We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful surroundings, lovely people, comfortable room, tasty breakfast and excellent service”
Review of Seas The Day B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seas The Day B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I was looking for a reasonable bed and breakfast for just one night on Phillip Island during a visit in mid-March 2013 from two dear friends flying over for only a week from the US. Seas the Day was close to everything we wanted to see, the right price and turned out to be a real gem! The hosts were wonderful and went above and beyond to accommodate any requests we had. Bill even let us borrow his personal binoculars to get a better view of the penguins! The hot tub was just the right temperature for soaking even though we were in the middle of a heat wave, and Jeanette brought me a cold glass of water with lemon to enjoy while I relaxed with my book in the spa. They gave us tips on where to find take out food on the island, and made sure the two vegetarians had plenty of good food to eat for breakfast. A bed and breakfast always seems a nice way to get a more personal experience when visiting a place for a short period of time, and we loved that about Seas the Day. You won't find a more delightful experience for the great price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meagan292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Meagan, Thanks for comprehensive and thoughful account of our place. Really made up that you girls enjoy your short stay here and that the weather was in your favour to enjoy our local beach and unique garden oasis. Hope to see you back here one day. all the best from Jeanette & Bill,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed in Driftwood room and arrived a little late on Friday night after work. The hosts were still waiting for us to provide their warm greeting and show us to the room. We decided not to use the spa that night but is was available even at 9.30pm.

We settled in quickly and found the room very well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. I was pleased to see that everything in the room was complimentary. Not a full minibar or anything but still nice to have.

After a good night sleep we enjoyed the hearty breakfast others have commented on which required some walking off. We wandered the gardens and took a stroll to the beach before checking out.

I've stayed at a few B&B's in the past and this one is certainly up there. It's not the óld homestead or manor that some are but it's a wonderful home in a beautiful environment and it's very comfortable. The hosts, Bill & Jeanette, (plus Buzz & Woody) made our short stay memorable and we would happily return and recommend Seas the Day to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Houzi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thanks for your delightful review of our homely B&B.. So delighted that you enjoyed our lovely garden and made the most your stay here. Although you both had a busy schedule, we are so glad you were able to chill out and found Phillip Island's best kept secret, as Ventnor Beach (locals call it Anchorage Beach ) is one of the prettiest and quietest on the island. Have a nice Easter from Jeanette & Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night to enjoy this gorgeous haven. The accommodation is beautifully appointed and nothing is left to chance. From the umbrellas to the rain coats and blankets; dvd's, books, mags, great drink and snack choices, Bill and Janette have thought of everything. The whole place is spotlessly clean, gardens are superb, what a joy to have your own private courtyard. Bill and Janette are certainly the hosts with the most, their local knowledge is vast so thanks for all your advice, we enjoyed some wonderful beach walks and even spotted a penguin and wallabies. Our breakfast was superb and plentiful. We would highly recommend this beautiful BnB to anyone. Next time we will be back for 2 nights so we can enjoy the spa in that tranquil garden setting. Thanks for the anemone. Cheers Chris and Sam.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Sam & Chris. What a terrific review. We really appreciate it, with being a newly established guesthouse, it's great to have positive feedback as we want every guest to feel special, and able to leave our place feeling relaxed and replenished. Although the day wasn't warm enough for you both to eat in the outdoor room, we are so glad you enjoyed our hearty rustic brekky inside , as being a real bed & breakfast place (ea your heart out Faulty Towers) we believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Once again, thanks again for lovely description of our cosy little place and beautiful garden. From Jeanette and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in the Captain's Quarters for a couple of nights and its everything we were hoping for and more. The accommodation was roomy, had all amenities we needed.

Bill and Jeanette are simply amazing, wonderful hosts, always at service, friendly and heaps of fun. The spa is super special and a real treat especially for a cold night.

The full breakfast in the mornings was a real delight. You won't leave hungry! And with the beautiful surroundings, you feel like you're in Bali! Excellent for a 1.5hrs drive from Melbourne!

Thank you for a wonderful time! Fully recommend it to anyone who is looking for a weekend to relax and chill.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Amanda and Ben, Thanks for lovely review. So glad that you were able to chill out. That's the idea of this place. We get a buzz when guests leave with full bellies, replenished and ready to "seize the day" . Regards from Bill (the egg man) and Jeanette (Masterchef) at Seas the Day B&B..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In a world where good customer service is a thing of the past and a rarity, Bill and Jeanette, surprise you with everything that epitomizes customer service par excellence. The whole experience, right from organizing the dates to a birthday cake, has been delightful. They go that extra mile to make your experience at Seas The Day, memorable.

The place is the perfect getaway for couples and singles because it has everything to offer. The garden can be best described as a poet's haven for romanticism with nature. One is transported to another time and another place at Seas The Day.

The lavish breakfast prepared by these two gorgeous hosts is simply ' finger- lickin' good.

This holiday was exactly what we needed to rejuvenate our mind, body and soul.

Dave and James

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davey01Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Dave,thank you very much for your fantastic review. We really enjoyed assisting you with ther surprise birthday cake and bubbly It's so rewarding and a pleasure for for us to know that to know that you and James enjoyed your stay at our friendly, cosy oasis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Truly a beautiful place. We stayed in the Driftwood room. With it's own private entrance and secluded garden we truly felt like we were in a beautiful world of our own. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated - Bill and Jeanette are the ultimate hosts - we wanted for nothing. We had to leave early in the morning to get to the race track and they got up early to make a spectacular breakfast for us to send us of with full bellies. We very much look forward to returning to this charming establishment. Susan Akesson and Peter Lewis.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princesscoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Susan and Peter. Thanks for your great review. When you told us that you were going to miss out on brekky due to races starting early, there was no way we could let you go without having something to eat.. On a warm summer's morning it was lovely to see both of you enjoying an early brekky out in the outdoor garden room before setting off. Thanks again... regards from Bill Jeanette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent the weekend at 'Seas the day' bed and breakfast for our one year wedding anniversary. House is lovely and decorated with a beachy/eastern theme that really makes you feel like you are on vacation. We stayed in the Driftwood room.
These were some of the best parts:

-Great location: short walk to the beach and a nice walking path with many wallaby sightings. 5 minute drive to Cowes.
-Driftwood room is clean, well furnished and nice touches. Opens onto private deck area and garden.
-Breakfast was delicious! It included every item you could possibly want. Over two mornings we had: eggs, toast, sausages, bacon, potato gems, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, muffins, crumpets, english muffins, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice etc.!
-Outdoor spa looked nice. Would definitely have tried it out if we had stayed for longer.

Bill and Jeanette are lovely hosts who clearly enjoy having guests stay in this delightful b and b.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Seas The Day B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Meg and Steve. What a terrific review. Your breakfast description was good enough to make Jamie Oliver jealous. So glad you enjoyed our brekkies and made the most of what we have to offer. and where we are located. Especially our local beaches and spotting wallabies in the woods just down the road..When you were breakfasting out in the garden, chatting away to each other, it reminded us of when we were newly weds. You make a lovely couple and we wish you all the best. Thanks again from Jeanette and Bill .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
3 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
1.8 mi away
Glen Isla House
Glen Isla House
#1 of 10 in Cowes
255 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
4.8 mi away
Clifftop Boutique Accommodation
2.9 mi away
Genesta House
Genesta House
#4 of 10 in Cowes
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seas The Day B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seas The Day B&B

Address: 2 Sidford St, Ventnor, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range: £116 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seas The Day B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury small multi award winning B&B near the sea for adults only. Absolute privacy guaranteed. This boutique B&B cannot accommodate infants or children and is close to the penguins (5 minutes drive away) and other tourist attractions. A beautiful beach is only 3 minute's walk away. Seas the Day is nestled in a romantic garden oasis containing water features, a sheltered spa-pool, artworks an abundance of birds. Both accommodations have private entrances. One with balcony. The other a terrace. There are nooks and crannies outside for guests to unwind and chill out. Inside, two beautifully appointed accommodations are well equipped and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Seas The Day B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing