1 of 1 in Lacu Rosu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vila Varpatak
Vila Varpatak
#3 of 15 in Gheorgheni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensiunea Fenyo
Pensiunea Fenyo
#1 of 5 in Gheorgheni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 15 in Gheorgheni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lacu Rosu
Hotel Lacu Rosu
#2 of 5 in Gheorgheni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Filo
#6 of 15 in Gheorgheni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lake Inn

Property: Red Lake Inn
Address: Paraul Cianod 1, Gheorgheni 535500, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Harghita County > Gheorgheni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gheorgheni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lake Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel enjoys a peaceful location in the countryside, with a creek running by the property. All rooms have wood floors,and private bathroom. Rooms come with a free use of the wellness, fitness area including trampolite, table tennis football field. Rich country breakfast, Wi-Fi, LCD TV, clear products, bathrobe is included in the room price too. For direction: go along 6,5 km from the center of Gheorgheni toward Red Lake (Lacu Rosu) on road 12C take left to the street Paraul Cianod. Front desk 24 hours a day. They organize climbing, skiing, fishing and horseback riding quad and snowmotor rent, bear safari. The Red Lake and Bicaz Canyon is at a distance of 15 km. Upon request and at an extra charge, hotel provides airport pick-up service with its mini bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing